Skip to content

Sunshine and lemonade

March 17, 2009

Fresh-Squeezed Lemonade

For those of you living where it’s warm year-round, you may not feel the same appreciation that I felt today when the sun shone ALL DAY LONG.  My sunroom was just lit up with bright, beautiful light the whole morning and into the afternoon.  I’m just longing to open the windows and let the warm Spring air come in, but we didn’t quite get there yet today.  The thermometer did reach 56 degrees though, which felt wonderful.  My kids were loving it too – both outside playing as long as they could and refusing to wear jackets.  They have Spring fever too.

Hearing “Mama, do you have any lemons?” was the best part of my day.  Yes, I had lemons.  Claudia had rifled through a drawer and come up with a “lemon squeezer” and wanted to make lemonade.  Well, what’s a fine sunny day without a nice, cold glass of fresh-squeezed lemonade?  I’ll tell you, she is one strong little thing.  She did all the work herself and was tickled with the whole process.  And, thanks to good old Betty Crocker, we made my favorite lemonade.  I love a tart lemonade, so if you prefer sweet, you’ll want to adjust the sugar to your liking.

(Do you cook/bake with your kids?  There’s a great article over at Simple Mom about spending time in the kitchen with your kids.   Check it out.)

Recipe:  Lemonade

1 c. fresh-squeezed lemon juice

3 c. water

1/2 c. sugar

Stir until sugar is dissolved.  Serve over ice and enjoy.

(For pink lemonade, add 2 Tbsp. grenadine syrup.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2009 10:29 pm

    Ugh so jealous!! I only wish it was sunny here, but I don’t usually get to see it shine all day until May :(. But next time it does come out I am for sure going to have to make some tasty lemonade. Thanks for sharing!

  2. oneordinaryday permalink
    March 19, 2009 2:12 pm

    Deseree – I think I spoke too soon about our beautiful weather anyway. Today it’s pouring down rain and miserable. Oh well… March showers bring April flowers??
    – Shell

Leave a comment