Skip to content

Healthy heart recipe :: loaded sweet potatoes

February 4, 2010

Sweet Potato with Kale and Ricotta

Yes, I said loaded sweet potatoes, but they aren’t loaded with what you might think.  No butter.  No maple syrup.  No marshmallows.  Nope.  Instead, this is a healthy alternative and a darn fine way to eat your sweet potatoes.

Now I have to tell you that I’ve never been a giant sweet potato fan for the simple reason that just about every way I’ve ever had them has been too sweet.  Instead of kicking up the sweet factor, this recipe brings in the savory yumminess of garlic, ricotta cheese, and kale.  And it’s really great together, trust me!  This is definitely my new favorite way to eat sweet potatoes!

I’m sending this recipe over to the Big Red Kitchen for Robin Sue’s healthy heart round-up.  Head over there to check out some other foods that make your heart happy.  Friday, Feb. 5 is Go Red for Women Day.  Get your red out, folks, and learn more about protecting your heart and keeping it healthy at the American Heart Association.

Recipe:  Sweet Potato with Kale and Ricotta

(slightly adapted from Whole Living)

4 sweet potatoes

2 Tbsp. olive oil

2 garlic cloves, crushed and diced

1 bunch kale, thick stems removed, leaves torn into pieces, and washed with water left clinging

coarse salt and ground pepper

1-2 Tbsp. balsamic vinegar

1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes

1 c. part-skim ricotta cheese

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Scrub sweet potatoes, then dry and prick all over with a fork or poke a paring knife in here and there.  Rub with 1 Tbsp. olive oil.  (You can also spray them with cooking spray instead.)  Place on a baking sheet and cook 1 hour.

Near the end of the cooking time, heat remaining 1 Tbsp. olive oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat.  Add garlic and cook until golden, 1-2 minutes.  Transfer garlic to a medium bowl with a slotted spoon.

Using the same pan, add as much kale as will fit; season with salt and pepper.  Continue to add kale as it cooks down.  Cook, tossing frequently, until tender.  This will take approximately 3-5 minutes.  Stir in balsamic vinegar and crushed red pepper flakes.  Transfer kale to bowl with garlic and toss to coat.

Remove sweet potatoes from oven.  Open and fluff the insides with a fork.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Top each with ricotta cheese and kale.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2010 6:24 am

    This sounds great to me–I really do like sweet potatoes and I LOVE kale. And ricotta, who couldn’t get on board with that? Thanks for the idea!

  2. Skymarin permalink
    February 4, 2010 12:05 pm

    Wow! I went to bed last night day-dreaming of a healthy sweet potato and creamed spinach recipe…this is pretty close! Look forward to trying it.

  3. February 5, 2010 2:27 am

    although i obviously prefer when “loaded” means ample brown sugar, cinnamon, and marshmallow fluff, this is a great alternative version for when i’m craving something a bit more flab-friendly. it’s pretty, too. :)

  4. February 5, 2010 3:04 am

    Looks really good Michelle. I’ve still not tried kale but do think spinach would be a good sub.

    I saw that you not only submitted a recipe but you sent in a (red)photo, too! You’re such a brown noser. LOL! You know I kid….I’m just jealous because I didn’t get anything posted in time but I did have an excuse.

    Happy Friday! :)
    ~ingrid

  5. February 5, 2010 11:57 am

    Hi Michelle,
    Thanks for joining the good cause now we have GOT to find out what happened to Ingrid!!
    I can’t wait to try this recipe out too.
    Robin

  6. Cassie permalink
    February 5, 2010 2:35 pm

    I have made this a ton from the recipe in Whole Living. Its delicious!

  7. February 6, 2010 4:56 am

    yum!! i adore sweet potatoes…this just got added to next week’s lunch menu :)

  8. February 7, 2010 3:07 am

    I love sweet potatoes (the most nutritious vegetable) prepared as a savory lunch. They are good topped with black beans and some jack cheese. Also with a scoop of cottage cheese, followed by a drizzle of olive oil and plenty of freshly ground black pepper.

    Your potato topped with kale and ricotta looks scrumptious.

  9. February 7, 2010 2:16 pm

    This is such a well rounded perfect meal. Complex carbs, lean protein, veggies, fiber, a little fat….its all in here! Great job!

  10. February 10, 2010 6:04 am

    Oh YUM! Definitely going to have to try this out, I was planning to make fresh ricotta this weekend anyway.

  11. February 16, 2010 7:01 am

    this sounds like the perfect solution to my leftover kale and sweet potato! I don’t have ricotta so I think I’ll try some parmesan. Yum :) Thanks

  12. February 18, 2010 4:04 am

    good info .. I am very interested…..

Leave a comment