Skip to content

Basketball cake

July 1, 2013
tags: ,

Basketball Cake

I am SO addicted to Pinterest.  The ideas that come across my computer screen make me want to cook, bake, craft, and redecorate my house.  I love being able to pin other people’s great ideas and try them myself.  Some have been real winners and a few have definitely been placed into the sarcastic “nailed it” category.  Not everything works out, but I’m very happy that this basketball cake was one of the winners.

I  had the perfect occasion to make this cake last week for Claudia’s basketball camp party.  I tried to find the original source to give credit where credit is due, but every pin I found just led me to a photo and none took me to it’s source.  So whoever you are, thank you!  It was a huge hit with the kids and their parents!

Recipe:  Basketball Cake

(original source unknown)

your favorite boxed cake mix or homemade cake
canned or homemade frosting  (I prefer chocolate frosting.)
Reese’s pieces candies – 2 bags

Prepare 2-layer cake according to package directions or recipe.  Cool and frost cake.  Using the photo as a guide, place brown Reese’s pieces on the cake first, then fill in with orange Reese’s pieces.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2013 7:03 am

    This is very cool! I’m going to make it for her basketball season celebration.

  2. Tammy M. permalink
    July 2, 2013 9:35 pm

    This cake looks amazing!! How clever! ..i will make it for my son’s birthday.. Thanks so much for sharing!

Leave a Reply

