Skip to content

Rainbow cake

June 1, 2009

Rainbow Cake

Rainbow Cake was the perfect cake to make to celebrate my baby girl’s 5th birthday.  I thought it’d be so much fun to put this tall cake in front of her and cut it to reveal all those super bright colors.

So that’s about where the joy of making this monster ended.  I won’t bore you with all the details, because I come out a little pitiful.  Let’s just say that our air conditioner is still not working, it was really hot in my kitchen yesterday, and white chocolate icing doesn’t hold up terribly well under those conditions.  You can pretty much tell from looking at the photo that the cake layers did a fair amount of sliding around.  And that’s an understatement, let me tell you.  This sucker slid like it was ice skating.  Only not as gracefully.  After 3 wooden skewers and some lengthy time in the fridge, everything managed to hold together, but not before my perfect towering masterpiece was tilted and lopsided.

None of that even mattered when we were singing Happy Birthday.  Or when Sam asked Claudia if she knew what was inside the cake and her response was, “A little piece of love.”  How sweet is she anyway?  I can’t believe she’s 5 already.  Where did the time go?

Recipe:  Rainbow Cake

(adapted from Conversations with a Cupcake)

2 boxes of white cake mix

6 eggs

1 c. water

2/3 c. oil

gel food coloring in red, orange, yellow, green, blue, and purple

white chocolate frosting  (recipe follows)

Mix the cakes mixes with the eggs, water, and oil and blend well.  Pour about 1 c. of batter into 6 small bowls.  Add a little gel food coloring to each bowl to create your rainbow-colored batter.

Grease and flour seven 8 or 9 inch round cake pans.  (I used three 8″ pans and baked in two shifts.) Using a spatula, spoon and spread each color of batter into its own cake pan. Bake in a 350 degree oven, for 15-18 minutes, or until tops spring back when touched lightly. Allow to cool completely. Frost with White Chocolate Frosting.

Recipe:  White Chocolate Frosting

1 c. butter, softened

1 bag white chocolate chips

3 lbs. powdered sugar

1/2 – 1 c. milk

In a large bowl, microwave white chocolate chips until melted, in 30 second intervals.  Immediately beat in butter until smooth.  Add powdered sugar and some milk and beat with an electric mixer until light and fluffy.  Add more milk, if needed to achieve desired consistency.  Makes enough frosting to ice between each layer of cake and around the outside of the cake.   (I actually had frosting leftover.  This makes a lot!)

23 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2009 12:36 pm

    This is AMAZING. How did you come up with this? I hope I can remember to do this for my little one’s 4th b’day down in October. (Will you remind me? If you remember) Not that I will actually do it, but I’ll ask whoever I get to make the cake for me to do it. LOL.
    Wow. It looks so beautiful. I’ve never seen anything like this before. I didn’t even think of a cake like this! Where do you get your inspiration?!
    And what C said was soooo precious. Those are the types of quotes that make great SB pages! (Hint Hint) I’m working on a page now based on funny things that B has said in May. Hope to have it to share soon.
    Anyway, back to the cake. Wow. I think this is my favourite thing you’ve ever posted.

  2. June 1, 2009 12:59 pm

    Such a super pretty cake for your little one! Your purple is so pretty. When I did this my purple was a bit funky!! And who could beat white chocolate frosting. Yummy!

  3. June 1, 2009 8:38 pm

    I love rainbow colored cakes. This is the perfect cake for a little girl, what a great mom you are :)

  4. June 1, 2009 9:10 pm

    I was at a barbeque on Friday night and another girl was talking about nutrition, and how she tries to eat food from each color of the rainbow every day. Your cake fits them all!! ;-D
    What a fun looking cake!

  5. June 2, 2009 2:52 am

    Oh, mygoodness Michelle, you rock! What an awesome cake! I wanna see the photo of your babygirl’s face when she saw the inside of her wonderful cake! (Please tell me who was looking anywhere but at those wonderful colorful layers?) Aw, and that was soo sweet of her filled with a piece of love comment! Happy Birthday Claudia!

    Michelle, I appreciate the comment on my babygirl’s cake! I’m not baking everything in one night and not all of it is baked. I’m making several “cereal” bars that do not require more than melting some chocolate or marshmallows. I’ll be quite honest and wondered how you managed to do so much cooking, baking, blogging, and reading, along with all your normal everyday mother & wife duties! :) I was ready to give you the “S” to put on your chest! :)
    ~ingrid

  6. June 2, 2009 2:53 am

    Oh, yeah, did you guys like it?
    ~ingrid

  7. June 2, 2009 4:00 am

    Ohhhhhhh, cute cake! :o)

  8. oneordinaryday permalink
    June 2, 2009 11:26 am

    Ingrid – You are so stinkin’ sweet. I am far from deserving an S on my chest, I’ll tell you! Just ask my kids!! Thanks anyway, though. And we LOVED this cake. Be prepared though, cause eating one piece is really like eating at least two pieces of regular cake. That’s a big cake!
    – Michelle

  9. oneordinaryday permalink
    June 2, 2009 11:37 am

    Lonely Scrapbooker – THANK YOU! No promises on reminding you in October though. : )

    Robin Sue – Thanks. I tried looking through your blog for your cake and came up blank. I do love that swirly rainbow frosting though!

    Sara – I love the whole idea of this cake too. What great presentation, right?

    Marian – LOL I can go for this kind of “eating the rainbow!”

    Hundewanderer – Thank you.

    – Michelle

  10. June 2, 2009 2:28 pm

    outstanding! i’m such a fan of rainbows and cake, so you can understand why i get giddy at the mere sight of this. nicely done. :)

  11. June 3, 2009 4:35 am

    That is the best cake ever to make for a little girl for her birthday. I hope she was bright eyed and excited! I love it. I’ve always wanted to do a cupcake version of this multi-colored cake. Maybe for 4th of July :)

  12. Nada permalink
    May 5, 2010 2:08 am

    Salam dear,
    Can I post this beautiful picture at my facebook page?

  13. oneordinaryday permalink
    May 5, 2010 2:14 am

    Nada – Thanks for asking! Sure, you can post it, but I sure would appreciate a link back to where you found it. Thank you.
    ~ Michelle

  14. Hilory permalink
    May 19, 2010 5:10 am

    This is PERFECT for my daughters birthday coming up in June! She’s all about drawing rainbows so I have been looking for the best rainbow cake idea to surprise her with and this is it! Thank you so much for sharing your great idea!

  15. oneordinaryday permalink
    May 19, 2010 11:32 pm

    Hilory – I’m so glad you like the rainbow cake. My daughter (and son) were just giddy over it. I admit, I kind of was too. : )

    ~ Michelle

  16. Nina Saucy-Face permalink
    May 31, 2010 4:39 am

    Oh WOW !!!!!
    I love rainbows too, always have….
    This cake is AWESOME!
    I’m definitely going to have a try at making it!!
    What a fantastic idea!
    I made a pink cake for my very girly friend at work a coupla weeks ago, frosted it with white icing & stuck all manner of girly coloured sweets on top. Why I never thought to do layers of rainbow coloured cake I’ll never know! This is brilliant. xxx

  17. virginia permalink
    June 2, 2010 2:46 pm

    what a fantastic, beautiful blog you have!

    i wonder if you mind if i take a copy of your rainbow cake photo?

    it has to be one of the prettiest cake pictures i have seen.

    now i want to make the cake! and eat it too.

    virginia

  18. oneordinaryday permalink
    June 3, 2010 11:05 am

    Virginia – Thanks for the nice comments and for asking permission to use my photo. I don’t mind sharing it with you, as long as you link back to me with the photo credit and recipe. I’d love to take a peek at your blog! What’s it called?
    ~ Michelle

  19. virginia permalink
    June 3, 2010 5:58 pm

    Thank you Michelle!
    I blog at thoughts.com
    vestigesofhermind
    is mine. It is nothing fancy like yours.
    I could put a link to your blog from mine if
    I use the picture and or recipe. I was hoping
    you would not mind if I used the photo as an
    avatar for a day or two. I do not know how to
    put your name on the actual copy of the picture
    but I could put your blog address on my wall
    for the days I use the picture if that is okay.
    virginia

  20. oneordinaryday permalink
    June 3, 2010 11:24 pm

    Hi, Virginia. I tried to peek at your blog but was having a terrible time accessing it. :( I definitely don’t mind you posting my cake with a link in a post, but I’d rather you didn’t use the photo as an avatar since it can’t be linked directly back. Hope you understand!
    Thanks,
    Michelle

  21. Paige Norris permalink
    June 10, 2010 2:55 am

    Hey are you sure it’s 3 pounds of powdered sugar? that’s a ton!!!!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Together with the jump, come big steps. «
  2. Best. Cake. Ever. | ekwetzel

Leave a comment