Skip to content

Pumpkin ice cream

October 28, 2009

Philadelphia-Style Pumpkin Ice Cream

If you like pumpkin pie, you’re bound to be a fan of pumpkin ice cream.  Picture the pie and the whipped cream all together and you’ve got this recipe.  I wanted a homemade ice cream to go with my cinnamon cream cheese pound cake, but I wanted a Philly-style ice cream so I didn’t have to do anything but mix it up and freeze it.  Even though all the flavors are in here, I wasn’t completely satisfied with the texture.  I had a heck of a time getting a nice scoop of ice cream from this.  It was sort of crumbly, for lack of a better word.  Granted, I wasn’t patient enough to let it soften up first, but if you follow this blog very much, you know I have a hard time waiting.

If I hadn’t been making this ice cream to go along with cake, I would have put some graham cracker pieces in at the last minute too.  That would have mimicked the amazing pumpkin cheesecake flavor that Ben & Jerry’s makes.  If you haven’t tried that, I highly recommend that you go buy yourself a pint as soon as possible!  In the meantime, you might want to give this recipe a try.

Recipe:  Pumpkin Ice Cream

(original recipe here)

15-oz. can of pumpkin puree (1 3/4 cup)

3/4 c. brown sugar

1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. ground ginger

1/4 tsp. nutmeg

1/8 tsp. ground cloves

2 c. heavy whipping cream

In a large bowl, mix pumpkin puree, brown sugar, and spices together.  Stir in heavy whipping cream.  Chill in an ice bath or in the refrigerator for 30 minutes.  Pour into ice cream maker and freeze according to manufacturer’s instructions.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2009 5:14 am

    O how good does that look! I am seeing soooo many amazing pumpkin recipes all over the blogosphere that I almost feel I could make something new for the next few months and never have the same thing. Gorgeous looking icecream!

  2. October 28, 2009 5:54 am

    Oh, yeah! With the temps still in the 90’s & 80’s pumpkin ice cream is perfect! I want pumpkin cheesecake ice cream, too! I hadn’t heard or seen that flavor! Oh, yeah with praline pieces! Mmmmmm!

    Thanks for sharing, Michelle!
    ~ingrid

  3. October 28, 2009 6:28 am

    I don’t have an ice cream freezer but that does look like good stuff! The ingredients sound just right for a lovely taste of autumn.

  4. October 28, 2009 7:47 am

    Your ice cream looks perfect. And I love the idea of adding graham crackers…or maybe gingersnaps? Absolutely gorgeous.

  5. October 28, 2009 10:13 am

    I love the thought of pumpkin pie and whipped cream rolled together in ice cream form! Looks great.

  6. October 28, 2009 11:21 am

    you are the best. we used to go to a pumpkin patch in Half Moon Bay that had the most amazing pumpkin ice cream, but now it is too far away. I’ve been missing it! The only problem is my ice cream maker bit the dust (used to be grandma’s). I’m so tempted to go get one right now!

  7. October 28, 2009 5:24 pm

    oh my goodness I love pumpkin ice cream but no one else in my family likes it. I might have to get a pint on Ben and Jerry’s when I go tot the store next. Thanks for the heads up!

  8. oneordinaryday permalink
    October 31, 2009 9:32 am

    Junglefrog – You’re right. I’ve bookmarked so many beautiful dishes. I’ll be stocking up on pumpkin all winter long.

    Ingrid – Now there’s no reason to brag about how warm you are! It’s miserable up here!!!

    Lisa – You don’t need an ice cream machine. Check out David Lebovitz’s blog for great instructions on how to make ice cream w/o one.

    Hungry Dog – Oooh. Gingersnaps would be a great add-in!

    Lisaiscooking – Thanks!!

    Amber – You don’t need a machine, though I really do love how easy it is. Click on David Lebovitz’s blog and get instructions to do it on your own. Easy.

    Monica – You won’t be sorry… that is some darn good ice cream. : )

    ~ Michelle

  9. s.k permalink
    August 29, 2017 11:44 am

    This is a no star recipe. I wasted all my time and ingredients to make this and throw it out. Grandchildren wanted pumpkin ice cream and my mistake was using this recipe. Don’t bother making it … disgusting. Its not even ice cream texture…or taste.

Leave a comment