Skip to content

Easter Bunny oreo truffles

April 7, 2013

Oreo Truffles

As I mentioned in the last post, I didn’t win our family’s Iron Chef Throwdown, even though these little truffles were darn tasty and pretty adorable.  I figured I’d get the kids to vote for me for sure, just on the cuteness alone.  They even have little marshmallow tails!  But, alas, it wasn’t meant to be.  Again.

That’s okay though, because the truffles tasted great and were easy to make.  And with all the Oreo flavors out there, you can make these in so many different combinations.  I’ve tried several, but so far, my favorite has been DoubleStuf Mint Oreo truffles with dark chocolate candy melts.  I think Birthday Cake Oreo truffles are in my near future though.

Recipe:  Oreo Truffles

1 package Oreo cookies, any flavor
1 8-oz. block of cream cheese
1 package of candy melts

Crush all the Oreos in the food processor until they are small crumbs.  Transfer to a bowl and stir in cream cheese until no white remains.   (I find this is really a squishing sort of activity.  The back of a big wooden spoon works great.)  Roll mixture into small balls and place on a cookie sheet lined with waxed paper.  Chill in refrigerator to allow them to firm up slightly.

When you are ready to dip the truffles, melt the candy melts according to package directions.  Using a fork, dip each ball into the chocolate, tap off excess, and return to waxed paper.  After all truffles have been dipped, return to refrigerator to allow chocolate to set up and harden.

To turn these truffles into Easter Bunnies, I inserted colored candy corn into the top right after I dipped the truffles.  Then, I immediately added a sprinkle for the nose.  After the truffles were set, I used a little tube of black store-bought frosting to make the eyes.  Some had whiskers too!  Finally, cut a mini marshmallow in half and place the sticky side on the back of the bunnies for a fluffy little tail.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2013 11:40 am

    Very cute!

  2. Denise permalink
    April 7, 2013 11:53 am

    I’d love to see one with whiskers !!

  3. mom permalink
    April 11, 2013 6:52 pm

    They really were cute but maybe next year :)

  4. May 29, 2013 7:33 pm

    Your mom is funny! I would have voted for you on cuteness alone. These are adorable! 2014 is your year Michelle!

Leave a Reply

