Skip to content

Nutella mocha hot chocolate

February 5, 2010

Nutella Mocha Hot Chocolate

So today is World Nutella Day.  Until a year ago, I’d never even tasted Nutella so I didn’t really know what all the fuss was about.  Since then, I’ve become a fan.  This is some seriously good stuff!  I mean, c’mon… if you can have chocolate for breakfast, then this has to be a good thing, right?

We are heading into a weekend of crazy snowfall amounts here in PA, and that calls for something warm to drink.  I think Nutella hot chocolate is the perfect way to celebrate World Nutella Day, Friday, and a weekend that will probably contain no basketball.  (Not that I don’t love seeing my boy play ball, but 5 times a week has tired us out.  A weekend off would be really nice right about now.)

Recipe:  Nutella Mocha Hot Chocolate

(This is for one serving…. simply double, triple, etc. to accommodate your chilly family.)

1 c. milk

2-3 heaping Tbsp. Nutella

1/2 tsp. instant coffee granules, optional

Whisk ingredients together in a saucepan and heat over low heat until desired temperature.  Don’t forget the marshmallows or whipped cream!

Need more ways to enjoy Nutella?  Here are more recipes I’ve posted:

Nutella Pinwheel Cookies

Nutella Thumbprint Cookies

Nutella Fudge Brownies

14 Comments leave one →
  1. youngwifey permalink
    February 5, 2010 10:03 am

    Great idea! And I’m also from PA, so I’m not running to the supermarket for another jar of Nutella (Hubster polished our jar off last week).

  2. February 5, 2010 11:09 am

    This is genius!!!!! I cant wait to make! I didnt know it was national Nutella day either!

  3. February 6, 2010 5:32 am

    Ooh, that sounds delicious!

  4. February 6, 2010 7:42 am

    Glad someone else remembered World Nutella Day.

    Next up: International Waffle Day on March 25th. (Not to be confused with US Waffle Day, August 24th.

  5. February 6, 2010 10:43 am

    think of all that time you lost not knowing nutella. perhaps that’s a blessing in disguise. :)
    this is a unique and tasty use for the fine product–bravo!

  6. February 6, 2010 12:56 pm

    Everytime I go to the store I stand and look at the jar of Nutella and wonder if it’s worth the price. After reading this recipe for Nutella Mocha Hot Chocolate I want to run out and get one! It’s been so cold here and I love a nice warm coffee drink! Can’t wait to try it!

  7. February 7, 2010 2:13 pm

    Very nice! Wish I had used this recipe on my ski trip…..never too late to have a steamy mug of hot cocoa (or a hot nutella mocha!)

  8. February 9, 2010 5:03 pm

    Like you I had no clue about nutella until I started reading blogs. While it’s not my fave it does have it’s place in pound cake,muffins, and maybe hot chocolate.

    Btw, amen to a weekend with no sports! How was it? I’m waiting for mine. :)
    ~ingrid

  9. February 18, 2010 6:25 pm

    so bummed I missed national nutella day but so happy to have found your blog with this super yummy recipe…can’t wait to try it!

  10. August 26, 2011 1:06 pm

    Why am I just seeing this now? Love it!!

Trackbacks

  1. Bleeding Espresso » World Nutella Day 2010 Round Up: Part 2
  2. Sweet Dreams Are Made of This « FEED YOUR INNER CHEF
  3. NUTELLA LOVE Recipes « i FinD Recipes Online
  4. Sweet Dreams Are Made of This

Leave a comment