Skip to content

Zucchini taco boats

July 6, 2013

Zucchini Taco Boats

I love the idea of using zucchini as a shell for a fun take on dinner.  And I love love LOVE these taco boats!  They were absolutely delicious.  Trust me, for my husband to eat squash, it has to be stellar, and he loved these as much as I did.

Anything you like on your taco will work in these boats, so go crazy.  You can make them in the oven if you’d prefer, but we liked the grilled flavor and those perfect grill marks made me kind of happy.  It was as nice to look at as it was to eat.

This is definitely a healthy version of a taco.  Not only does the zucchini replace the taco shell, but I also like to sneak some farro into dishes where I’m using ground beef.  (If you aren’t familiar with farro, check out this New York Times article.)  I actually just buy the microwaveable pouches of farro at Target and in 90 seconds it’s ready to be added to my skillet with the cooked ground beef.  I use it in tacos, chili, and hamburger barbecue.  No one is really ever the wiser, since it blends in well with the hamburger and takes on the same flavors it’s seasoned with.  I like the idea that I’m replacing a little of the meat with a healthier grain that’s loaded with vitamins.

As we were finishing dinner, I was already planning the other things I want to try in a zucchini boat…  pizza… buffalo chicken…  I need to get back to the farmers market and pick up some more zucchini!

Recipe:  Zucchini Taco Boat

small zucchini squash (1/2-1 zucchini per person, depending on your appetite and the size of the squash)
olive oil
taco meat, cooked according to package directions or your favorite recipe
sharp cheddar cheese
taco toppings, such as shredded lettuce, chopped tomatoes, guacamole, salsa, sour cream (or my favorite substitute, plain Greek yogurt)

Cut the zucchini in half lengthwise and use a teaspoon or melon baller to scoop out the seedy part of the squash to create a boat to fill later.  Brush zucchini with olive oil.  Grill, cut side down, for 10 minutes over medium-high heat.  Take the zucchini off the grill and fill the boat with cooked taco meat.  Top with cheese.  Return to grill, until the cheese melts.  Serve zucchini with your favorite taco fixings and enjoy!

(If you’re making your taco boats in the oven, cook them in a 375 degree oven just as you would on the grill.)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

