Skip to content

Peanut butter popcorn

November 22, 2009

Peanut Butter Popcorn

Here’s a recipe for those of you with a serious sweet tooth.  Peanut butter popcorn with chocolate drizzle.  I didn’t enjoy this one any where near as much as I loved that cinnamon popcorn I made a while back.  It tasted more like candy to me, than the salty/sweet snack I was craving.  Jim and Sam liked it though, so I wanted to share it.

I’ve also got a camera update.  I happily upgraded just a little from my old, broken point and shoot camera to a new Nikon L100.  It’s still a point and shoot but it offers me more flexibility and choices when I’m taking pictures.  Now I just have to learn how to use it!  And thank you for all the blog-commiserating when my camera broke!

Recipe:  Peanut Butter Popcorn

(slightly adapted from Frantic Home Cook)

8-10 c. popped popcorn

1 c. light corn syrup

1 c. granulated sugar

1. c. peanut butter  (I used smooth, but I think chunky would be great too.)

2 pinches of kosher salt or sea salt

chocolate candy melts for drizzling

Preheat oven to 300 degrees.  Stir corn syrup and sugar together in a medium saucepan over medium-high heat.  Bring to a boil, stirring constantly.  Boil for one minute.  Remove from heat and stir in peanut butter.  Be careful!  This is super hot! Pour mixture over popcorn and stir to coat.  Pour popcorn onto baking sheet and bake in oven for 10 minutes.  Spoon popcorn onto wire rack covered with waxed paper or parchment paper.  Allow to cool completely.  Melt candy melts in microwave following package directions.  Drizzle over popcorn and allow to set.  Break popcorn into pieces.  Store in airtight container.

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2009 11:57 am

    This sounds super sweet but it’s so pretty. I still have your cinnamon popcorn on my list to make!

  2. Artemis permalink
    November 22, 2009 2:01 pm

    Is that a new blog header picture? I mean, yes it is, but when did that get there? I love it. I really love it. Did you take it with your new camera? *yay new camera, even if it’s not a dslr*
    Would this popcorn be kind of like poppycock? It looks and sounds super yum.

  3. November 22, 2009 3:59 pm

    Hmmm, it looks good and I have some bags of popcorn to use up. (ha-ha) What do you suggest cutting back on to “kill” some of the sweetness?

    Btw, the blog The Frantic Home Cook? Hilarious! I haven’t read her recently but some of the old ones I read? Too, too funny!

    Oh, yeah and congrats on the new camera!
    ~ingrid

  4. November 22, 2009 6:12 pm

    I’m usually not a fan of popcorn (plain and buttered) but you may have just made a believer outta me, Michelle! Congrats on the new toy, too. :)

  5. November 23, 2009 8:58 am

    this would be good. really good. however, i don’t think it’d beat the cinnamon popcorn…at least not in my world!

  6. November 23, 2009 9:52 am

    I think I would really like this popcorn – looks great!

  7. November 23, 2009 12:37 pm

    Is the amount of corn syrup imperative, do you think? If it’s there to thin out the peanut butter, maybe something else could be substituted? I would prefer a more salty than sweet peanut butter bite, but the thought of this does slap a big smile on my face.

  8. November 25, 2009 2:08 am

    Happy Thanksgiving! Have a wonderful day!

  9. January 2, 2010 8:41 am

    I think I would really like this popcorn – looks great!

    Happy Thanksgiving! Have a wonderful day!

Leave a comment