Skip to content

Frozen fudgsicles

June 24, 2010

Fudgsicles are a favorite around here, and with such warm weather it seemed like a good time to try this recipe.  With just a few ingredients that I always keep in the pantry and fridge, I was able to get these into the freezer in pretty short order.  And the perk was that my kitchen smelled like we were riding in a cocoa bean through Hershey’s Chocolate World.  (If you’ve never been there and are in PA, you should definitely go!)  Anyway, the only downside to these fudgsicles is the long wait for them to freeze.  Claudia and Evie, my niece, were so eager to get at them this morning that they wolfed down their breakfasts, then made a beeline for the freezer.  Nothing wrong with a little dessert after breakfast, is there?  I didn’t think so.

{one year ago:  watermelon ginger cooler}

Recipe:  Frozen Fudgsicles

(from Eating Well)

1/2 cup nonfat sweetened condensed milk

1/2 cup sugar

1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder, preferably Dutch-process

1 1/4 cups low-fat milk

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Whisk sweetened condensed milk, sugar, and cocoa powder in a heavy saucepan until smooth.  Stir the mixture with a wooden spoon over medium-low heat until it comes to a simmer; continue stirring for 1 minute.  Gradually whisk in the milk, stirring to dissolve all the cocoa mixture.  Remove pan from heat and stir in vanilla.  Pour into popsicle molds or paper cups.  Freeze for about 1 hour, until fudgesicles begin to set.  Insert popsicle sticks and continue freezing until completely firm.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2010 3:16 am

    AH, fudgecicles! Nothing says summer quite the same way. They look fabulous. And I really love the photographs!

  2. June 24, 2010 4:47 am

    So cute! I bet these tasted great on these hot summer days!

  3. Bea permalink
    June 24, 2010 5:46 am

    That sure is a beautiful model eating those fudgesicles! Miss You Ev.

  4. June 24, 2010 8:46 am

    No, chocolate lovers at my house. :(

    Your niece Evie is a cutie.
    ~ingrid

  5. June 24, 2010 10:21 am

    I only have the regular condensed milk, but I’m so going to make this. It looks extra yummy! Cute photos!

  6. June 24, 2010 12:11 pm

    fun stuff!

  7. June 24, 2010 12:21 pm

    Now that’s how you eat a fudgsicle- one in each hand! Love it!

  8. June 24, 2010 2:15 pm

    These look so good! And the ribbon on the stick is the perfect touch :)

  9. June 24, 2010 2:34 pm

    it’s so crazy hot here lately, i have to say these popsicles are looking amazing

  10. June 24, 2010 10:07 pm

    i would never have even considered making my own fudgsicles–great idea! other than dreamsicles, those are my go-to novelty. :)

  11. June 25, 2010 8:37 am

    I am going to have to try this with my niece and nephews! Great idea. I used to love fudgesicles as a kid.

  12. Kayce permalink
    June 27, 2010 8:01 am

    I mace these yesterday, they are super easy and sooooo good.

  13. June 27, 2010 8:09 am

    I think fudge is appropriate at any time of day. Or night. ;)

  14. oneordinaryday permalink
    June 28, 2010 1:37 pm

    Kayce – I’m so happy you came back and commented after you made your fudgsicles. Glad you liked them. They disappeared really quickly here!
    ~ Michelle

  15. Evie permalink
    July 8, 2010 9:04 am

    Thank you Ingrid!!!!!!
    I’m surprised Aunt Shell!!!! You made almost everything while I was at your house!!! : )

  16. July 28, 2015 3:56 am

    There are several different factors to think about yet however these appear to
    be the prime queries that require to be thought of before embarking on a painting job.
    Glass insurance provides coverage for broken windows and other types of
    glass windows. Nearly anything lessen than 300 dpi is deemed minimal resolution so make
    sure you conserve your files to 300 or more.

  17. August 6, 2015 1:02 am

    Can I simply just say what a relief to find an individual who
    truly understands what they’re talking about on the web.

    You actually understand how to bring an issue to light
    and make it important. More people have to look at this
    and understand this side of the story. I was surprised that
    you’re not more popular given that you certainly have the gift.

  18. October 5, 2015 5:25 pm

    I used to be suggested this website by means of my cousin. I’m not certain whether this submit is written via him
    as no one else recognize such unique about
    my problem. You are wonderful! Thanks!

  19. November 16, 2015 2:00 am

    Regardless of whether you are working about the house or hitting the gym, absolutely nothing keeps you
    comfortable like Hanes® hoodies for men. We cautiously construct our sweatshirts to give guys what
    they want—a roomy match, deep pockets and ribbed cuffs
    to maximize comfort.

Leave a comment