Skip to content

So thankful

January 22, 2011

Hey there.  If you’ve been reading my blog for very long, you know that I share bits about my life, but I keep it pretty light.  You also must know that no one’s life is carefree all the time.

At 2:10 this morning, my sister’s house burned to the ground.  I’ve talked about Bea on the blog; in fact, she’s the one who originally started this blog with me.  She and her family are all safe, but they’ve lost everything.  Saying that sounds wrong, because they’re here and they’re all safe, thank God.  They haven’t lost everything, and they will be okay.

My brother-in-law was burned, but because my sister thought so quickly and covered his back with snow, his skin will heal very quickly.  Bea is amazing.  She woke up everyone and got all of them out of the house minutes before it was engulfed.  I’ve always said she is the bravest person I know.  I’m in awe of her.  I am looking at the faces of her three sweet kids, and I am just so grateful.

We’ve created a donation badge for her family.  I’m adding it to the sidebar of the blog.  I know you don’t know my sister, and you may never, ever meet me.  But I also know this blogging community is remarkably caring.   More than anything, I’m asking for your prayers and your good thoughts to be sent out into the universe.  For Bea and Jim, for Evie and Owen and Ayden.  Thanks.




 

33 Comments leave one →
  1. Julia permalink
    January 22, 2011 6:08 pm

    So sad to read about your sister and her family losing their home but thank God they are alive and well. My prayers go out to them. ♥

  2. January 22, 2011 6:15 pm

    Oh, I’m so sorry to hear about your sister’s house! That’s so awful! Thank goodness they are all okay!

  3. January 22, 2011 10:23 pm

    Wow thank goodness they’re okay!! I’m so sorry for their loss though. I can’t imagine (though I occasionally think about) what it would be like to lose all of my possessions. Best of luck to them bouncing back from this. They’ll be in my thoughts.

  4. January 23, 2011 1:20 am

    Oh my goodness! I am so sorry to be reading this about your sister. I’m glad everyone is okay and not severely hurt, but that is just devastating. My prayers are with them.

  5. January 23, 2011 6:46 pm

    Whaaaat?
    omg I am so sorry Michelle, well sorry for Bea.
    Wow I don’t even know what to say.

  6. January 23, 2011 7:14 pm

    Thank God they’re alright…I’m so sorry for their loss! Insha’Allah (God willing) they will make it through this and get everything back with the support of family and friends!

  7. January 23, 2011 9:31 pm

    Sending my thoughts and prayers. So glad they are alright, but I can’t imagine ever going through something like that.

  8. January 23, 2011 10:26 pm

    So sorry to hear about your sister and her husband’s home! So sad and scary! I am so pleased to hear that they are all okay, albeit that your brother-in-law was burned and what a blessing that you and your family are able to take them in.
    Sending prayers to you all.
    :-) Mandy

  9. January 23, 2011 11:55 pm

    This post just gave me goosebumps – I am so glad that your sister and her family are all okay. It must of been so scary and I am so sorry that they lost all of their belongings – that would be just terrible.

    My thoughts are with them.

  10. January 24, 2011 12:03 am

    Michelle, I am so incredibly sorry to hear of your sister’s unfortunate loss. A home is a precious thing and to lose it is like losing a family member. Hopefully, they will be back on their feet soon and can resume a peaceful life as a family. They will be in my thoughts and prayers.

  11. January 24, 2011 10:09 am

    So sorry to hear about this terrible tragedy :-( Our thoughts are with your sister and family during this trying time.

  12. January 24, 2011 10:35 am

    Oh my God! How completely devastating, and yet lucky at the same time for the lack of human casualties. I will be sending white light their way.

  13. January 24, 2011 12:47 pm

    Wow, Michelle, I don’t even know what to say. I’m so sorry for your sister and her family. Thank God everyone is okay — that is what matters most. My thoughts are with your family, and I hope your sister, her husband and their kids can bounce back from this.

  14. January 24, 2011 12:51 pm

    OH, my gosh, I’m so sorry to hear this. I’m so glad everyone is okay. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.

  15. January 24, 2011 2:43 pm

    Michelle, what can I say except thankfully all that was loss were possessions though losing a home is still difficult.

    I’ll be sending good thoughts and prayers their way!
    ~ingrid

  16. grandy permalink
    January 24, 2011 2:43 pm

    It’s very hard to put my feelings in to words.Thankful just doesn’t seem enough!

  17. January 24, 2011 6:08 pm

    Michelle this is such terrible news. So grateful that they are alive and have such a strong support in having you as their family. Praying for them as they recover from this tragedy.

  18. January 24, 2011 8:36 pm

    I’m sorry to hear about your family. I’m glad they’re doing okay and wish them the best.

  19. January 25, 2011 2:31 am

    I’m so sorry to hear about that! Thankfully they are safe.

    All the best,

    Rosa

  20. January 25, 2011 10:11 am

    Oh my goodness, that is awful. So sorry to hear that about your sister and her family. My thoughts and prayers are with them. Thankfully they are all safe.

  21. January 25, 2011 10:47 am

    Oh Michelle! I am so sorry to hear about your sister’s loss of their home. I am so glad they are safe. My thoughts and prayers are with them. Thank goodness for a caring sister like you to help them through this tough time!

  22. January 25, 2011 12:08 pm

    Prayers to your family.

  23. January 25, 2011 1:31 pm

    Oh my goodness. I’m so sad to hear this news. But so thankful that they are all okay. Oh my gosh how scary!

  24. January 25, 2011 2:04 pm

    Oh, what bad news. I can’t begin imagine something like that, but I’m glad no one was hurt. I really hope they get back on their feet soon.

  25. January 25, 2011 5:30 pm

    egad! i’m so sorry that this happened, and you’d better believe that your family is in my thoughts and prayers.

  26. January 25, 2011 8:45 pm

    I’m so sorry that this happened to your sister and her family. Thank God they all made it. Your sister sounds like a pretty amazing woman, I’m inspired by her courage. They will be in my thoughts and prayers.

  27. January 29, 2011 4:30 pm

    You and your family are in my thoughts. Thankful that they survived the fire and are all o.k. A tragic loss, but it could have been so much worse.

  28. January 30, 2011 8:18 pm

    What a horrible thing to have happen! I’m do glad everyone’s okay. Sending good thoughts your way and hoping you and your sister feel the love of the blogging community.

  29. February 3, 2011 9:51 am

    Oh no! This is so horrible to hear. My heart goes out to your family, and I hope your BIL recovers soon!

  30. February 15, 2011 3:55 pm

    So scary and horrible. My hear goes out to your sister and her family.

  31. February 15, 2011 8:48 pm

    I just wanted you to know I am so sorry for all you lost!
    My thought’s and prayers are with you.

    God Bless you and your family!

  32. Sherry permalink
    February 16, 2011 4:31 pm

    I usually don’t read blogs, but I read your thank you note about your sister and her family. I know exactly what she is going through as it happened to us 7 yrs. ago. Our thoughts and prayers are with them through this traumatic time in their lives.

  33. March 9, 2011 6:11 pm

    Your sister is amazing. I hope all are doing well.

Leave a comment