Skip to content

Blueberry cookie bars

August 30, 2010

Blueberry Cookie Bars

Don’t you love versatile recipes?  The ones that work no matter which ingredients you happen to have on hand?  These cookie bars are one of those recipes.  You can use whatever fresh or frozen berries you have, and no matter what, you end up with a delicious shortcake-like treat.  And it’s portable.  C’mon – a shortcake you can walk around with?  Total yumminess.

Some got drizzled with a simple glaze, but I ended up preferring those without.  Either way, these were a huge hit.  And since you can substitute any berry you want, you can have a quick treat anytime.  These cookie bars are gonna be making a lot of future appearances around here.

(If you aren’t feeding a crowd, just cut the recipe in half and use a 13×9 inch pan instead.)

Recipe:  Blueberry Cookie Bars

(from Dinner with Julie)

1/2 cup canola oil

1/4 cup butter, softened

2 cups granulated sugar

4 large eggs

2 tsp vanilla

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

1/4 tsp baking soda

3 cups blueberries, raspberries, blackberries, or sliced strawberries, fresh or frozen (don’t thaw them).

Preheat oven to 350ºF and spray large 10.5 x 15” jelly roll pan or rimmed cookie sheet with nonstick spray.

In a large bowl, cream together canola oil, butter and sugar. Add eggs and vanilla and beat well. Add the flours and baking soda and stir just until the batter comes together.

Spread 2/3 of the batter in the bottom of the pan. Sprinkle with berries or sliced fruit, then drop the remaining dough in spoonfuls over the fruit – it will spread as it bakes, and you don’t need to cover it all.

Bake for 30-40 minutes, until golden and springy to the touch.

27 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2010 9:28 am

    Those look like they’d be perfect in a school lunch box! I also like that it uses a healthy oil like canola for some of the shortening!

  2. August 30, 2010 10:47 am

    Hey, Michelle! Think this would work with strawberries? (That’s all I have right now.) Strawberries tend to be watery and can mess with a batter…whaddaya think?

    Btw, you’ve turned things around after those pancakes, huh? LOL, I tease everything always looks delish here. :)
    ~ingrid

  3. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 30, 2010 10:54 am

    Ingrid – I would definitely try it if I had some strawberries. If they aren’t overripe, I don’t think they’d water down the batter a bit, and I think it’d be delish. And quit picking on me! LOL I still say those pancakes were a good idea.
    ~ Michelle

  4. August 30, 2010 11:10 am

    Ooo, you know, I don’t think that I’ve ever eaten or made cookie bars, unless you count brownies. Yours look so delicious though, especially with the pop of blue blueberries! They look like such nice chewy things…

  5. August 30, 2010 12:12 pm

    Mm what a delicious portable treat. I have some frozen blueberries saved from when there was a major blueberry sale at the store a few weeks ago that would go great in this.

  6. August 30, 2010 12:15 pm

    I love the idea of cookie bars with fresh berries! These look great, and that photo is making me hungry right now!

  7. August 30, 2010 3:08 pm

    These look great and I just happen to have all the ingredients on hand. It must be fate…

  8. August 30, 2010 4:49 pm

    As always, these look delicious! I know I am going to have to try this one. We just froze some berries yesterday, so I am putting this on the list!

  9. August 30, 2010 6:35 pm

    OMG! These look delicious! I may have to add a little lemon zest to mine but YUM!

  10. August 31, 2010 2:12 am

    These sound and look so amazing! YUM!

  11. August 31, 2010 5:05 am

    you know, you don’t see blueberries, raspberries, blackberries, or strawberries in cookies, like, EVER. cookie bars? what a perfect home for them–these look wonderful, and that’s that.

  12. August 31, 2010 6:39 am

    Super duper deliciously yummy! Great versatile recipe.
    :-) Mandy

  13. August 31, 2010 3:18 pm

    Ok, I admit it. I’ve been on a bit of a cookie bar craze for the past few months & it doesn’t look as if my baking bender is ending anytime soon. These look yummy!

  14. onlinetutor1 permalink
    August 31, 2010 5:37 pm

    These bars look absolutely, freaking AMAZING!! YUM! Thank you for sharing this recipe.

  15. August 31, 2010 9:52 pm

    These look awesome as always. I love anything to do with cookies.

  16. September 1, 2010 12:47 pm

    the only thing i don’t like is the part about cutting the recipe in half!!

  17. September 2, 2010 4:04 pm

    This looks sooo yummy! The photo & colours are just beautiful!

  18. September 2, 2010 8:33 pm

    You know me and my love for blueberries and these look awesome. I’m going to pretend you made these just for me :-)

  19. December 8, 2010 4:50 am

    Hey Michelle,

    I just posted these on my blog but used cranberries instead. we loved them!

  20. Jeanne permalink
    January 12, 2012 1:02 pm

    Could you use rhubarb on these bars? I have that frozen from the summer garden. These sound so great no matter which berry is used.

  21. one ordinary day permalink
    January 13, 2012 7:47 am

    Jeanne – I think you could use any fruit you like in these bars. I have a friend who subbed cranberries for the blueberries and loved them. Please let me know how they turn out! :)
    ~ Michelle

  22. Jacqui permalink
    July 6, 2013 3:12 pm

    The bars look like they have a glaze on the top. Is this my imagination?

  23. oneordinaryday permalink
    July 22, 2013 9:29 am

    Jacqui – There is a little glaze of powdered sugar and milk on top. You just mix a little milk at a time into a cup of powdered sugar until it’s the consistency you want, then drizzle it on top of the bars. I actually preferred them without the glaze though. :)
    ~ Michelle

  24. Diana @DandelionGreensBlog permalink
    June 30, 2015 6:22 pm

    Wow! These were delicious! I had some blueberries from the Farmers Market that I needed to use up. I didn’t have whole wheat flour, so I subbed whole wheat pastry flour. Plus I added a pinch of salt. Plus, I halved it like you mentioned, and used a 9×13 pan. Delicious! Thanks for a lovely recipe.

Trackbacks

  1. Week 72 (September 21st – September 27th) « Documenting every day of my 25th year and beyond
  2. Blueberry Cobbler Bars « eliteluxury
  3. Blueberry Bars | Shots of Happiness

Leave a comment