Skip to content

Baked potato salad

May 16, 2010

Baked Potato Salad

Our weather’s been so weird around here – gorgeous one day, then miserable and cold for days on end, then another nice day.  I guess that’s Spring, eh?  Well, please pass the summer!

I’m trying to give it a nudge by making some picnic food.  We fired up the grill yesterday and I made this potato salad to go with our burgers.  If you’re a fan of a stuffed baked potato, then this might be right up your alley.  You’ve got all the essential ingredients, but in salad form.  My goddaughter couldn’t get enough of it and would have happily eaten it as her entire meal, so it definitely got 2 thumbs up from her.

{one year ago:  pink lemonade frozen yogurt}

Recipe:  Baked Potato Salad

(slightly adapted from Evil Shenanigans)

1 1/2-2 pounds of baby red potatoes  (my personal preference for potato salad, but you can sub with whatever potato you prefer)

1/2 c. mayonnaise

1/2 c. sour cream

1/2 c. shredded sharp cheddar cheese

1/4 c. chopped chives

1 lb. bacon, cooked crisp and crumbled

salt and fresh pepper, to taste

In a medium bowl, stir together mayonnaise, sour cream, salt, pepper, and most of the chives.  (Save a few chives for garnishing your salad later.)  Add cheese and bacon and stir to combine.  Place dressing in the refrigerator while you prepare your potatoes.

Cut your potatoes into bite-sized chunks and place into a 2 quart pot.  Add water to cover potatoes.  Add a three-finger pinch of salt to water.  Bring to a boil and cook until tender, but not falling apart.  Drain potatoes and cool slightly.  Gently fold potatoes into the dressing until completely covered.  Add more salt and pepper, if needed.  Garnish with reserved chives.  Chill.

24 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2010 5:42 am

    Michelle I could use a dish like this today. It is a rainy and cold Monday. Ick! But this salad would jaz up my day!

  2. May 17, 2010 9:03 am

    call it a salad and it automatically seems healthier. :)

  3. May 17, 2010 6:13 pm

    I love loaded baked potatoes so I’ll have to give this a try.

    We’re experiencing summer weather here and you can have it. I’d gladly take cold rainy days any day!

  4. oneordinaryday permalink
    May 17, 2010 11:46 pm

    Robin Sue – I’m celebrating a whole day with NO rain. Picnic food!

    Grace – Haha. I totally agree. : )

    ~ Michelle

  5. oneordinaryday permalink
    May 17, 2010 11:47 pm

    Monica – You’re gonna wanna add some onion powder or finely chopped onions to this I think. I’ve been trying to figure out what it needs and I think that’s it. My goddaughter thought it was perfect just the way it was though.

    ~ Michelle

  6. May 18, 2010 3:25 am

    I can’t get sick of potato salad. Mix it up German style, southern style, go heavier on the red wine vinegar than on the mustard, heavy mayo or no mayo, whatever. They’re all good.

  7. May 18, 2010 10:12 am

    This looks delicious! Bacon, chives, and cheese…sign me up!

  8. May 18, 2010 10:44 am

    I love this mashup(no pun intended) of this baked potato salad-so creative.

  9. May 19, 2010 3:22 am

    Hmm, I’m not normally a fan of potato salad but this just might be the one. Bacon makes everything better.
    ~ingrid

  10. May 20, 2010 2:44 am

    I don’t normally like potato salad but this recipe might change that. What a beautiful photo!

  11. May 20, 2010 7:00 am

    This sounds amazing. I wonder, though, what it would taste like with baked potatoes instead of boiled. I might have to test that out. :)

  12. May 23, 2010 8:20 am

    Just made this for my dad’s birthday today and it is AMAZING! Thanks for such a yummy recipe!

  13. Verlier permalink
    May 23, 2010 8:25 am

    I can’t really dig potato salads, maybe this one tastes better, but still, yuk.

  14. May 24, 2010 3:23 am

    it looks quite interesting I think will try your recipe, I like potateos a lot so always lloking for new options

  15. Jaclyn permalink
    June 3, 2010 8:54 am

    I’m making this, this weekend for a BBQ. Looks yummy! Thanks for the recipe :)

  16. August 14, 2013 2:15 am

    Why is this called “Baked Potato Salad??” It’s NOT baked!

  17. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 14, 2013 7:14 am

    May – Nope, it is not baked. It’s called “baked potato salad” because it has all the flavors of a stuffed baked potato. :)
    ~ Michelle

  18. tonya permalink
    December 9, 2013 3:39 pm

    does it taste good cold as u said to chill it?

  19. oneordinaryday permalink
    December 9, 2013 3:43 pm

    Tonya – Yes, we liked the potato salad cold from the refrigerator. :)
    ~ Michelle

  20. chipmunkintheforest permalink
    February 25, 2014 6:33 am

    This is my FAVORITE potato salad recipe! YUM!

Trackbacks

  1. Baked Potato Salad | Rational Ovens
  2. Baked Potato Salad — Buns In My Oven
  3. A Holiday for Foodies « Anita M. George: Journalist, Writer
  4. Ensalada de patatas asadas - Recetín

Leave a comment