Skip to content

Mint and lime iced green tea

April 28, 2010

Mint and Lime Iced Green Tea

I need some sunshine and warm weather!  It doesn’t look like I’m gonna get it yet today, so I’m making my own summer in a glass.  I love green tea (and the health benefits that come with it) and limes definitely add a kick of summertime flavor.  It’s a really good combination, and it’ll be even better when I can sit out on the deck to drink it.

{one year ago:  chocolate mousse cake}

Recipe:  Mint and Lime Iced Green Tea

(adapted slightly from chow.com)

8 c. water, divided

8 green tea bags  (I use Celestial Seasonings because they participate in Ethical Trading)

1 bunch of fresh mint

1 c. granulated sugar

1/2 c. lime juice

ice, mint sprigs and lime slices for garnish

Place 4 c. water in a medium pot and bring to a simmer over high heat.  Once water is simmering, remove from heat and add tea bags and mint.  Cover and let steep for 10 minutes.

Once tea has steeped, remove tea bags and add sugar.  Stir to dissolve sugar.  Pour in remaining 4 c. cold water.  Chill tea in refrigerator.  Stir in lime juice and serve over ice with mint sprigs and lime slices for garnish.  Add more sugar, if desired.

33 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2010 3:35 pm

    What a great idea! I’m already an iced tea addict, so adding lime and mint will be great additions. Thanks for sharing this recipe. What a GORGEOUS photo.

  2. April 28, 2010 9:25 pm

    I’ve never seen green tea and limes used together, but sounds like they would be a perfect match!

    I’m waiting for some warmer weather too!

  3. April 28, 2010 10:40 pm

    ooh-weeee, this sounds so refreshing and delightful! frankly, when i’m thinking about things that perk me up, both lime and fresh mint come to mind. great combo!

  4. April 29, 2010 12:12 am

    beautiful photo – can’t wait to make this!

  5. April 29, 2010 3:20 am

    I Love Lime, Mint & Tea! Great Combo! Beautiful Photos!

  6. April 29, 2010 4:23 am

    I’m envisioning sitting on a porch sipping this iced green tea right now! These photos are STUNNING.

  7. April 29, 2010 4:47 am

    I did almost this exact thing last weekend. I brewed a pitcher of peppermint tea using 3 bags of Yogi Peppermint Tea, added fresh mint from the garden and slices of lime. I didn’t add any sugar. It wasn’t as pretty as yours though. I need to get a nice pitcher like yours instead of my aqua tupperware one. I’m now making it every other day and bringing a bottle of it to work with me.

    Beautiful photo!

  8. April 29, 2010 11:27 am

    nice photos! I think lime is definitely an underutilized ingredient in beverages today. The combination of mint and lime together with green tea is so uplifting that surprised it’s not served in more restaurants and coffee shops.

    the other ingredients I find quite refreshing as iced tea is hibiscus, which I wrote about in my blog yesterday (see kopiusteas.blogspot.com). but overall I think lemon and lime based iced teas don’t require as much sugar as hibiscus.

    Ron

  9. April 29, 2010 2:41 pm

    What a beautiful, refreshing photo! This would pair awesome with the Fiesta Pasta I have over at FFC. I love lime & green tea. xo

  10. April 29, 2010 5:11 pm

    This must be so refreshing. And warmer weather is on the way!

  11. April 29, 2010 5:57 pm

    You need to watermark these before they get ripped off! These photos are gorgeous Michelle. ANd you said *I* was the foodie :-)

  12. Kristin permalink
    April 30, 2010 7:12 am

    I made a batch right away, & my kids & I love it. I’m sure we’ll be making it regularly until our mint poops out later this summer. Thanks!

  13. May 1, 2010 5:10 am

    Wow this looks good, I wonder if it would be just as good without the sugar?

  14. May 1, 2010 8:43 am

    This is pretty sweet. I used to be hooked on the cans of iced tea, and didn’t realize until I received an actual glass of iced tea in a restaurant that my cans were more like sugar water. Yummy sugar water that I still like to drink, ahah.

    I like how you’ve combined green tea with mint and limes ;] At my house, we’ve always made our “lemonades” with limes. This looks yummy.

  15. May 11, 2010 5:09 am

    Love the combination. It looks and sounds so refreshing. This is definite addition ot my picnic repetoire and summer drinks. Lime just so happens to be one of my favorite flavors!

  16. April 19, 2011 2:04 am

    Hey, this is really refreshing. Loved your blog. Can i use this image of yours ? I am an avid Green Tea drinker and this seems like a totally new way to start drinking Green Tea all over again. Thanks :)

  17. December 9, 2012 2:47 am

    Having read this I believed it was rather enlightening.
    I appreciate you spending some time and effort to put this informative article together.
    I once again find myself spending a lot of time both reading and posting comments.

    But so what, it was still worth it!

  18. July 11, 2013 12:50 pm

    Hey there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyways, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be
    book-marking and checking back frequently!

  19. July 11, 2013 1:01 pm

    You need to take part in a contest for one
    of the greatest blogs online. I’m going to recommend this web site!

  20. December 4, 2018 7:21 am

    It looks very fresh and healthy. Nice combination of natural ingredients.

Trackbacks

  1. Green Tea Hp – Behind the Scenes Intro
  2. Weight Loss Teas Has anyone ever tried the green tea diet?Weight Loss Tea
  3. What is the best whole house water filtration system available?
  4. Kotanyi prieskoniai » Blog Archive » Kaip susigrąžinti Energiją ?
  5. A Mountain of Mint « Shaecation
  6. Weekend Treats | Grey Likes Nesting
  7. Meet a Blogger Monday – Michelle from One Ordinary Day « made by mike
  8. Top 10 Iced Tea Recipes - Decadent Dining Daily
  9. Weekend Ideas: Feel Energized | Zulal Ates
  10. Weekend Ideas: Feel Energized | A Fashion Fairytale
  11. I Completely Changed My Body in 3 Months – Lippies and Lillies
  12. 5 Beautifying Summer Drinks - MichellePhan.com – MichellePhan.com
  13. Acne Fighting Foods + Recipes – The Beauty Blot

Leave a comment