Skip to content

Homemade three musketeers

July 10, 2010

Homemade Three Musketeers Bars

Sam was walking through the room when I pulled up a post from Let’s Dish where she made homemade Three Musketeers bars.  You would have thought there was a magnetic force pulling that boy to my computer screen.  He got so excited and has been hounding me about them ever since.  With such a small list of ingredients and no baking involved, how could I possibly say no?  Sam made these pretty much on his own, with me just kind of being there if he needed me.

Even though the recipe couldn’t be any easier, we had power outages on and off that entire day.  This might be a no-bake candy, but you still need a microwave, and those pesky appliances require electricity.  We were patient, though, and that patience was rewarded with a really good version of a Three Musketeers bar.

Now it isn’t an exact match, but it’s surprisingly good.  I admit to being a little doubtful that plain old Cool Whip could become a candy bar, but after whipping up the melted chocolate with it, it changed completely.  Together, the mixture became very marshmallow-like and pillowy.  We were all very impressed with how it tasted at that point, so we were pretty eager to get them frozen and dipped.

Here’s what our taste testers had to say:

Sam ~ “Simply easy and delicious!”
Claudia ~ “It’s better than Peppermint Patties.  Actually, I might be eating this all day, only if Mama lets me.”
Adam ~ “Thumbs up!  It’s the most delightful chocolate I ever had.”

Recipe:  Homemade Three Musketeers Bars

(Sam discovered this recipe at Let’s Dish.  We opted to use chocolate candy coating instead of chocolate chips to coat the bars.  To coat candies using chocolate chips, please check out the original recipe.)

2 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips

1 (8 oz.) tub frozen whipped topping, thawed

2 c. chocolate candy coating wafers, available in candy making dept.

Line an 8″ square baking pan with wax paper.  In a medium bowl, melt chocolate chips in the microwave at 50% power for 30 seconds.  Stir, and return to microwave for 30 more seconds at 50% power.  If chocolate still isn’t melted, continue heating in microwave at 10 second intervals at 50% power until smooth.  Using an electric mixer on high speed, beat melted chocolate for 30 seconds.  Add whipped topping to melted chocolate and beat until well combined and fluffy, 30-60 seconds more.  Spread chocolate mixture evenly into prepared pan with an offset spatula.

Place in freezer for 30 minutes.  Remove candy from pan and cut into squares.  Return to freezer for another 30 minutes.

Melt candy wafers in a microwave-safe bowl following package directions.  Dip frozen squares and place on baking tray lined with wax paper.  Allow chocolate coating to set up in the refrigerator or freezer.  Store in an airtight container in refrigerator or freezer.  (We loved them best right out of the freezer!)

12 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2010 3:08 pm

    I suppose if I was drawn to chocolate as much as Sam is I’d be all over this as well. :) Can I get a vanilla version? :)

    Claudia calls you Mama? So sweet. Babygirl calls me mama, too. I love it.
    ~ingrid

  2. July 10, 2010 3:38 pm

    How more simple could they be? Wonderful!!!!!

  3. July 10, 2010 3:57 pm

    I saw these on Let’s Dish, too!! I wonder if these could be made with homemade whipped cream without any problems. I love the last photo!

  4. July 11, 2010 1:15 am

    Ruby Otis made another appearance!

    These look good. I went over to Let’s Dish and got sucked in. I read the recipe and was doubtflu of how it would come together but they look delicious.

    I also like that you used candy melts for coating them because I’m terrible at tempering chocolate :-)

  5. July 11, 2010 6:27 am

    how awesome! i love that it’s so simple and yet the results are so satisfying! great work, folks. :)

  6. July 11, 2010 1:55 pm

    I could see eating quite a few of these!

  7. July 13, 2010 1:22 pm

    Sounds awesome! Who doesn’t love candy bars?

  8. oneordinaryday permalink
    July 18, 2010 5:52 pm

    Ingrid – Sam suggests that you sub the semi-sweet chips with white chocolate chips and see how you like it. : )

    Jennifer – Thank you!

    Memoria – I think the consistency of the cool whip had something to do with the whole thing. I hope you let us know if real whipped cream works.

    Monica – Yep, Ruby Otis seems to be at our feet no matter what we’re doing. LOL

    Grace – I loved how simple the recipe is too. I like when Sam can bake on his own. Makes him so proud. : )

    Hungry Dog – Oh, yeah. Very hard to eat just one. Good thing they’re bite-sized!

    Karly – Thanks, and I totally agree. What’s not to love?

    ~ Michelle

  9. July 24, 2010 1:43 pm

    Made these last night and they were fantastic! My company loved them. Will try a white chocolate version soon and let you know. Can you believe I was going to take a picture of them today and my family ate them while I was at the gym! Oh well! I also thought the filling alone would make a delicious cake filling.

  10. Suellen Lee permalink
    August 25, 2010 12:13 pm

    When I read over this recipe, the only thing that I thought would make it better was the layer of caramel that the candy bar has, so—–I “cooked” the can of sweetened condensed milk (to make the caramel) and spread it over the chocolate layer and viola! a nearly perfect rendition of the candy bar. These are addictive and should come with a warning label. Thank you for a wonderful ending to any meal!

  11. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 25, 2010 5:18 pm

    Suellen Lee – That’s so funny, because just a couple days ago, my son asked me to turn these candies into milky way bars by adding a layer of caramel. :) Glad to know they’re gonna taste great!
    ~ Michelle

  12. Stephanie permalink
    July 28, 2011 4:07 pm

    Did anyone try the white chocolate version?

Leave a comment