Skip to content

Snickerdoodle bars

May 7, 2009
tags: ,

Snickerdoodle Bars

My poor kids.  They’ve been feeling so deprived.  Last night after dinner, Sam literally walked back and forth from the pantry to the cupboard to the fridge, aimlessly searching for a dessert.  Did I say deprived?  Maybe I mean spoiled.  But in only the best possible way.

With all the cake baking frenzy that’s been going on around here, I’ve really neglected our usual sweet treats and the kids are feeling the pain.  Not just my kids either.  The neighbor kids too.

We’ve all seen the snickerdoodle bars everywhere we look, right?  I can’t even remember the first time I saw them anymore.  They are literally all over the place.  I figured it was about time for me to jump on the snickerdoodle bandwagon and bake up a batch.  I am so glad I finally did.

I’ll admit I kind of screwed up at the end though.  The recipe calls for a sugar/cinnamon/nutmeg mixture to be sprinkled on the top of the bars.  Well.  If you can picture me at the counter at 7:15 this morning making these and Sam right at my elbow begging and pleading for me to teach him how to do cat’s cradle with a string, then you can understand why I didn’t read the measurements correctly.  Do my bars look a little heavy on the cinnamon?  That’s because they are.  Luckily, I caught my mistake really quickly and was able to fix it up quite a bit.  Having some extra cinnamon on top sure didn’t do these amazing bars any harm.  They are delicious and I’ll be making them often.  Really often.  I think they rank right up there with the sugar cookie bars for ease and utter wonderfulness.

I sent some happy kids to the bus stop this morning, munching on snickerdoodle bars.  I was watching at the door and they were yelling back to me how great they were.  Oh, and Sam is now a pro at the whole cat’s cradle thing.  Now that’s a good way to start your day.

Recipe:  Snickerdoodle Bars

2 2/3 c. all-purpose flour

2 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg

1 tsp. salt

2 c. packed light brown sugar

1 c. butter, softened

2 eggs, at room temperature

1 Tbsp. vanilla extract

Topping:

2 Tbsp. granulated sugar

2 tsp. cinnamon

pinch of nutmeg

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Lightly grease or line a 9×13″ baking pan.

Combine flour, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt; set aside.

In large bowl, beat together butter and brown sugar for 3-5 minutes.  Add the eggs, one at a time, then vanilla.  Beat until smooth.

Stir in the flour mixture until well blended.  Spread evenly into prepared pan with greased spatula or hands.  Combine topping: granulated sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg.  Evenly sprinkle cinnamon sugar mixture over top of batter.

Bake 25 minutes or until surface springs back when gently pressed.  Cool.  Makes 24 bars.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2009 1:37 am

    They look fantastic! I tried snickerdoodles for the first time this year and they were such a big hit. I think people will demand I try and make these bars! :)

  2. May 8, 2009 2:54 am

    Yay! You tried them!!! These are a favein my house. I actually haven’t made them lately but I’ve made them three times in one week and one of the twins says I need to make a double batch when I make them. Yours look great!
    ~ingrid

  3. May 8, 2009 3:15 pm

    I love these! I made them for a party a few months ago and got the recipe from Dozen Flours (I think she is the “originator” of this recipe). Forgive me, if I’m wrong!

  4. May 9, 2009 4:51 pm

    ooohh this looks sooooooooooo yummy. Marked it to try!

  5. May 10, 2009 10:11 pm

    You share your goodies with your neighbours? Any houses available next door, or across the street from you?
    I need to not visit your blog when I’m feeling for something sweet b/c I just ended up with unsatisfied cravings!
    Anyway, just saying hi. Thanks for your sweet comments on my last two posts.
    I sent you two emails… not sure if you got them. I think I have the latest email address… .

  6. May 14, 2009 10:53 pm

    I never heard of Snickerdoodles until I saw it on Two on a Half Men (of all places!) recently. It’s got a funny name. :) I know now it looks damn good and sure think it tastes good too. I have to try making it one day to actually know what that’s like. Thanks for sharing!

  7. Dani permalink
    May 17, 2009 8:06 pm

    Made these just the other night…very easy to throw together and they were delicious!!

  8. May 19, 2009 7:19 pm

    Well, I guess I’ve been hiding under a rock in a very secluded cave somewhere because *I’ve* never heard of a snickerdoodle bar! Snickerdoodle cookie, yes – snickerdoodle bar though, no.
    I’ll have to make a batch to find out what I’ve been missing!

  9. Jackie permalink
    July 15, 2009 4:09 am

    Hi

    Did you use dark brown sugar or light brown sugar.

  10. oneordinaryday permalink
    July 15, 2009 12:09 am

    Jackie – I used light brown sugar. Thanks for asking… I updated the recipe on the post.
    ~Michelle

  11. December 13, 2009 6:15 am

    I came across this post last week and baked these on Friday. They’re really wonderful … my family has declared them a new favorite cookie. Thanks so much!

  12. Curt permalink
    September 2, 2010 1:38 am

    i thought the thing that set snickerdoodles apart from sugar cookies was the cream of tartar and the cinnamon. i see the cinnamon but what in this recipe replaces the cream of tartar?

  13. oneordinaryday permalink
    September 2, 2010 7:44 am

    Curt – You’re right that traditional snickerdoodles use cream of tartar, but these bars substitute with baking powder as the leavening agent. You can find out more at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Snickerdoodle, if you’re interested. Those wikipedia folks know their stuff. : ) Thanks for stopping by my blog. And I hope you try the bars, cause they are awesome.
    ~ Michelle

  14. Patty chrietzberg permalink
    May 6, 2012 9:29 am

    I tried the snicker doodle bars, mine came out like a cake and so much a foot bar. Did I just over cook I cook them for only 20 minutes?

  15. Patty chrietzberg permalink
    May 6, 2012 9:33 am

    I meant gooey bar

  16. one ordinary day permalink
    May 30, 2012 6:59 pm

    Patty – The snickerdoodle bars aren’t a gooey bar — much more like a firmer cookie. We just had them again last week and ate them in record time. Sorry your batch didn’t turn out for you!
    ~ Michelle

  17. Ann permalink
    October 25, 2012 8:56 am

    Made these for a cookout we hosted for my husband’s employees. They went like hotcakes and I got so many requests for the recipe! Thanks.

  18. EmmaB permalink
    October 17, 2013 10:52 am

    Just made these, used a bit less sugar in the cake mix and they are yumsiddliumcious!

  19. Kesawan permalink
    August 26, 2014 6:31 am

    Your snickerdoodle bars look yummy! I going to get my oven to make this. Thanks.

Leave a comment