Skip to content

Whoopie pies with attitude

February 6, 2009

Whoopie Pies

I am crazy in love with these whoopie pies!  How could I not be?  First of all, I love looking at them because I think the bright pink with the dark brown is gorgeous.  They kind of took on a life of their own while I was taking pictures.  I took A LOT of pictures – they were just working the camera like seasoned professionals.  And second, these whoopie pies are delicious.  I love the chocolaty cookie, but the cream is the kicker.  It’s the best combination of buttercream icing and marshmallow fluff – so light and perfect between all that chocolate.  It just works.  You’ll love it.  I added the bright pink food coloring to the frosting because I wanted to enter these into a Valentine’s Day sweet treats contest.  I can’t think of sweeter (or cuter) treat than these.

I’ve been bookmarking whoopie pie recipes since Thanksgiving when I thought I’d try a pumpkin whoopie pie, but time got away from me.  Now here we are in February already and I’m still bookmarking recipes.  When I saw the photo and blog post at foodess.com I knew I was going to make that whoopie pie.  Plus, just look at that picture – see what I mean about what divas they become when photographed?  I didn’t try foodess’s salted caramel filling this time, but I will.  It sounds amazing.  Instead, I used a more traditional filling of buttercream and marshmallow fluff.  Enjoy!

Recipe:  Whoopie Pies

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

3/4 cup cocoa powder

1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup butter, softened

1/2 cup white sugar

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

1 cup milk

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 375 degrees and lightly grease cookie sheet or cover with parchment paper.  Whisk together flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt.

In medium bowl, cream together butter and sugar until light and fluffly, about 2 minutes.  Add the egg and continue beating 1-2 more minutes.  Beat in milk and vanilla.  Beat in flour mixture until combined.

Using a cookie scoop, drop mounds of batter onto cookie sheet.  Sprinkle tops with raw sugar.  Bake 8-12 minutes until top springs back when touched.

Cool completely, then pipe or spoon a heaping amount of frosting on flat half of one cookie and make a sandwich with the flat half of another cookie.

Recipe:  Whoopie Pie Filling

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature

2 cups sifted confectioners’ sugar

1 jar (7 1/2 ounces) marshmallow Fluff

2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

In a medium bowl, cream together butter and sugar until pale and fluffy, about 3 min. Add marshmallow fluff and vanilla and continue mixing until well combined.  If you are adding food coloring, do it now and mix until streaks of color have disappeared and frosting is desired shade.  Spoon into a decorating bag (or a freezer bag with tip cut off) and pipe a generous amout of frosting onto cookie half; top with another cookie half.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2009 12:22 am

    These are so beautiful and I bet they taste great! I had a friend who got married last year and her colors were pink and brown…these would’ve made the perfect passed dessert.

  2. February 7, 2009 4:58 am

    I love the name lol. I think I’ll take a dozen or two.

  3. February 7, 2009 12:21 pm

    These look great! I love the brown and pink; so pretty!

  4. Erin permalink
    February 7, 2009 6:49 pm

    These look so cute! I love the pink.

  5. February 8, 2009 3:54 pm

    These are adorable – I love them. I am sure they taste as good as they look.

  6. Michelle permalink
    February 8, 2009 5:41 pm

    Everytime I read one of your posts I go away crazy hungry. I want to go make whoopie pies (which I haven’t done since last fall, so my family would love me!) These look delicious–better than the recipe that I have. But first maybe I should make your granola bars (I bought the oats) or maybe the brownies (bought sea salt especially for these) or the peanut butter cookies (have PB) or maybe…

    I keep buying the ingredients for your recipes, but not getting baking them.
    Go figure…
    Speaking of figures–maybe I should eat some lunch first…a salad? Compensate a little for calorie intake later??

    Better idea–skip the guilt of eating right or baking…I’ll just stop by and see what you have left over… :)

  7. February 20, 2009 11:08 am

    wooooooow. those whoopie pies look divine! i would like to bite into one of those right now :)

    pumpkin whoopie pies sound fantastic too. maybe next time?

    love the pink and brown combo. great job!

  8. oneordinaryday permalink
    February 20, 2009 11:37 am

    Thanks, HT!
    – Shell

  9. March 16, 2009 3:14 am

    These are delicious! I made them the other day and my sons LOVED them! Thanks for the great recipe.

  10. Rhian Morgans permalink
    June 9, 2010 3:22 am

    Hi, This is Rhian Morgans from ddmag, im interested in using the whoopie pie picture and recipe in an article im writing. Can you please contact me on the email address provided.

Trackbacks

  1. Whoopie Pies!
  2. Why do baked goods and easy go together? « Something Yellow | Unique Weddings
  3. Whoopie! | Weddingbee

Leave a comment