Skip to content

Chocolate saltine candy

July 25, 2009

I feel like we are having some sort of kids’ dessert-fest while Evie is staying with us.  This is the third thing I’ve made for the kids this week, but it’s been the one I’ve liked the most.  It’s easy to make, it looks fun, and it tastes great.  I love that you can top it with whatever you like too.  I thought we’d all like the rocky road version the best, with the mini marshmallows and chopped peanuts, but it turns out that we actually like the others better.  The kids’ favorite is the m&m ones and Jim and I like the ones topped with chopped Heath bar bits.  Not that those poor old rocky roads will be neglected for long.  We’ll gobble them up eventually too, then it’ll be time to bake again.  Stay tuned!

Recipe:  Saltine Candy

1 sleeve of saltine crackers

1/2 c. butter

1/2 c. packed brown sugar

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

1 – 1 1/2 c. chocolate chips

assorted toppings: mini marshmallows, chopped peanuts, toffee bits, m&ms, etc.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.  Place butter and brown sugar in a small saucepan.  Bring to a boil and boil for 5 minutes.  While mixture is boiling, arrange saltines in a single layer on top of the parchment.

Once mixture has boiled for 5 minutes, remove from heat and stir in vanilla.  Pour mixture over the crackers and spread to cover them.  (If you want a thicker layer of toffee crunch, you can double the butter and brown sugar.  I wanted only a thin layer of toffee crunch on mine.)  After the toffee has been spread evenly, place in the oven for 5 minutes.

Take the crackers out of the oven and scatter the chocolate chips all over the top.  Spread the chocolate to cover all the crackers.  Now comes the fun part ~ add whatever toppings you enjoy.  Gently press toppings onto chocolate and place sheet in the freezer for 15 minutes.  Remove and break apart.  Keep stored in refrigerator.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2009 5:02 am

    There was a company called Confuzzled trying to sell these, 8 oz packages for $18. I thought the price was ridiculous for how easy it is to make.

  2. July 25, 2009 2:43 pm

    Hey, Michelle I’ve made something super similar made this before and it was a hit here as well. I used graham crackers and tortillas for my base. I usually only top it with pecans. I’m not sure why I hadn’t though of anything else…DUH! Thanks for the tip.

    Btw, I think they usually call this (something) toffee. Though I’m not certain the exact definition of toffee.

    Oh, and I started the book but put it down after the first few pages as I needed to catch up on my blog and everyone elses.I knew I’d get wrapped up in it and neglect everything else!
    ~ingrid

  3. July 26, 2009 6:41 am

    this is known in my house as crack because it’s so unbelievably addictive. love the topping varieties!

  4. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 3, 2009 3:49 am

    Jessica – OMG, are you serious? It really is so easy to make and it’s saltine crackers, for crying out loud. $18?? Crazy.

    Ingrid – Yeah, it’s definitely a toffee thing, but it’s such a thin layer of toffee that I figured it was more of a crunchy cookie thing. {shrug} It’s good no matter whatcha call it.

    Grace – Agreed!

    ~Michelle

  5. February 22, 2011 12:36 am

    i love these! they are my new favrorite.

Leave a comment