Skip to content

Cheeseburger macaroni

April 27, 2010

Cheeseburger Macaroni

Okay, I feel a little like a dork posting this, but here it is anyway.  Nothing fancy.  Definitely not fussy.  But this is one of those meals that I can have on the table in under 30 minutes and I even tend to get an excited “I love you, Mom!”  Go figure.  It is absolutely the easiest thing to throw together because I always have the ingredients on hand.  And it does remind me of a cheeseburger.  You can use whatever pasta you like, but I typically use whole wheat or Ronzoni Smart Pasta, because we eat a lot of pasta and I want to at least know that we’re getting something good out of it.  So by adding a side of your favorite veggie, you’ve got a pretty quick go-to dinner.

{one year ago:  strawberry oreo truffles}

Recipe:  Cheeseburger Macaroni

1 1/2 – 2 lbs. ground beef

1 small onion, diced

1 Tbsp. Emeril’s Essence original seasoning  (You can buy a jar or make your own with this recipe.)

1 box elbow macaroni pasta

1 29-oz. can tomato sauce

salt and pepper to taste

2 c. shredded cheddar cheese

Add ground beef and onion to a large skillet or pot, along with Emeril’s Essence, a pinch of salt, and a few grinds of fresh pepper.  Cook until meat is no longer pink.  Drain meat mixture, if necessary, to get rid of any extra grease.  In the meantime, bring a pot of salted water to a boil and cook macaroni according to package directions.

When pasta is done, drain; then add pasta and tomato sauce to beef mixture.  Turn temperature to low-medium and cook until sauce is heated.  Add cheddar cheese and stir until melted and combined.


12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2010 5:58 am

    WOW!!! This looks INCREDIBLE. I am usually not a fan of macaroni and cheese or chop suey…but this looks like the perfect combination. Full of flavor. I just might try it. Thanks for sharing! YUMMM!!!!!

  2. April 27, 2010 7:46 am

    Ummm…You’re not a dork. This looks delicious and easy! I am totally making it with vegetarian “meat” crumbles. Yum!

  3. April 27, 2010 12:10 pm

    I am going to have to try this one out on my gang here. Looks so simple and filling!

  4. April 27, 2010 12:44 pm

    Look at that cheese!!!!! I want this now! Goodness!

  5. April 27, 2010 9:31 pm

    do you see those strings of melty cheese? do you? no, my friend, you are certainly not a dork for posting this. :)

  6. April 28, 2010 3:51 am

    WOW, that does look GOOOOD and I don’t really like ground beef! I make something similar for my gang and it’s usually welcomed with smiles. I’m gonna try your recipe.

    Btw, you’re not a dork…you’re a cheeseball! Hee-hee! :)
    ~ingrid

  7. April 29, 2010 5:56 pm

    YUM! Reminds me of chili-mac. so good and cheesy!

  8. May 5, 2010 8:18 am

    My kids will love that!

  9. May 8, 2010 6:57 am

    Made this the other night when I couldn’t think of what to make… YUM!

  10. Honeydip74 permalink
    March 24, 2011 7:12 pm

    I tweeked this recipe a little, but I really liked it because it was simple and easy. I added bacon and sour cream to mine and it’s soooo yummy! Thanks for the post!

  11. Molly permalink
    January 1, 2017 12:46 pm

    I don’t see how much paste should be in it…? Am I missing something?

Trackbacks

  1. National Cheeseburger Day: 5 Unique Recipes! | Food For Thought

Leave a comment