Skip to content

Garlic parmesan popcorn

January 13, 2010

Garlic Parmesan Popcorn

We are huge fans of popcorn around here, and you may have noticed that I’ve posted a few recipes for flavored popcorn on this blog over the past few months.  Plain ole’ movie theater popcorn with lots of butter and salt is tops in my book, but I like to see what I can do with my hot air popcorn too.  (So far, the cinnamon popcorn is absolutely my favorite.  No contest!)  But this garlic parmesan popcorn is pretty good too.  I wouldn’t want to sit and eat a whole bowl full all by myself… not that I’ve ever been known to do that or anything.

Anyway.

All right.  Yes, I can easily eat a whole giant bowl of popcorn all by myself.  I may have a time or two.  But really, I don’t think I could do it with this one.  This is the kind of popcorn you share with someone.  And preferably someone who really likes Parmesan cheese, because it’s definitely the focus here.

Recipe:  Garlic Parmesan Popcorn

2/3 c. unpopped popcorn

3 Tbsp. butter

2 cloves of garlic, finely minced

1/2 c. grated Parmesan cheese

1/2 tsp. chili powder

sprinkling of kosher salt, optional  (The cheese gives the popcorn plenty of salty flavor, so if you might want to taste it before adding salt.)

Pop the popcorn using whatever method you like, or use a bag of microwave popcorn.  While popcorn is popping, melt butter in a small saucepan.  When butter is nearly all melted, toss in minced garlic and cook on low for about a minute.  In a small bowl, mix cheese and chili powder.  Once the popcorn is done, pour it into a large bowl and pour the butter mixture over it.  Toss lightly.  Sprinkle the cheese mixture on and toss to coat.  You can eat it now, but to make it crunchier and bring out the flavor of the cheese, I poured my popcorn onto a baking sheet and baked it at 350 degrees for 8-10 minutes.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2010 5:15 pm

    Really what’s not to like about this? Popcorn, yum! Parm cheese, Yum! Garlic, YUM! :)

    Btw, I got an awesome popcorn cookbook for Christmas. Now whenever I look through it I’ll be thinking of you.
    ~ingrid

  2. January 13, 2010 8:27 pm

    I make a ersion with parm and black peppe and mr. H won’t go near the stuff. more for me.

    I still need to try that cinnamon popcorn of yours!

  3. January 14, 2010 1:45 am

    although this would no doubt be tasty and a new flavor to try, i have my doubts that it could top your cinnamon version. it’s just supreme. :)

  4. January 14, 2010 3:34 am

    I have yet to try making my own popcorn, but when I do, I’ll be sure to give your cinnamon version a try (for myself), along with this one for the mister!

  5. Lonely Scrapbooker permalink
    January 14, 2010 6:22 am

    Hey you changed your blog header again!
    This sounds yummy. I love popcorn but it gets boring sometimes. This is just the thing to make it interesting. My mouth is watering now… .

  6. January 16, 2010 2:05 am

    All your photos make me want to much your goodies! Michelle, this popcorn looks great, I bet it smells awesome. Share? That would be very difficult!

  7. February 1, 2010 12:37 am

    Oh my. . . . I can’t wait to try this one! I’m supposed to be packing today, but I might take a break and make some popcorn! YUMMY!

  8. September 17, 2010 1:00 pm

    Thanks so much for leaving a comment on my blog post. I printed out your cinnamon popcorn recipe yesterday and plan to make some this weekend. It sounds AMAZING. The only reason we didn’t make it yesterday is that I ran out of time.

    We’re eating the garlic parmesan popcorn as I write this and with a few tweaks, it’s delicious.

    Thanks again for the recipes.

    Warmly,
    Nicole

Leave a comment