Skip to content

Good ole’ fashioned dirt cups

July 24, 2010

Dirt Cups

Who can resist a good ole’ fashioned dirt cup?  While Claudia was getting ready for bed the other night she decided she’d like to make some dirt cups.  And why not?  They’re easy to make and fun to eat.  The next day we stopped at the store for the ingredients, including a selection of gummy worms, and got to work.

My baby girl did all the mixing and stirring and spooning.  And all the bowl licking too.  {Monica, she definitely licked the bowl good!} Both kids decided that dirt cups were what they wanted to have for lunch today.  Now I could go on and on about what a health-conscious mama I am and how I forbid my babes to eat pudding and crushed cookies for lunch, but…  C’mon.  It’s summer and it’s 97 degrees out and if they want a dirt cup for lunch, so be it.  Who can argue in this heat?  It is mostly a dairy product anyway, right?

I swear, I’ll make a healthy dinner!

{one year ago:  croissant bread pudding}

Recipe:  Dirt Cups

2 c. milk

1 (4 serving) box of chocolate instant pudding mix

1 tub of frozen whipped topping, thawed

18-20 chocolate sandwich cookies

assorted gummy worms or bugs

Pulse cookies in food processor until they are ground to fine crumbs.  Set aside.  Pour milk into large bowl and add pudding mix.  Whisk briskly for 2 minutes.  Gently fold in whipped topping until no white streaks remain.

Place a heaping spoonful of cookie crumbs into the bottoms of each glass or cup.  Fill most of the glass or cup with the pudding mixture.  Top with another spoonful of cookie crumbs.  You can use a straw to poke a hole in the top of the dirt to help make a space to insert the end of the gummy worms.

Store in refrigerator.  Makes 8-10 dirt cups, depending on the size of your glasses.  This is also great to make in a clean sand bucket and to use the shovel to scoop it out.

**Sand Cups are fun too!  Instead of using chocolate sandwich cookies, use vanilla ones or vanilla wafers; and replace the chocolate pudding with vanilla pudding mix.**

20 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2010 4:44 pm

    Sand cups sound too cute, but you wouldn’t use gummy worms in the sand would you? Little crabbies would be adorable!

    I love dirt cups, butmostly because it gives me an excuse to eat gummy worms. ha!

  2. July 24, 2010 6:24 pm

    Totally brings me back to camp days during the summer!!! so cute!

  3. ezsrecipes permalink
    July 24, 2010 7:19 pm

    Oh man these look awesome. Brings out the child in any grown adult, right? :)

  4. July 24, 2010 8:38 pm

    What a cute idea! Would be great for kid’s birthday parties too.

  5. July 25, 2010 1:18 pm

    Yay! Sand cups are an awesome idea….can’t wait to give ’em a try.
    ~ingrid

  6. July 25, 2010 1:32 pm

    Oh wow, I love this! You just gave me a wonderful idea to make for my nephews birthday soon :)

  7. July 25, 2010 5:58 pm

    you certainly don’t have to be a kid to appreciate these adorable little treats!

  8. July 26, 2010 12:45 am

    I love these!!! I am definitely going to have to make these when we have the boys visit next. I am sure they will be a hit!!

  9. July 26, 2010 9:40 am

    I’ve never even heard of dirt cups, but these made me squeal! Sure looks like so much fun :D

  10. July 26, 2010 9:54 am

    This looks so neat! Definitely something that kids would like making. And adults who chose to never grow up ;]

  11. July 26, 2010 4:41 pm

    Okay, I absolutely love these!!! My son is going to love them. The photographs are so beautiful as well.

  12. July 26, 2010 5:33 pm

    So fun!

  13. July 26, 2010 7:28 pm

    The gummy worms are genius!

  14. July 27, 2010 10:25 am

    What a delicious and fun idea!! Love it!

  15. August 2, 2010 9:38 am

    lol. i must hide this post away from my nephews. they are bound to pester me to make these!

  16. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 4, 2010 9:07 am

    Monica – I like poking those little drink umbrellas into sand cups. Lay down a couple Teddy Grahams and you’ve got yourself a beach. : )

    Jennifer – Never went to camp, but it reminds me of teaching. Kids love this!

    EZ – Jim and I can attest to grown-ups liking them as much as the kids.

    Homebake Queen – Wouldn’t it be fun at a gardening or construction party?

    Ingrid – Sand cups are cute too. Naturally, Claudia would pick the chocolate version though.

    Alisa – Great! Hope he loves them as much as my kids do.

    ~ Michelle

  17. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 4, 2010 9:13 am

    Grace – Thanks!

    Delicieux – Oh, they’ll be a hit, for sure. Have fun!

    ovenhaven – Really?? You’ve been missing out! : )

    Fattydumpling – I have to say, the kids liked making them, but we liked eating them too.

    naomi – Thanks for the kind words about the pics. Hope your son likes them!

    Molly – Thank you!

    Asia Correspondent – Thanks – you should have seen the gummy selection she had to choose from!
    Fun!

    Jennifer – Thank you!

    Amy – : ) Your nephews would love them. They were a big hit here.

    ~ Michelle

  18. April 8, 2012 2:25 pm

    Hi! I am posting a dirt cup recipe in the culinary section of voxxi.com and i was wondering if i could use your image with proper credit? thank you! laura@MOMables.com

  19. Lauren permalink
    March 12, 2013 9:56 am

    Hello. I also have interest in using your photos for the magazine I work for. Can you please email me at calendar at njfamily dot com? Thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. Making a Worm Compost Bin | tea house

Leave a comment