Skip to content

Beef stew

October 19, 2009
tags: , ,

Beef Stew

Fall’s officially here.  It’s not the pumpkin recipes or the apple picking that gives it away.  It’s the beef stew.  This stew represents shorter days, cooler weather, and the ultimate comfort food.  It’s, hands-down, the best beef stew ever.  Sam might tell you that’s an opinion, not a fact.  Kids… and school… and all this book-learnin’.  Geesh.  He’d still be pretty quick to agree with me anyway.

I’ve been making this stew for just about all my married life.  In case you’re wondering, that’s 17 years worth of stew, people.  A friend gave me the recipe ages ago and I’ve never needed to look for another.  Served with some warm buttered bread, this is the ultimate in Fall food.

Recipe:  Beef Stew

2 lbs. beef stew meat

2 Tbsp. vegetable oil

1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce

1 clove garlic, diced

1 onion, sliced

2 bay leaves

1 Tbsp. salt

1 Tbsp. sugar

1/2 tsp. paprika

1/4 tsp. pepper

dash of allspice

carrots, peeled and cubed  (amount to your liking)

red potatoes, cubed  (amount to your liking)

Brown meat in oil in a heavy pot.  Add 2 1/2 c. hot water and next 9 ingredients.  Cover and simmer for 1 1/2 hours.  Add carrots and potatoes; cover and cook an additional 35-45 minutes, until vegetables are tender.  Thicken with a flour and water mixture.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2009 3:21 pm

    This stew looks amazingly comforting. And I commend you on the photograph. Soup/stew is so hard to get a good pic of…

  2. October 19, 2009 6:57 pm

    a bowl of comfort at it’s best. Can I have a bowl please?!

  3. October 20, 2009 12:42 am

    allspice, eh? that’s an interesting addition. i imagine it really boosts up the fragrant smell of an already-aromatic comfort food. delicious!

  4. oneordinaryday permalink
    October 20, 2009 1:37 am

    Jen – Thanks!

    Monica – Stop by anytime. : )

    Grace – It’s the allspice, you’re right. It knocks it out of the park.

    ~ Michelle

  5. October 20, 2009 2:35 am

    Oh my! My boyfriend would love this, he is always begging me to make him stew. Maybe if hes lucky I will get to now with this great recipe, it looks great!

  6. October 21, 2009 8:25 am

    This sounds like the perfect thing to make on the weekend, when you want something simmering away, warm and comforting. I love beef stew. And the phrase “warm buttered bread” just about sent me over the moon. Thanks for posting!

  7. October 24, 2009 8:37 pm

    I made this stew exactly according to the recipe a few days ago. It was delicious and is already gone! A perfect stew recipe.

  8. oneordinaryday permalink
    October 27, 2009 6:36 am

    Thanks, Natalie! I’m glad you came back and posted after you made it. We all agree that this stew is one of the perks of cold weather settling in on us. : )
    ~ Michelle

  9. April 8, 2010 3:53 am

    Michelle: I love the addition of worcestershire sauce, allspice and paprika–those would really deepen the stew’s flavor. I’m going to try those in my stew next time. I remember this post –I think it’s the one that got me really thinking about beef stew this year!

Leave a comment