Skip to content

Sugar cookie bars. Yum.

March 21, 2009

Sugar Cookie Bars

I saw these sugar cookie bars popping up on a lot of blogs a while back and knew I was going to get around to baking them one of these days.  I wish I had done it a lot sooner because this is a great recipe.  It’s simple, quick and easy; plus it’s downright delicious.  I mean really delicious.  I ate two while I was trying to get a good photo of them!  They’d be great without the icing too – maybe with just some sprinkles or something on top.  I cut the recipe in half and baked it in a 9″ square pan.  It’s a good thing I did too – this is throwing my healthier eating right out the window.

Recipe:  Sugar Cookie Bars

(adapted from Real Mom Kitchen)

1 c. unsalted butter, room temperature

2 c. granulated sugar

4 eggs

2 tsp. vanilla

5 c. all-purpose flour  (I made a few changes here by using some soy flour, whole wheat flour and all-purpose flour.)

1 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. baking soda

Cream butter and sugar until fluffy.  Add eggs, one at a time, mixing after each addition.  Add vanilla and mix well.  In a separate bowl, combine flour, salt, and baking soda; stir with a whisk to combine.  Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and mix until just combined.  Spread into a greased baking sheet (approx. 13×18″).  Bake at 375 degrees for 10-15 minutes, or until golden and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out mostly clean.  Cool completely and frost with your favorite buttercream icing.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2009 1:15 am

    I could seriously eat a lot of those. Way too many. I’m pretty sure I shouldn’t make them because I won’t be able to control myself.

    So I probably will!

    Actually, I was trying to think of something I could make for the kids for easter to put in their baskets instead of candy, and these would be really cute.

  2. March 22, 2009 11:27 am

    Oh wow!!!! So cute and I am sure it is just as yummy as it looks!!!!!

  3. March 22, 2009 11:40 pm

    Cutee bars!

  4. March 23, 2009 2:17 am

    Love these bars! They’re perfect for baking and bringing to baseball! (or school, just remembered Devon volunteered me for snacks for this Friday) Enough to feed the players and their parents!
    ~ingrid

  5. Dani permalink
    March 23, 2009 8:13 pm

    AMAZING…Shane and I got to spend the day at home today and needed something fun to do. He wanted to make a yummy snack so we turned to Aunt Shell’s recipes…once again.

    They were so fast and easy. We loved making them and Shane really liked pressing them into the pan. We baked them in a jelly roll pan.

    Once cooled…we frosted and they were ready when Rylie and Ben came home from school.

    GREAT COOKIES…I know I cannot be trusted with a pan of sugar cookies so I called the Russell’s to come and get a plate of them.

  6. oneordinaryday permalink
    March 23, 2009 8:55 pm

    Farmer Gal – I had the exact problem of wanting to eat every single one. They are really just that good!

    Jen and Pepsakoy – Thank you!

    Ingrid – These definitely will feed a crowd and their moms will all be asking you for the recipe.

    Dan – : ) I told you they were good!!!!!

    – Shell

  7. May 16, 2009 6:11 pm

    I made these last night and they were absolutely delicious. I brought most of them to movie night at school, and they were the first treats to go. Everyone loved them! Thanks for the great recipe and photos.

  8. July 24, 2009 8:24 am

    I’d like to use your image — I made these last night and will give all credit to you, but my camera is acting up so I couldn’t take my own photo.
    I did link directly to your blog and the recipe.

    Thanks. colobleu@yahoo.com

  9. melly permalink
    October 31, 2009 11:49 am

    I made these bars like one hour ago and I LOVE them! thank you so much for the recipe. first I thought I ruined the dough by using too much soy flour but the bars turned out eytremely well! thanks again :)

  10. Katie P permalink
    September 25, 2011 3:38 pm

    Hi! I was so excited to make these bars and I finally did…however I also cut the recipe in half and put it in a 9×9″ pan and the bars turned out really dense and heavy….any ideas?

Trackbacks

  1. Sugar Cookie Bars

Leave a comment