Skip to content

Ultimate brownies

January 5, 2010

Ultimate Brownies

If you trace the path of this brownie, you’ll find that it’s had lots of different names.  I’m just gonna stick with “Ultimate Brownie,” since it’s totally adaptable to whatever you might want to add to it, and it’s pretty perfect all on its own too.  I know this because I’ve made it 4 different ways.  We’ve had them salted, with regular m&ms leftover from Christmas, with the new and wonderful mint m&ms, and plain.  I’ve made them with all-purpose flour, bread flour, granulated sugar, and brown sugar.  We love them every way.  I just don’t think you can mess them up.

See how fudgy and wonderful the center looks?  How thin and perfect the top crust is?  These are seriously good.  They’ve quickly become a favorite around here, evidenced by the fact that they don’t last very long.   I’m always a little relieved and little sad to see them go all at the same time.  Know what I mean?

Recipe:  Ultimate Brownies

(inspired by Ice Cream Before Dinner)

4 1-oz. squares of unsweetened chocolate

1/2 c. of semi-sweet chocolate chips

3 Tbsp. unsweetened cocoa powder

1 c. unsalted butter

5 eggs

2 3/4 c. granulated sugar  (I’ve also used a combination of granulated sugar and light brown sugar.  Either way is great.)

1 Tbsp. pure vanilla extract

1 1/2 c. all-purpose flour or bread flour   (I’ve baked them both ways.  Both are delicious.)

1 tsp. kosher salt

Grease a 9×13″ baking pan.  Line the bottom with parchment or foil and lightly grease.

In a small saucepan over low heat, melt chocolate squares, chocolate chips, cocoa powder, and butter.  While that is melting, beat eggs, sugar, and vanilla on high speed for 10 minutes.  When chocolate mixture has melted and combined, and sugar mixture has been beaten for 10 minutes, add the melted chocolate, flour, and salt to the mixing bowl.  Stir just until blended.  Let the batter sit on the counter for 20 minutes before pouring into your prepared pan.  (I’ve waited the 20 minutes and I’ve also just popped them in the oven right away.  They’re always yummy, but I haven’t come to a good conclusion yet about why the recipe says to let them sit 20 minutes.) While brownies are waiting, preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Drop pan on counter a couple times for air bubbles to escape.

Bake for 24-28 minutes and test one inch from side of pan with a toothpick.  When some moist crumbs remain, remove to a cooling rack.  Cool completely before cutting.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2010 6:11 am

    Nothing beats a good brownie–and the ultimate brownie…oh my! These look incredible.

  2. January 5, 2010 7:27 am

    :) They sound perfect for topping with some yummy vanilla ice cream!
    ~ingrid

  3. January 5, 2010 10:37 am

    crusty yet chewy and dense and completely focused on the chocolate–yep, this is an aptly-named recipe. :)

  4. January 5, 2010 3:17 pm

    Ultimate, yes indeed! I like your use of that pan to get all those yummy flavors. Even harder to stop eating when you have all those flavors to try. I like the idea of the salted ones. Were they topped with salt or was the salt in the batter?

  5. January 6, 2010 4:58 am

    Holy cow! I just scrolled down your blog, and it looks like I missed A LOT of yummy stuff while I was away!

  6. January 6, 2010 5:49 am

    They sure look absolutely delicious…. and imagine I haven’t had dinner yet so am slightly in need of food now, so that makes it look even better!

  7. January 6, 2010 2:08 pm

    I just like them plain but I’m going to have to try these out because I’ve yet to find a brownie recipe I really like.

  8. January 6, 2010 7:38 pm

    This definitely sounds ultimate! I’ve never tried sitting out the batter before baking; this definitely sounds intriguing :D

  9. January 7, 2010 4:10 am

    Ultimate brownies? Yes please…I love that you could try all different types. I will definitely be making these soon, I love brownies.

  10. Danielle Lawton permalink
    March 6, 2011 6:00 pm

    Had our 2nd annual bake-off at school. This year was brownies. I made these amazing brownies and WON FIRST PLACE!!!

    Everyone who tried one throughout the day loved them. They were pretty easy to make as well.

    Thanks for the great recipe!!

  11. oneordinaryday permalink
    March 6, 2011 7:46 pm

    Woo hoo, Dani! I knew you were gonna win it! : )
    xo

Leave a comment