Skip to content

Confetti eggs to ring in the new year

January 1, 2010
tags: ,

I suppose you might be thinking I was cooking some fancy egg dish, eh?  Nope.  Actually, I was crafting with my girl.  After our yummy egg cup breakfast yesterday,  I washed and rinsed the eggshells and set them aside for this fun little craft.  We used scraps of paper and cut them into a bunch of little pieces, then filled each egg about 1/3 full.  A little craft glue held a tissue paper circle in place to seal up each egg.

It was a blast breaking them on each other to celebrate the beginning of 2010!

(Found this idea at MarthaStewart.com.)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2010 12:42 pm

    You’re a cool mama, Michelle. My thoughts would have been those are neat but they’d make a huge mess. LOL!
    ~ingrid

  2. oneordinaryday permalink
    January 1, 2010 3:01 pm

    Ingrid – HAHA They DID make a huge mess, but they were so cool! Claudia can’t wait to do it again. : ) Try them. I think I liked them as much as she did, and it was easy to vacuum up the mess… just ask Jim. LOL
    ~ Michelle

  3. January 2, 2010 7:22 pm

    We used to make those for Easter when we were kids but I never thought to make them to ring in the new year. They do make a MESS but they’re fun (when they don’t hurt, because they can hurt!)

  4. January 11, 2010 7:44 am

    that is absolutely the cutest idea i’ve ever heard of!!! i love it!

  5. January 16, 2010 7:52 pm

    YAY for confetti eggs!!! These are a HUGE fundraiser for schools in the town I grew up in. Each class in elementary school holds a contest to see who can get the most eggs throughout the year, and at the annual carnival they sell them for a few dollars/doz. Can you imagine saving all your eggs(and cracking only the tops!?) to send to school with your child? The kids go crazy with them and absolutely love it! Very few people here in UT have actually heard/seen them before. Good for you for posting this for the world to see!! =)

  6. oneordinaryday permalink
    January 17, 2010 1:40 am

    Sarah – I have never, ever heard of a fundraiser like that before! I can’t even imagine cracking my eggs so carefully all year long, much less sending them to school with my kids!!!! Crazy! I wonder where they store all those eggs all year… That is just the nuttiest thing I can imagine a school doing. But the fun!? Oh, boy, I bet the kids just LOVE it! Thanks for sharing this! : )
    ~ Michelle

Leave a comment