Skip to content

Zucchini Chronicles #2 – Banana Zucchini Bread

February 16, 2009

Banana Zucchini Bread

Dani was checking out yesterday’s chocolate zucchini bread post and said, “I don’t know, Shell.  I think you’re messing with perfection.”  She is the biggest zucchini bread fan I know.  She really loves the traditional recipe so anything I do to change it will meet with some skepticism.  But that’s okay.  Maybe I can bring her around.  (Just try it, Dan – you’ll like it!)

The second bread I made to use up all the zucchini I had in the freezer just happened to correspond with some ever-darkening bananas I had sitting on the counter.   I found this delicious banana zucchini bread recipe at recipezaar.  It would have made two loaves, but I opted for pouring it all into my bundt pan and just making one pretty “cake.”  It did turn out pretty and also so moist!  It combines what you love about both breads into one yummy presentation.

Recipe:  Banana Zucchini Bread (from recipezaar)

3 large eggs

1 c. vegetable oil (I used Canola oil)

1 1/2 c. sugar

2 c. all-purpose flour

1/4 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. baking soda

2 tsp. ground cinnamon

1 tsp. salt

2 tsp. vanilla extract

1 c. chopped pecans (I didn’t add the nuts because Poppy prefers it without)

1 c. raw zucchini, shredded

1 c. mashed banana

Shred zucchini and set aside.  Mash bananas and set aside.  In a large bowl, beat eggs, oil, and sugar.  Add flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, salt, vanilla extract, and pecans.  Thoroughly combine.   Add zucchini and bananas until well blended.

Pour into two greased and floured loaf pans (or one bundt pan) and bake at 350 degrees for 45-55 minutes or until toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.  Cool for 10 minutes in pans on wire rack.  Remove from pans and cool completely.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary permalink
    February 17, 2009 12:36 am

    This looks fantastic!

  2. February 17, 2009 4:06 am

    yesss, my two favorite breads in one! can’t wait to try this recipe, thanks for posting!

  3. February 18, 2009 12:33 am

    Saw this on foodgawker and wanted to tell you how perfect it looked. I bet it was just scrumptious.

  4. February 18, 2009 5:09 pm

    I saw this on foodgawker too and loved it! It looks delicious!!!

  5. oneordinaryday permalink
    February 18, 2009 6:31 pm

    Thank you, everybody! : ) And it is really good – let me know if you try it.
    – Shell

  6. oneordinaryday permalink
    March 23, 2009 9:09 pm

    Bakeaholic – Thanks so much for the mention on your blog! I’m glad you like the recipe.

    – Michelle

  7. July 7, 2013 7:22 pm

    omg. thanks this is great!

  8. Sandy permalink
    August 10, 2013 10:46 pm

    I made this recipe and was awesome! So moist.

  9. Jane permalink
    July 19, 2014 12:23 pm

    Made this and it was gooy. Seemed like all the banana sunk and wouldn’t cook through. What did I do wrong.

  10. kim permalink
    August 2, 2015 2:14 pm

    This was so good!! I am going to ditch my other go to recipe and replace with yours!! I used bread flour instead and it was still wonderful!! Thanks!

  11. May 3, 2016 1:51 pm

    I made this cake today, it’s amaaaaaaaaaazing!

Trackbacks

  1. Bakeaholic » Blog Archive » Zucchini & Banana Bundt Cake
  2. Banana Zucchini Bread | All Dark Meat

Leave a comment