Skip to content

Black bean brownies

July 27, 2013

Black Bean Brownies

My kids are so funny when I ask them to try something, whether it’s a dessert or something new I’ve just cooked.  They both look at me suspiciously and ask what the secret ingredient is.  When did they catch on to my good-willed deception anyway?  I guess the jig is up, as they say.  I still hold out until they’ve tried the food in question, just in case they really love it and won’t care what I’ve added.

These brownies are a good example.  Because they’re a little flatter than our normal brownies and the top didn’t get all nice and crinkled like it usually does, they knew right away that there was a “secret ingredient” in there.  To their credit though, they both tried them and Claudia actually really liked them.  Sam told me he did, but I found most of his in the trash later.  Me?  I am eating them left and right.  Apparently, just because I know there is something remotely healthy in there, I can just grab one whenever I want.  Right?  Isn’t that how it works?

Anyway, the secret ingredient here is black beans.  No one would have ever guessed.  I’ve made chickpea brownies that were a big hit with the kids because they were over-the-top chocolatey, but I thought these were better.  And they’re way healthier!  The edges were a little weird to me – kind of crispy and chewy all at once, but Claudia couldn’t get enough of them, so we have been tag-teaming.  She gets the edges and I get the middle.  We’re a good team.

Recipe:  Black Bean Brownies

1 15 oz. can of black beans
1 brownie mix
handful of chocolate chips, optional

Rinse black beans well and return to the can.  Fill the can with water, covering the beans.  Pour the mixture into your blender and blend for a couple minutes, until pureed (the mixture looked like a lot of liquid, but it’ll be fine).  Pour brownie mix into a large bowl and add the bean mixture.  Stir until combined.   Add a handful of chocolate chips and stir.  Pour into a prepared 9×13″ baking pan and sprinkle with a few chocolate chips.  Bake for 20-25  minutes or until brownies start to pull away from the sides of the pan.  Cool completely before cutting.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 27, 2013 8:02 am

    These are so easy! Love it. I bet I could get them into my kids with no suspicious looks at all.

Leave a Reply

