Skip to content

Salted Fudge Brownies

January 28, 2009

When I tell you that these salted fudge brownies are the most delicious, chocolately, wonderful brownies you will EVER taste, I am not even close to exaggerating.  Ask Jim.  These are utter perfection.  And the salt?  Oh my freaking goodness.  I’ll say it again – perfection.  The recipe said after cooling the brownies for an hour that I was supposed to put them in the refrigerator for another hour, but there was just no way Claudia and I could patiently wait for these to cool for TWO HOURS without trying them.  3/4 of the brownies are chilling in the fridge right now.  We ate the rest and we don’t regret it one bit.

Here’s the recipe, and I hope you have everything you need so you can go make these right now.  You can thank me later.

– Shell

Recipe:  Salted Fudge Brownies

(from Food and Wine)

1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter, cut into pieces

2 ounces unsweetened chocolate, chopped

1/4 c. plus 2 Tbsp. unsweetened cocoa

2 cups sugar

3 large eggs

1 1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1 cup flour

1/2 tsp. sea salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line a 9″ square baking pan with foil.  Butter or spray with cooking spray and set aside.

In a large saucepan, melt the butter with the unsweetened chocolate over very low heat, stirring occasionally. Remove from the heat. Whisking them in one at a time until thoroughly incorporated, add the cocoa, sugar, eggs, vanilla and flour. Pour the batter into the prepared pan and smooth the surface. Sprinkle the salt evenly over the batter. Using a butter knife, swirl the salt into the batter.

Bake the fudge brownies in the center of the oven for about 35 minutes, until the edge is set but the center is still a bit soft and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out coated with a little of the batter. Let the brownies cool at room temperature in the pan for 1 hour, then refrigerate just until they are firm, about 1 hour. Lift the brownies from the pan and peel off the foil. Cut the brownies into 16 squares. Serve at room temperature.

I’m really excited to say that I’m entering this outstanding recipe in recipegirl’s Super Bowl Smackdown contest.  What’s a party without chocolate??

Wish me luck!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2009 6:47 pm

    Keep posting this stuff! One of these days when I quit my job I’ll come back and find these recipes and try them. These look delicious.

  2. Jim permalink
    January 30, 2009 3:17 am

    She’s not exaggerating.

  3. January 30, 2009 2:49 pm

    I want to make these!! Great entry for the contest. Good luck :)

  4. January 30, 2009 4:43 pm

    These looks so good, and I can imagine the salt pairs perfectly with the chocolate. Yummo!

  5. January 31, 2009 3:16 am

    These sound amazing. I love sweet & salty treats.

  6. January 31, 2009 1:42 pm

    I don’t usually even like brownies, but these look amazing. I have to try them!

  7. Michelle permalink
    February 2, 2009 2:26 pm

    These look delicious…I should have been keeping up with reading your blog!! We made brownies yesterday (of course from a box, not “from scratch”), but I never thought about adding sea salt. What a perfect combination. Oh well, next time.

  8. February 26, 2009 12:21 pm

    WOW. just wow. that’s really all i can say right now, as i’m pretty much drooling over my keyboard :)

  9. September 7, 2009 4:43 am

    I made these a few days ago and they were delish! I think they got better the next day, but like you, I couldn’t resist tearing into them too soon. :) Thanks for posting the recipe. I really enjoy your blog, your humor, and your going green tips!

Leave a comment