Skip to content

Parmesan garlic pull-apart bread

March 8, 2012

Parmesan Garlic Pull-Apart Bread

I have a love-hate relationship with yeast.  I don’t really blame the yeast, and truthfully, I don’t blame myself either.  I’m kind like that.  Instead, I blame the temperature in my kitchen.  It’s just never warm enough for the yeast dough to rise nicely.  I typically end up with breads that never reach the height intended for them.  At this point, I only attempt to make yeast breads on sunny days, when I know I can leave a bowl on a bench in our little sunroom and it will be warm enough to help the dough rise.

Last weekend, when it was unseasonably warm and beautiful outside, I made this Parmesan garlic pull-apart bread.  And joy of joys, the dog and the cats mercifully left the bowl of rising dough alone the whole time!  The resulting bread was fun to eat and tasted great, though I’m thinking that the next time I’m also going to add shredded mozzarella cheese.  Some of those cute mini pepperoni slices might be a good idea too.  Hmm.  Pizza pull-apart bread, here I come!

{two years ago:  malted milk bar brownies}
{three years ago:   the best garlic hummus ever!}

Recipe:  Parmesan Garlic Pull-Apart Bread

(slightly adapted from The Pastry Affair)

2 teaspoons active dry yeast
1 1/3 cups barely warm water
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
2 teaspoons salt
3 1/2 cups all purpose (or bread) flour
6 Tbsp. butter, melted
1 tablespoon dried parsley flakes
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese

In a large mixing bowl, stir together the yeast and water.  Let sit 5 minutes until yeast is foamy.  Mix in the olive oil, salt, and flour.  If you have a stand mixer, attach the dough hook and knead the dough for 5-6 minutes, or until elastic.  If you are doing this by hand, knead the dough on a lightly floured surface until dough is elastic, 7-10 minutes.  Transfer dough to a lightly oiled bowl and cover with a clean kitchen towel.  Allow to rise for 1 1/2 to 2 hours, or until dough is doubled in size.

In a small bowl, combine melted butter, parsley flakes, and minced garlic.  Set aside.  Lightly spray a bundt pan with nonstick cooking spray.

Punch down the dough.  Tear off small pieces of dough (roughly the size of the bowl of a medium spoon), coat in the butter mixture, and place in the bottom of the bundt pan.  Repeat this process until you have one layer of dough balls.  Sprinkle on 1/3 of the Parmesan cheese.  Continue layering the dough balls and cheese until you have 3 layers.  Cover the pan with a clean towel and allow to sit until dough has doubled in size, 20-30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Bake for 25 to 30 minutes, or until bread is golden brown.  Serve hot with a side of marinara or tomato sauce.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2012 5:20 am

    Pull-apart breads keep popping up and I’ve never tried them! This one looks amazing!

  2. March 9, 2012 11:01 am

    This looks so delicious! What a fun take on a pull-apart bread, and I bet it was so delicious. Thank you for sharing, and also for stopping by my blog!

  3. March 9, 2012 3:56 pm

    Mmm That looks delicious! I have the same problem with a cold kitchen (and a cold house), so I whenever I make yeasty goodies, I turn the oven on to preheat for like 30-45 seconds, then turn it back off and put my dough into the oven with the door closed and leave it to rise. It’s not on long enough to get hot, just a bit warmer than my kitchen is, and with the door closed, I don’t have to worry about furry friends getting into it. If the dough needs a long rise time, or it doesn’t look like it’s rising much, I’ll do the turn on/turn off thing again about halfway through.

  4. March 18, 2012 6:46 pm

    Turn on your oven light and put the bread in to rise. An oven with the light on is just warm enough to rise your bread.

    Tasty looking recipe, thanks!

  5. Emily Derrick permalink
    May 31, 2012 3:53 pm

    This bread looks AAAHHHHHmazing! Mind if I share it on pintrest?

  6. one ordinary day permalink
    June 2, 2012 6:41 am

    Emily – Please do! Happy pinning. :)
    ~ Michelle

Leave a comment