Skip to content

Sugar cookies and Alice in Wonderland

September 15, 2009
tags:

What do you think?  Cheshire Cat from Alice in Wonderland?  Hope so, since that’s what I was going for!  {tee hee}  I kinda like him, and my kids really liked eating him!  (By the way, I actually did this as part of a challenge for a flickr group, not because I have too much time on my hands!)

I started with sugar cookie dough, then used purple food coloring to create two different shades of purple.  After the dough chilled, I rolled out two rectangles, then placed the light purple on top of the dark purple.  I rolled it up and put it in the fridge to chill.  When I was ready to bake them, I cut the log into slices with a sharp knife and placed them on parchment-lined cookie sheets.  To make the ears, I cut some of the dough into triangles and gently smooshed them onto the swirl.  Smooshed… very technical baking term, don’t you know.

After baking and cooling, I got the facial features ready.  I melted a little bit of white chocolate and piped it into a crescent shape on waxed paper, waited for it to set up, then piped white icing around the edges and to separate his teeth.  Some black frosting piped on for whiskers, a little purple sprinkle for a nose, and two yellow m&m eyes.  (The m&ms, sprinkle nose, and the grin are “glued” on with more icing.)

I love the whole idea of pinwheel cookies.  They lend themselves to so many fun ideas!

Recipe:  Sugar Cookies

(adapted from an Alton Brown recipe)

3 cups all-purpose flour

3/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup unsalted butter, softened

1 cup sugar

1 egg, beaten

1 tablespoon milk

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1/2 tsp. almond extract

Powdered sugar, for rolling out dough

Sift together flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside. Place butter and sugar in large bowl of electric stand mixer and beat until light in color. Add egg and milk and beat to combine. Put mixer on low speed, gradually add flour, and beat until mixture pulls away from the side of the bowl.

Cover both with plastic and chill for approximately 5 minutes. Roll out doughs separately to approximately 1/4-inch thickness. Place one color of dough on top of second color and press together around the edges. Using waxed paper or flexible cutting board underneath, roll dough into log. Wrap in waxed paper and refrigerate for 2 hours.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

Remove dough from the refrigerator and cut into 1/2-inch slices. Place cookies 1-inch apart on greased baking sheet, parchment, or silicone baking mat and bake for 12 to 13 minutes, rotating the pan halfway through cooking time. Remove from oven and let sit on baking sheet for 2 minutes, then move to a wire rack to cool completely. Store in an airtight container for up to 1 week.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2009 2:51 am

    You are killing me with how creative you are! This is soooo cute.

  2. oneordinaryday permalink
    September 15, 2009 2:57 am

    Lonely Scrapbooker – You are too nice. Seriously. Compared to the other folks in this particular group, mine looks like a child decorated it. : ) That’s okay though. I guess I’ll be the “every man” contestant.
    ~Michelle

  3. September 15, 2009 3:17 am

    Oh, heck no! No way would I even have attempted those. First off I don’t “like” to bake cookies and second I have no patience for all those little details. With all that said “You go Girl”! I think they came out terrific and I’m certain your two goobled them up!
    ~ingrid

  4. September 15, 2009 4:15 am

    Wow that was so daring of you! They turned out awesome!

  5. September 15, 2009 4:40 am

    I love him! He’s just adorable! Love the striping, I’ll have to try that sometime. Nice work :)

  6. September 15, 2009 5:35 am

    it’s perfect–even without seeing your title, i knew it was the sneaky cheshire cat. bravo!

  7. September 15, 2009 5:54 am

    no way. these are fantastic. and we LOVE alice in wonderland over here. can’t wait to show my daughter.

  8. September 15, 2009 10:15 am

    These are heeeeelarious!

  9. September 15, 2009 11:29 pm

    Aww, that was one of my favorite movies as a kid! That cat scared me though hehe. What a creative idea these cookies are, and they look awesome! I’m so impressed! Wish I could try them, but my oven is too small – story of my life.

  10. oneordinaryday permalink
    September 19, 2009 1:31 am

    Ingrid – The cookie part wasn’t so bad. Not as quick as a bar cookie, for sure, though.

    Krystle – Yea, a little too daring though. I was definitely in over my head with this one.

    Jennie – Thank you!!

    Grace – Thanks. I’m glad you knew right away. I wasn’t sure if it was just me or not. : )

    Amber – We’d actually never watched it with the kids until now! I had to explain who he was to them. (I’ve since rented the movie though.)

    Irina – LOL Thanks.

    Lizzy – Thank you!

    ~Michelle

  11. March 30, 2010 11:55 pm

    Woooow! I love these!!

Trackbacks

  1. Alice in Wonderland Birthday Cake Ideas | Holidays and Celebrations

Leave a comment