Skip to content

Spaghetti pizza

January 20, 2011

Spaghetti Pizza

This is one of those quick weekday meals that takes a couple of standbys and shakes them up a bit.  The talk around our dinner table was all about what this meal should be called.  LaPizza?  Pasagna?  It’s a little like spaghetti, a little like lasagna, and a little like pizza.  And it was nice to have some leftover in the fridge the next day for lunch.  Spagheftovers, anyone?

{one year ago:  cup cakes}
{two years ago:  oreo truffle snowman pops}

Recipe:  Spaghetti Pizza

(adapted from Allrecipes)

3/4 of a box of spaghetti, broken into 2″ pieces

1 egg

1/4 c. milk

2 c. shredded mozzarella cheese or “pizza blend” cheese, divided

1-26.5 oz. can spaghetti sauce

1/2 tsp. kosher salt

1/4 tsp. garlic powder

1 tsp. dried oregano

1/2 tsp. dried basil

pizza toppings, such as pepperoni, sausage, etc.

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil and preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Spray a 9×13″ lasagna pan with cooking spray and set aside.

Cook spaghetti pieces according to package directions for al dente; drain and return to pot.  Set aside.  Beat an egg in a medium bowl.  Add milk and 1/2 c. mozzarella cheese.  Stir in salt and garlic powder.  Pour mixture over cooked spaghetti and mix well.  Transfer to baking dish and spread evenly over bottom.  Bake for 15 minutes.

Remove dish from oven and lower temperature to 350 degrees.  Spread sauce over spaghetti.  Sprinkle with oregano and basil.  Top with remaining mozzarella cheese and pizza toppings.  Return to oven and bake for 25-30 minutes, or until edges are bubbling.  Let stand 5 minutes before cutting.

23 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2011 7:23 am

    Ooooh it looks slightly evil! In a good way of course :P

  2. January 20, 2011 7:26 am

    I’m drooling just reading about this. Will be making it soon!

    http://www.seasonedwithyouth.com

  3. January 20, 2011 7:29 am

    I love the originality of your super yummy dinner.
    :-) Mandy

  4. michael permalink
    January 20, 2011 8:27 am

    Ok, you just rocked my spaghetti/pizza lovin’ world.

  5. January 20, 2011 8:30 am

    This is like my spaghetti pie, but i never thought about totally topping it with cheese and pepperoni like a pizza – genius! I can’t wait to try this out!

  6. January 20, 2011 8:48 am

    I have a family friend who always makes a similar recipe with her leftover spaghetti and sauce. I don’t think it would take much to convince my family to try this one out. :-)

  7. January 20, 2011 10:23 am

    LOVE this! So easy and adorable :D

  8. January 20, 2011 10:24 am

    Made a spaghetti frittata the other day. This looks so much better than mine!

  9. January 20, 2011 1:10 pm

    This looks great–maybe a good one for doubling and freezing for later?

  10. oneordinaryday permalink
    January 20, 2011 4:41 pm

    Shannon – This would be a great dish to freeze. It’s much like lasagna in that way. Great idea!
    ~ Michelle

  11. January 21, 2011 2:18 am

    Oh my goodness.. This is like a combination of all my favourite foods in one. YUM!!!!

  12. January 21, 2011 8:07 am

    Oh this looks so good! We love meal like this since no one complains, everyone’s happy!

  13. January 21, 2011 9:09 am

    I’ve never made spaghetti pizza, but I keep meaning to try it to use up leftover spaghetti.

  14. January 21, 2011 3:29 pm

    I love pizza and pasta = perfect combo of each!

  15. January 21, 2011 6:35 pm

    Oh my goodness, that look so decadent! I’m watching my waistline in preparation for bikini season, but I would love to get my hands on something like this on an “off” day!

  16. January 21, 2011 11:48 pm

    This is one of my favs from you! So cool and so fun!

  17. January 22, 2011 1:06 am

    I bet your kids LOVE your tasty dinners! This looks so yummy! And completely solves the pasta or pizza dilemma we have some nights.

  18. January 22, 2011 3:17 pm

    tasty and clever–it’s a mish-mash of my two favorite italian-esque foods!

  19. January 24, 2011 5:53 pm

    Ummm…yes! I think I’ll be having this some time this week. Thanks for sharing!

  20. January 24, 2011 6:59 pm

    I’ve made a similar “pie” before and it was good, but the addition of pizza flavors makes this so much more fun and tasty. Gotta try this for the bf for sure.

  21. February 12, 2011 8:29 pm

    If there is already a lot of recipes on pizza … more efficient if we make it his own. That way we can be free to eat as much and costs less … I love pizza and will try to create your own.

    Cooking Recipes

  22. February 22, 2011 7:54 pm

    I just made this for supper tonight and everyone loved it. Which for our family is very rare !! We have a very picky 3 year old but she cleaned her plate. This is a keeper for us ~ Thanks !

  23. Dani permalink
    June 12, 2011 6:55 pm

    Made this tonight with Rylie…We all loved it!!! Super easy and very delicious!

Leave a comment