Skip to content

Oreo truffles. Yes we can.

January 20, 2009

My inspiration for these snowman pops came from a variety of places.  First, and most important, from President Barack Obama.  I have never felt so inspired by a politician to be better and to do better.  I have been moved to action.  I have volunteered, I have registered voters, I have been encouraged and excited and energized.  This is an awesome day.

I also drew some inspiration from my 9-year-old son, who was on board with Obama even before I was.  He wanted to celebrate today with a special treat.  William-Sonoma and Bakerella can be credited with the idea and the recipe, respectively.

Recipe:  Peanut Butter Oreo Snowmen Truffle Pops:

1 package Peanut Butter Double Stuf Oreos

1 8 oz. package of cream cheese

white candy coating

Begin by putting the cookies in the food processor and and pulsing them into fine crumbs.  Pour into a bowl; add the cream cheese and thoroughly combine by smooshing the cream cheese with a big spoon until no white color remains.  Roll into 1″ balls for the bottoms of the snowmen.  Roll slightly smaller balls for the heads.  Place the heads on the bodies with a slightly firm touch so they stick.  Chill in the refrigerator for a few minutes to firm up.  Insert lollipop sticks through the snowmen before dipping.  Follow the directions on the white candy coating package to melt candy coating.  Dip snowmen and transfer to waxed paper.  Chill for about 30 minutes until set, then follow the same procedure to melt some chocolate candy melts.  Using the flat end of a skewer, dip in chocolate and add eyes and buttons.  Chill again to firm up chocolate.  Enjoy!

Oreo Truffle Pops

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. limeandlemon permalink
    January 20, 2009 4:09 pm

    looks cute … nice idea .. Laila.. http://limeandlemon.wordpress.com/

  2. January 20, 2009 8:59 pm

    so adorable on a day to celebrate! i hope you don’t mind but i posted your picture on my blog and linked back to you. cheers.

    kim @ head of the table

  3. Dani permalink
    January 20, 2009 10:07 pm

    They are completly adorable. I may have to try them myself. It was a great day…history in the making.

  4. January 21, 2009 2:21 am

    ahhhh! too cute! i love them!!

  5. January 21, 2009 10:16 am

    Aww, cute and delicious too!

  6. joeandgreg permalink
    January 23, 2009 12:05 am

    Shell,
    having seen your work in pictures, both Joe & I offer our sincere apologies for having made fun of your work while Christmas shopping with Kathryn. You ARE a master photographer (and baker) and everything you have made looks incredible on the site! I, for one, intend to make the granola, but doubt mine will look quite so good.

  7. January 24, 2009 1:57 am

    You are so talented and creative. I can’t believe I know someone who does this stuff, who CAN do this stuff.

Leave a comment