Skip to content

Cinnamon cream cheese pound cake

October 27, 2009
tags: , ,

Cinnamon Cream Cheese Pound Cake

Once a month, I host a book discussion at my local library, which means that, once a month, I also make something sweet to share with my fellow bookworms.  I wanted something kind of autumnal this time and decided on pound cake.  The more I looked around for a recipe, the more I realized that I was going to have to make some changes to whatever I found because what I really wanted was a cinnamon pound cake.  I came across two recipes that were very similar and just kept referring back and forth and making a change here and there until I had what I wanted.  A cinnamon cream cheese pound cake.  (Which, by the way, goes perfectly with the pumpkin ice cream I’ll tell you about tomorrow!)

I couldn’t be happier with how this cake turned out.  It’s moist and tender and full of cinnamon flavor.  Exactly what I was looking for.  It got great reviews at the library and from the kids, which is really saying something because they’ve been pickier than usual lately!

For those of you interested in what we’re reading too…  This month was People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks.  The plot of the book is a clever idea.  It spans 5 centuries and acquaints the reader with the history of an ancient book by giving us a glimpse at all the lives it has been a part of.  (I think that’s fascinating.  Have you ever wondered how many hands have held a book that you’re reading?)  The main character is a rare book expert and she is able to dissect the smallest things and uncover information about the book’s past.  As the book is analyzed,  the author introduces the reader to all the people from the past who have had interactions with this book.  It’s a bit of a heavy read since there are so many people to keep track of, and it does get rather detailed at times, but overall, it’s an interesting historical fiction novel.

Recipe:  Cinnamon Cream Cheese Pound Cake

(adapted from My Recipes and Smitten Kitchen)

1 1/2 cups (3 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature

8-oz. Philadelphia brand Brown Sugar & Cinnamon Spice Swirl cream cheese, room temperature

3 c. granulated sugar

6 large eggs

2 tsp. pure vanilla extract

2 tsp. ground cinnamon

3 c. all-purpose flour

1 tsp. salt

Cinnamon Glaze (recipe follows)

Preheat oven to 325 degrees and lightly spray a 12-cup bundt pan with baking spray, such as Baker’s Joy.

Place butter and cream cheese in mixing bowl and beat on medium speed until smooth.  Add sugar, increase mixer to high speed, and beat for 5 minutes, until mixture is light and airy.  Add eggs, one at a time, beating after each addition.  Add vanilla and cinnamon, then flour and salt all at one time.  Beat just until incorporated.

Pour batter into prepared pan and even out the top.  Bake until cake is golden brown and a cake tester comes out clean, 1 hour and 15 minutes.  Remove cake from oven to a cooling rack.  Cool in pan for 20 minutes.  Remove from pan and allow to cool completely.  Glaze with cinnamon glaze.

Recipe:  Cinnamon Glaze

1 c. powdered sugar

2 Tbsp. milk

1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon

Mix ingredients in a small bowl until smooth.  Drizzle over cooled cake.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2009 7:47 am

    Wow, this sounds great. I’ve been on a bundt cake kick (that’s hard to say!) recently. But mine is only a 10-cup…might not work for this recipe. Anyhow, looks beautiful, and thanks for the book recommendation too!

  2. oneordinaryday permalink
    October 27, 2009 7:52 am

    Ya know what, Hungry Dog? I really have no idea if my bundt pan is 10 or 12 cups. I just kept that recommendation in there since it was in the original recipes. I managed to get all my batter into the pan – nearly to the tippy top. It expanded up past the top a little but it didn’t overflow and it still baked in the correct time. Go figure. Try it and if you have to make a couple muffin pound cakes with extra batter, they’d be delicious too! : )
    ~ Michelle

  3. Artemis permalink
    October 27, 2009 8:10 am

    Whoa. Pound cake and cheese cake all in one? I’m not a cheesecake fan and this looks/sounds delicious. Your lucky book club members. I am sure they keep coming back not just for the books… .

  4. October 27, 2009 8:45 am

    Well, you know this is a no brainer for me! :)

    Is reading that book a similar read to Pillars of the Earth?

    How’s your babygirl? All better?

    Btw, thanks for the sweet comment on the photos of two of my kiddos. I am a proud Mama! :)
    ~ingrid

  5. delightfullysweet permalink
    October 27, 2009 11:58 am

    What a great bundt!
    I love the way you used a flavored cream cheese!
    Can’t wait to try the recipe out!

  6. October 27, 2009 5:06 pm

    I didn’t know there was such a cream cheese out there! I feel like I’ve been missing out. Is it the stuff in the tubs next to the strawberry cream cheese?

    This Bundt looks incredible and it is so on my list to make. Can’t wait to the pumpkin ice cream to come :-)

    great job Michelle!

  7. October 28, 2009 12:52 am

    ah, you vixen! i didn’t know that variety of cream cheese existed, and now i’m forced to hunt it down and consume it in great quantities. GREAT cake and even better glaze. :)

  8. October 28, 2009 1:16 am

    This looks fantastic! I’m excited to try it!

  9. Kate permalink
    October 28, 2009 3:33 am

    This book sounds great too Michelle! Thanks for the tip on The Book Thief. My boss recommended that one to me last week so I may have to go with it! Your pound cake and coffee cake look amazing!

  10. October 28, 2009 12:40 pm

    This cake looks awesome! I also loved “People of the Book” although I am a little biased because I majored in book binding and book conservation.

  11. October 28, 2009 1:07 pm

    oh my! i have never heard of this cream cheese before but I bet Ill be checking this week while at the grocery store. this looks delicious!!

  12. oneordinaryday permalink
    October 31, 2009 9:38 am

    Artemis – Thanks. It has cream cheese in it, but it’s nothing like a cheese cake. Just lovely and rich and light all at once. Make any sense?

    Ingrid – I haven’t read Pillars of the Earth yet, though it’s in my “to be read” pile. And, yes, thanks for checking on Claudia. She’s feeling just fine. : )

    delightfullysweet – I love that cream cheese. It lends itself perfectly for this kind of cake. Yum.

    Monica – Yes, look in the little tubs of cream cheese. It’s not whipped, just swirled with those yummy flavors.

    Grace – I did love that glaze. I was going to just use powdered sugar, but I’m glad I changed my mind.

    Niki – Hope you love it!!!

    Kate – You will LOVE The Book Thief!!!

    emmalee13 – What a cool career choice. I am such a bookworm that I’m really intrigued by that.

    Krystle – It’s yummy. You’ll love it!

    ~ Michelle

  13. aiken permalink
    November 8, 2009 1:30 pm

    I would LOVE to make this for my writing group, but WHERE do you find the flavored cream cheese? Is it available in the larger southern supermarkets? Anyone out there know? THe author’s photo is mouth-watering, but . . .

  14. jackie permalink
    December 26, 2009 7:28 pm

    Hi

    I made this for christmas and it was awesome, everybody raved about it. You did a good job creating this recipe. Thanks for sharing.

  15. oneordinaryday permalink
    December 28, 2009 6:32 am

    Jackie – So happy your family liked the cake. Thanks for the nice comments!
    ~ Michelle

  16. December 31, 2009 6:17 am

    Hey, Michelle. I just got off the phone with the sitter she’s taking everything out of the fridge so it’s at room temp when I get home later today. I didn’t find the cream cheese so I made my own. Wish me luck. :)

    Happy New Year!
    ~ingrid

  17. oneordinaryday permalink
    December 31, 2009 9:52 am

    Can’t wait to hear how you like it, Ingrid. : )

  18. January 1, 2010 2:13 pm

    Um, loved it! Mine looks exactly like yours. (It was dense but tender and soft and moist but not wet. The best part I think was the bottom (top) crust. It was crunchy but in a totally good way.) Because I was worried about the batter baking up and over the edge of my pan I filled it 3/4 of the way and made three mini bundt cakes with the extra batter. My minis didn’t get that wonderful crust on them but still tasted good. My glaze was thicker more like frosting and I didn’t add cinnamon to it. I did though grated some cinnamon over it. (side note, my honey found and bought me the McCromick’s cinnamon grater!) Being the sorry food blogger that I’ve become I didn’t take any photos before all of us including my parents gobbled it up. I only have two minis left and no natural light. :(
    ~ingrid

  19. jackie permalink
    April 12, 2010 4:32 pm

    Hi

    I’m sorry it took me so long to report back about this pound cake, but I made this cake over the Chrismas Holiday, and it was a huge hit, everybody loved it and wanted the recipe, of course I guided them over to your blog. I was going to make it again this weekend, but it has been discontinued. It is replaced by another flavor, Honey Nut. I was so disappointed. Oh well, I guess I won’t be making this cake again. Thanks for sharing.

  20. oneordinaryday permalink
    April 13, 2010 1:56 am

    Hi, Jackie. I’m so glad you made this and loved it. We think it’s delicious too. My friend wasn’t able to find the cinnamon cream cheese, so she improvised and was happy with the results. If you’d like to see how she did it, here’s the link. Maybe you can use her idea until you find the cinnamon cream cheese again. : )
    http://www.baseballbakingandbooks.com/2010/01/ringing-in-new-year-with-cinnamon-cream.html
    ~ Michelle

  21. jackie permalink
    April 13, 2010 3:53 pm

    Hi Michelle

    The Brown Sugar and Cinnamon Swirl Cream Cheese has been discontinued.

  22. August 28, 2015 9:47 am

    […] hard, it’s not like i work…..at…..a…….mexican………restaurant…. ….CHIMICHANGA! http://www.justataste.com/2013/06/st…hangas-recipe/ […]

Leave a comment