Skip to content

Mountain dew apple dumplings

May 15, 2014
tags: , ,

Mountain Dew Apple Dumplings

Well, my family’s annual “Iron Chef Throwdown” has come and gone.  It is one of our more competitive traditions, to say the least, and also one of our favorites.  There’s generally a little bragging and sometimes some mildly veiled intimidation, because there’s a lot at stake.  Bragging rights, to be sure, but also that shiny trophy that gets to spend a whole year with the winner.  I’m sad to admit, it’s been a while since it’s been to my house.

This year, our special ingredient was soda- any kind we wanted.  I chose root beer and made this absolutely amazing root beer bundt cake.  My mom has won the last couple times and I think it may have gone to her head a little, because she took the easy route and made root beer floats.  (Don’t judge.  She’s been under a lot of pressure.)  My youngest sister, Dani, baked these Mountain Dew apple dumplings, and ended up winning our competition.

I was more than a little surprised that her recipe could turn into such a golden dish of dumplings, but it certainly did.  Everyone loved them and it was one of the toughest votes we’ve ever had.  I came in 2nd, but my cake got some pretty rave reviews too.  ;)  Congrats, Dani!

Recipe:  Mountain Dew Apple Dumplings

(my sister’s winning Throwdown recipe, source unknown)

2 8-count cans crescent rolls
3-4 Granny Smith apples
1 c. sugar
1/2 c. unsalted butter
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 12-oz. can Mountain Dew soda

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and spray a 9×13″ baking pan with cooking spray.  Peel and slice apples into 16 pieces.  Roll each apple slice in 1 section of crescent roll.  Place rolled slices in pan in two rows, placing any extras along the side.  Melt butter and add sugar and cinnamon.  Pour over apples.  Pour entire can of Mountain Dew all over the apples.  Bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes.  Serve warm with vanilla ice cream.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2014 1:27 pm

    This looks really delicious!

  2. June 4, 2014 11:47 am

    This is from Pioneer Woman. I’ve made them many times until I was diagnosed with celiac disease. Now I would have to figure out how to make gluten free crescent dough. Not happening any time soon. Enjoy them, I am jealous!

  3. October 9, 2014 12:10 pm

    This looks fab! This is going on my to make list. I am soon going to be doing an entire meal (starter, main and dessert) with fizzy drinks (sodas) as ingridients. This ticks off the dessert. For main I am doing fish fried in a Sprite batter, found at thecornishfishmonger.co.uk. Any ideas for the starter? Loving your blog!

Leave a Reply

