Skip to content

Root beer bundt cake

September 1, 2009

Root Beer Bundt Cake

Honestly, I don’t even know what to say about this cake other than it’s one of the most delicious, yummiest, tastiest cakes I’ve ever had.  There just aren’t enough words to describe it without grabbing my thesaurus.  This recipe comes from Baked and I made it to take to friends who had invited us to dinner.  This was the last lonely piece that they sent home with us.  Normally, I’d never take the last piece of anything, especially if I’d taken the dessert to someone’s house in the first place, but all I could think about was how much I wanted to blog about this cake and that I couldn’t possibly blog about it without a photo.  How distressing to think that blogging has robbed me of good manners!

I’ll work on my social graces another time, but right now let me tell you about this cake.  It is just loaded with dark chocolate and root beer and that is a combination that can’t go wrong.  It was dark and rich and moist.  It also has the added kick of sea salt, which I love, but I took it a smidge further by sprinkling a little bit on top after I frosted it.  It looked awesome and that extra crunch of salt had people murmuring sweet nothings into their plates.

Seriously, this is a perfect cake.  And with a scoop of vanilla ice cream?  Some kind of paradise.  We didn’t find that it screamed “root beer” at us, but the root beer was a great compliment to the dark chocolate.  The flavor did get a little stronger the next morning, which I know because that’s when we all shared this teensy piece of cake.  The Baked guys say to replace 1/2 cup of the root beer with root beer schnapps if you want a more pronounced flavor, but I thought it was perfect just the way it was.

Recipe:  Root Beer Bundt Cake

(from Baked: New Frontiers in Baking)

Cake:

2 c. root beer (do not use diet root beer)

1 c. dark unsweetened cocoa powder

1/2 c. unsalted butter, cut into 1″ pieces

1 1/4 c. granulated sugar

1/2 c. firmly packed dark brown sugar

2 c. all-purpose flour

1 1/4 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. salt

2 large eggs

Root Beer Fudge Frosting:

2 oz. dark chocolate (60% cacao), melted and cooled slightly

1/2 c. unsalted butter, softened

1 tsp. salt  (I used sea salt.)

1/4 c. root beer

2/3 c. dark unsweetened cocoa powder

2 1/2 c. confectioners sugar

sea salt, to sprinkle over top of fudge frosting

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees.  Generously spray the inside of a 10″ bundt pan with nonstick cooking spray.  In a small saucepan, heat root beer, cocoa powder, and butter over medium heat until butter is melted.  Add the sugars and whisk until dissolved.  Remove from heat and let cool.

In a large bowl, whisk the flour, baking soda, and salt together.

In a small bowl, whisk the eggs until just beaten, then whisk them into the cooled cocoa mixture.  The batter will be slightly lumpy – do not overbeat, as it could cause the cake to be tough.

Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake for 35-40 minutes, rotating the pan halfway through, until a small sharp knife inserted in the cake comes out clean.  Transfer cake to a wire rack to cool completely.  Gently loosen the sides of the cake from the pan and turn it out onto the rack.

To make the frosting, put all ingredients in a food processor.  Pulse on short bursts until the frosting is shiny and smooth.

Use a spatula to spread the fudge frosting over the crown of the bundt cake in a thick layer.  Sprinkle with sea salt. Let the frosting set before serving, with ice cream on the side.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2009 10:54 am

    i am so glad i saw this because it reminded me that i tagged this recipe to make a while back and never have. i am so glad to hear you liked it – now i am really going to make it! root beer is one of my favorite things on planet earth!!

  2. September 1, 2009 2:18 pm

    Root beer!!! Ohhhhh I know one husband that would love this! Ive not had this in a cake before! It sounds and looks incredible!

  3. September 1, 2009 3:15 pm

    So, uh, Michelle did you like it? LOL! I’ll have to take a pass on this one as I’m not crazy about chocolate and I just can’t do root beer.

    On another note Joe picked up some blackberries so I’ll be baking up some puddin’ with ’em! :) (I think I still have three recipes of yours to blog about.)

    Bliss was okay. It didn’t have me neglecting my motherly duties which would have been a sign of a winner. You’d probably enjoy it as I think you like a heavier read. Me? Give me fluff! Something that I can pick up and put down with ease.

    Nite!
    ~ingrid

  4. September 1, 2009 5:22 pm

    This cake looks absolutely delicious! The color is so intense!

  5. September 1, 2009 6:24 pm

    Delicious! I made a rootbeer float cheesecake, and it was to die for! This looks even more amazing. Rootbeer and chocolate would be the ultimate combination!

  6. September 2, 2009 12:45 am

    you keep your thesaurus handy too? :)
    delightful cake indeed, although i’d be tempted to use a different type of soda. and whoever keeps root beer schnapps on hand? not i. :)

  7. September 2, 2009 1:36 am

    Um, omg this looks good. So rich! And, the addition of the sea salt on the top? Divine! Can’t wait to try this one.

  8. grandy permalink
    September 2, 2009 5:49 am

    Michelle, Your root beer cake looks great! But perhaps you should blog about my mountain dew lemon cake. :) Mom

  9. September 2, 2009 10:20 pm

    I’ve had this bookmarked for ages, but haven’t come around to baking it! Also I guess it’s coz root beer rarely stays long in this household :P

  10. oneordinaryday permalink
    September 5, 2009 12:10 am

    Kitty – Oh my gosh, seriously? A root beer float cheesecake?? Please share the recipe. Please, please, please? : )
    ~Michelle

  11. oneordinaryday permalink
    September 5, 2009 12:21 am

    pickycook – Root beer is one of my Claudia’s favorite things on earth too, but we all LOVED this cake.

    Jen – It’s an awesome combination. Those “Baked” guys know what they’re doing!

    Ingrid – {har har} Yep, I liked it well enough. : )

    Natalie – I loved the color too – so much dark chocolate. Yum.

    Grace – I know. I’m a nerd, but I really do keep my thesaurus handy.

    Laura – Oh, the sea salt put it over the top for me too. Love that.

    Mom – You just wait till I bring this one home. You’re gonna love it!

    ovenhaven – I’m gonna be keeping 2 cans of root beer hidden in the pantry for a cake emergency from now on.

    ~Michelle

  12. September 22, 2009 5:11 am

    Wow, this is my dream cake! And with vanilla ice cream…amazing. can’t wait to try this, thank you for posting!

  13. brannyboilsover permalink
    September 28, 2009 11:17 pm

    Going to make this for my husband’s birthday!

  14. September 29, 2009 6:08 am

    I love how dark it is, it looks so rich and decadent.

  15. December 28, 2016 10:17 pm

    That is a very good tip particularly to those new to the blogosphere.
    Short but very precise info… Appreciate your sharing this one.
    A must read article!

Trackbacks

  1. Chocolaty Weekend Links : Chocolate Bytes - All About Chocolate – Delicious Chocolate Recipes
  2. bake4me.com » Blog Archive » Root Beer Bundt Cake
  3. Sisterhood of the Losties FROSH thread for Cindy's Birthday! - Splitcoaststampers.com

Leave a comment