Skip to content

Homemade applesauce

September 30, 2009

Homemade Applesauce

I’ve never even thought about making my own applesauce, but I don’t seem to be making a dent in the apples we picked.  They are sitting all over my kitchen right now, so I figured I’d give it a try.  But before I get to that, do you have any good apple recipes?  Please send me a link to whatever wonderful treat you’ve made so I can check it out.

This applesauce recipe comes from Sara Moulton, who I adore.  I learned so much about cooking from watching her when she was on the Food Network.  I wish she was my neighbor.  We’re on a first name basis with her here at my house.  All I had to say was this recipe was Sara’s and Jim knew exactly who I meant.  Anyway, it’s great applesauce.  I would suggest that you start out on the low ends of the sugar and cinnamon, taste it, then adjust to fit your liking.  I used a combination of Red Delicious, Jonathan, and Mutsu apples.  It was a pretty thick applesauce and that was a turn-off for the kids.  I think I should have added a little more water at the end and it would have been perfect.  Jim thinks it’s more like a dessert than any other applesauce he’s ever had.  I think I’m apt to agree, but don’t tell him I said so.

Recipe:  Applesauce

(a Sara Moulton recipe)

3 lbs. mixed apples, cored, peeled, and quartered

1/2 cup water  (may want to add a little more water at the end to thin the applesauce out a bit)

3/4 – 1 c. granulated sugar

juice of half a lemon

1-2 tsp. cinnamon, optional

In a large saucepan, combine the apples, 1/2 c. water and 3/4 c. sugar.  Bring liquid to a boil, then simmer the apples.  Stir occasionally and break up the apples, for about 20 minutes.  When the apples are tender, pass the apples through a food mill or pulse in a food processor until they are the consistency you want your applesauce to be.  Return to the saucepan and simmer gently for an additional 5-10 minutes, or until slightly thickened.  Add more water if needed.  Add lemon juice.  Adjust seasoning with additional sugar and cinnamon.  Serve warm or chilled.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2009 4:36 am

    I’ve seen applesauce recipes but hadn’t really thought to make my own. You know what? I think I’ve seen a slow cooker version too. Now that would be the way to go. Easy! :)
    ~ingrid

  2. September 30, 2009 5:12 am

    my grandma always makes her own applesauce, my mom always makes her own applesauce, and now i’m starting to make my own applesauce. i like this recipe (except for the optional cinnamon part–there is no other option for me!!).

  3. September 30, 2009 9:14 am

    Yum! I’ve only made homemade applesauce once, and that was several years ago. You’ve inspired me to give it another go!
    I think I only have one apple recipe on my blog. It doesn’t use a whole lot of apple, but it is certainly delicious! http://www.sugarduchess.com/?p=12

  4. September 30, 2009 10:10 am

    I love home-made apple sauce and like to put it into cakes. Yours looks delicious!

  5. September 30, 2009 12:52 pm

    Yeah! I just made some apple sauce last week and will be posting on it on Monday! Great minds in the kitchen think so much alike. Yours looks good! I love to eat it warm right from the pot. I was dreading Fall but now that I am making things like apple sauce I am growing more used to the idea that summer is gone.

  6. September 30, 2009 3:20 pm

    It’s been a while since I’ve made applesauce. This looks delicious and cinnamony.

    I don’t cook with apples much but my favorite way to use them is in tuna salad. Don’t cringe- it’s good!

    I’ve also made an apple crumb cake and a dutch apple pie (both recipes on my blog).

  7. September 30, 2009 3:49 pm

    Mmmm…homemade applesauce sounds just perfect for this time of year. We just went apple-picking last week – we couldn’t bring home any apples on the plane, but my sister-in-law (who has all the apples) will love this recipe.

  8. October 1, 2009 9:17 am

    I’ve never made applesauce, but I’d like to. I always learned a lot from Sara too! I miss the good old days of the Food Network.

  9. Castal permalink
    October 14, 2009 1:38 pm

    I have made applesauce several times, and each time I make it I wonder why I don’t do it more often.

    My recipe is just really basic though, not even any sugar or water-

    Peel and core apples and slice fairly thin. Toss in large heavy pot with a tight fitting lid. Cook on low for about 35 minutes–stirring every few minutes at the beginning until the apples start to leak out their juices.

    Once the house smells like apples I know that it is done (and the apples smoosh well with some slightly firmer bits in there for good texture. I normally add in about a tablespoon of lemon juice to 4 lbs. of apples to keep it from turning brown and to lighten up the flavor. Other than that i just sprinkle on cinnamon at the table and eat it up!

    Happy appleing!

  10. November 14, 2010 9:22 am

    I was just given an excellent recipe that I posted on my blog. It’s really easy… and yummy!

  11. March 12, 2012 1:30 am

    Thanks for the recipe:-)

Leave a comment