Skip to content

Roasted spaghetti squash with Parmigiano-Reggiano and thyme

June 12, 2013

Roasted Spaghetti Squash with Parmigiano-Reggiano and thyme

Who would have guessed that spaghetti squash would become such a rock star on Pinterest?  It certainly has, though I never made it until last night.  And this wasn’t even a recipe I pinned!

I was making mac and cheese for the kids and wanted something lighter for Jim and me.  The squash was eyeing me up from the corner of the counter so I took the plunge.  I can’t believe I’ve never eaten this before.  So simple and completely satisfying and delicious!

But I’m getting ahead of myself.  (A good meal can do that to a person.)  Anyway, since the squash and the mac and cheese had the same cooking times, it was low fuss.  Just a drizzle of olive oil and some salt and pepper and it was in the oven while I was boiling the kids’ pasta.  I got the mac and cheese ready and the two happily cooked together at the same oven temp.

The squash did need an extra couple of minutes stovetop to finish it off, but we still all sat down at the same time for dinner.  The only difference was that our’s was super healthy and the kiddos weren’t complaining that I was making them try new food.  Although Claudia was very impressed that it came out of the shell looking like spaghetti and said I could probably have tricked her into eating it.  (These kids know me so well!  Next time!)

Recipe:  Roasted Spaghetti Squash with Parmigiano-Reggiano and Thyme

(slightly adapted from chow)

1 spaghetti squash
4 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil, divided
1 small onion, finely chopped
2 garlic cloves, finely chopped
Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper
handful of freshly chopped thyme
3/4 c. grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese, extra for serving

Heat oven to 375 degrees.  Cut squash in half lengthwise and scrape out the seeds.  Place squash halves, cut side up, on a baking sheet and rub them with 2 Tbsp. of olive oil.  Season generously with salt and pepper.  Cook until fork-tender, about 50 minutes.

Remove squash from oven and let sit a few minutes until cool enough to handle.  In the meantime, heat remaining 2 Tbsp. of olive oil in a large skillet.  Add onion and cook for about 2 minutes, until softened.  Add garlic and thyme and cook an additional minute.  Season with salt and pepper.  Scrape the flesh from the squash into the skillet and toss to coat.  Add cheese and toss as cheese melts.  Serve with a sprinkling of extra cheese.

(My kiddos were eating peas with dinner, so I stirred some cooked peas into the skillet too.  I think small pieces of cooked veggies would be a great addition!)

One Comment leave one →
  1. gcroft permalink
    June 15, 2013 3:44 pm

    Love it! I’m always on the look-out for squash recipes and will bookmark this. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

