Skip to content

Zucchini enchiladas

August 19, 2012

Zucchini Enchiladas

I’m still working on using up our zucchini and was so happy to find this recipe while I was browsing Pinterest.  I’m so impressed that Gina from skinnytaste even thought to put zucchini into a dish like this, because I’m sure I never would have.  It was wickedly good and I know I’ll make it again.  In fact, I’m going to shred up the remainder of the zucchini and freeze it to use later, so these enchiladas could make an appearance at our table long after the season has ended.

The only change I made to the original recipe was in the sauce.  I didn’t make the enchilada sauce from scratch, but instead combined canned enchilada sauce with some plain Greek yogurt until it had the consistency and flavor I was looking for.  Yum!  Topped off with fresh chives from my garden (though green onions would be great too), and in a short time we were enjoying green zucchini from our friend and yellow squash from our garden all rolled up in one (literally!).

Recipe:  Zucchini Enchiladas

(adapted from skinnytaste.com)

1 tsp. olive oil
2 cloves garlic, crushed
2 small scallions, chopped
2 medium zucchinis, grated
kosher salt and freshly ground pepper, to taste
1 1/2 c. grated Mexican blend cheese
whole wheat tortillas
chopped green onions or chives, for garnish
chopped cilantro, for garnish

Spray a baking dish with nonstick cooking spray and set aside.  In a medium nonstick skillet, saute garlic and scallions in olive oil over medium heat for about 3 minutes: add zucchini, salt and pepper to taste and cook about 5 more minutes.  Remove from heat and add 3/4 cup cheese; mix well.  Divide zucchini between in each tortilla, roll and place seam side down in baking dish.  Top with enchilada sauce and remaining cheese and lightly cover with foil.  Bake until hot, about 20 minutes.  Garnish with green onions or chives.

Enchilada Sauce:

10 oz. can of enchilada sauce
plain Greek yogurt  (Sorry, I didn’t measure it – just a few big spoonfuls.)

Stir together until smooth and top rolled enchiladas.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2012 8:54 am

    I definitely want to try these. Need more creative ways to get my veggies in :)

  2. August 20, 2012 7:52 pm

    YUM!!

  3. August 21, 2012 7:20 pm

    What a delicious and unique use for zucchini! Don’t think I’ve ever seen a Mexican dish with zucchini. Looks wonderful!

  4. Dawn permalink
    September 4, 2012 6:55 pm

    Just made these for dinner…..AmAzInG!!!!

  5. July 29, 2013 2:30 am

    Perfect! Wow, I cant wait to make this!

Leave a comment