Skip to content

Homemade chunky monkey ice cream made with roasted bananas

September 12, 2009

Homemade Chunky Monkey Ice Cream

I had some bananas that had passed their prime and a craving for Ben & Jerry’s Chunky Monkey ice cream.  I figured, why not try to make it myself?  David Lebovitz, who has become my ice cream idol, has a recipe for roasted banana ice cream that I used.  I added some walnuts and dark chocolate, and had me a bunch of chunky monkey ice cream.  Woohoo!

Recipe:  Homemade Chunky Monkey Ice Cream

(adapted from The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz)

3 medium ripe bananas, peeled

1/3 c. packed brown sugar

1 Tbsp. butter, cut into small pieces

1 1/2 c. whole milk

2 Tbsp. granulated sugar

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

1 1/2 tsp. freshly-squeezed lemon juice

1/4 tsp. coarse salt

1/4 c. coarsely chopped walnuts

1/4 c. chopped dark chocolate or dark chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Slice bananas into 1/2″ pieces and toss with brown sugar and butter in a baking dish.  Bake for 20 minutes, uncovered.  Stir and bake for another 20 minutes, until bananas are browned and cooked through.

Scrape bananas and thick syrup into a blender or food processor.  Add milk, granulated sugar, vanilla, lemon juice, and salt.  Puree until smooth.

Chill mixture thoroughly in refrigerator, for at least 4 hours.

Stir mixture and pour into ice cream maker.  Freeze according to manufacturer’s directions.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Keenan Evans Meyer permalink
    September 12, 2009 1:30 am

    amazing! I can’t wait to try this :)

  2. September 12, 2009 7:49 pm

    I bet roasting the bananas makes it extra special. Looks wonderful.

  3. September 13, 2009 12:48 am

    that shot of the gooey roasted bananas is KILLER! good for you for recreating that classic ice cream at home–looks perfect!

  4. September 13, 2009 1:27 pm

    Well, you should know that this would be a winner a my house. Love us some bananas! Yes,we do!
    ~ingrid

  5. September 14, 2009 5:01 am

    wow. this looks incredible. i can’t wait to try. the edamame hummus looks like something i’d love too. One I get started on edamame I have a hard time stopping!

  6. oneordinaryday permalink
    September 15, 2009 3:00 am

    Keenan – Hope you let me know if you like it!

    peabody – Thanks. I think those roasted bananas gave it a great flavor.

    grace – Thank you, maam!

    ingrid – I actually thought of you when I posted. I know your crew loves banana treats.

    Amber – Thank you!

    ~Michelle

  7. September 22, 2009 2:19 pm

    This looks absolutely delicious! I have the book by David Lebovitz too, and am now making a note to try this one next! :)

  8. November 21, 2009 11:58 am

    I just had to say I love that photo of the roasted caramel-y bananas….YUM!
    ~ingrid

  9. September 14, 2010 9:26 am

    Oh my goodness! I LOVE like LOVE Chunky Monkey ice cream! Although i only try to eat it like twice a year since i cant bring myself to indulge in the calories, but i may have to splurge and make this! It looks amazing!

  10. dodie7ski permalink
    April 4, 2013 2:29 pm

    Sounds yummy! How much does it make?

  11. Rachel Dolan permalink
    July 18, 2013 7:18 pm

    Can’t find how many quarts or pints it makes.

  12. oneordinaryday permalink
    July 22, 2013 9:20 am

    Rachel, I have a 1 1/2 qt. ice cream maker and all my recipes are for 1 – 1 1/2 quarts.
    ~ Michelle

  13. Mari permalink
    January 18, 2014 6:06 pm

    Do you mix the chocolate chips when put the mixture into the ice cream maker?

  14. Carine permalink
    April 29, 2016 11:24 am

    You don’t mention when to add the chocolate and walnuts

Trackbacks

  1. Monkey Business: A Ben & Jerry’s DIY | churn bklyn
  2. Copycat: Chunky Monkey Ice Cream | Just Garnished

Leave a comment