Skip to content

Lemon feta dip

August 19, 2011

Lemon Feta Dip via my ipod

Sam and I went to the farmers’ market this morning and I happily sampled some foods from a vendor I hadn’t seen there before.  I tried falafel for the first time and was really happy that Sam was game to try it too, even though he didn’t like it.  I also sampled a delicious feta dip with roasted tomatoes that immediately reminded me of this lemon feta dip I found at Sweet Paul earlier in the summer.

I had some feta cheese and a bag of lemons in the fridge at home, and we picked up some zucchini and tomatoes at the market, so I was all set.  Thankfully, this dip was quite delicious and made the annoying experience of making it worthwhile.  Let me share.  First I tried blending the dip in the actual blender, but it’s got no chutzpah, so I finally switched to my small food processor and had much better luck.  In the meantime, I had brushed zucchini, tomatoes, and pita bread with olive oil, salt, and pepper and started grilling them.  Then a thunderstorm came through.  With a bit of hail, which the kids loved.  Mm-hm.  And I have food on the grill.  Needless to say, it was incredibly annoying (and wet), but the end result was delish so I’ll get over it.

Oh, my Claudia has recently discovered a love of photography, so when I tried to take a photo of the finished dish, I had a dead battery.  Sigh.  I used my ipod instead, so I hope you trust me that the dip tasted really good, even though it doesn’t look amazing in the photo.

{one year ago:  tres leches cake}
{two years ago:  featured interview at Givers Log}

Recipe:  Lemon Feta Dip

(from Sweet Paul)

8oz feta cheese, crumbled
1 tablespoon grated lemon zest
2 tablespoons lemon juice
1 clove garlic, chopped
6 tablespoons olive oil+ extra for serving
fresh thyme

Place feta, lemon zest and juice, garlic and olive oil in a blender and blend until smooth.
Spoon into a bowl and drizzle with a little olive oil and sprinkle with thyme.
Serve with grilled tomatoes and grilled pita bread drizzled with olive oil, salt and thyme.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2011 10:48 pm

    This dip, with the sangria from your previous post, just sounds divine right now. Too bad I don’t have any of it on hand at the moment! Tomorrow… grocery shopping… I need to make this happen.

    Have a great weekend!

  2. August 20, 2011 8:06 am

    That looks and sounds delicious! It would be perfect with some of the great summer veggies we have right now!

  3. August 21, 2011 3:13 am

    What are you talking about? I think that’s a great photo! I was just admiring how color it was :-)

    And yes, that does sound good!

  4. August 22, 2011 7:19 am

    So nice that it was all worth it in the end – fabulous fresh sounding dip and there is nothing wrong with your photo – promise.
    :-) Mandy

  5. August 22, 2011 3:57 pm

    Yum! This sounds SO great–I love anything with feta. Thanks for sharing! :)

  6. August 23, 2011 5:03 am

    falafel is a dear friend of mine–i’m glad you and he (or is it she?) finally met! tasty dip–thanks for sharing. :)

  7. August 25, 2011 12:25 pm

    Will and I made this, too! We used a LOT of olive oil to balance out the tangy-ness of the lemon and feta. I love Sweet Paul’s magazine and blog.

  8. September 8, 2011 10:07 am

    I like everything about this dip and will have to try since I have a ton of feta in the frige. I already have the rain to go with it too!

  9. April 15, 2012 11:30 pm

    I used your recipe as a base for a dip I made this evening! It was amazing! Thank you <3

Leave a comment