Skip to content

Pasta with walnut and garlic sauce

May 11, 2010

Pasta with Walnut and Garlic Sauce

I was so happy to see this recipe posted on One Perfect Bite yesterday at the exact moment that I was trying to figure out what on earth to make for dinner.  Fate stepped in and we were rewarded with a delicious meal.  I didn’t have any fusilli in the pantry so I used the thin spaghetti that was there instead.  Definitely use a firmer pasta shape, like fusilli or penne, and you’ll be very pleased with the results.  I’m adding this to our usual pasta rotation from now on.  Pairing it with some crusty bread and a nice salad will give even you the illusion that you slaved over this dish, when it’s really one of the easiest pasta dishes I’ve made.

{one year ago:  chocolate chip cookie cake}

Recipe:  Pasta with Walnut and Garlic Sauce

(from Patricia Wells’ book, Trattoria, via One Perfect Bite)

2 large garlic cloves, minced

kosher salt

1 c. toasted walnut halves

1 c. heavy cream (or any combination of heavy cream, half & half, or whole milk ~I used heavy cream and whole milk)

12 oz. dried fusilli

1/2 c. freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese

freshly ground black pepper, to taste

Place garlic, a pinch of salt, and walnuts in the bowl of a food processor.  Process until nuts are coarsely ground.  Add cream (or combination of cream and milk) and pulse to form a fairly smooth sauce with flecks of walnuts throughout.  Add salt and pepper to taste.

Meanwhile, bring water to a boil in a large pot and cook pasta according to package directions.  While pasta is cooking, heat sauce in a microwave or on the stovetop until warm.

Drain pasta.  Transfer to a serving bowl and toss with sauce to combine.  Add cheese and toss again.  Salt and pepper to taste.  Serve immediately.  Yield: 4-5 servings.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2010 2:59 am

    I’m so glad you enjoyed the recipe. Thanks for the link to my blog. I hope you are having a wonderful day. Blessings…Mary

  2. May 12, 2010 8:07 am

    creamy, cheesy, and crunchy–all in all, a magnificent sauce! thanks for sharing, it sounds terrific and a nice change from boring ol’ marinara. :)

  3. May 12, 2010 3:18 pm

    Yum, let me know the next time you are making this for dinner…I’ll be over with the crusty bread! :)
    ~ingrid

  4. May 12, 2010 4:53 pm

    And I’ll bring the butter for that crusty bread. This sauce sounds awesome. And I think I have penne in the pantry so I think I’ll give this a go this week.

  5. May 13, 2010 5:03 am

    These looks and sounds fabulous. Oh my husband is going to love this!

  6. May 13, 2010 7:31 pm

    I love a good and easy pasta dish and this is definitely the kind of meal that we love over here.

  7. May 14, 2010 6:33 am

    Looks so creamy – yum! I love garlic noodles so much and our favorite is using pasta made from kamut Khorasan Wheat! It is super healthy and tastes wonderful. Do you think this recipe would allow for me to use them instead of the spaghetti? This looks great – thanks!

Leave a comment