Skip to content

Nutella stuffed french toast

February 10, 2011

Nutella Stuffed French Toast

I know I totally missed that boat when it came to World Nutella Day, but I wanted to share this french toast with you anyway.  After all, who needs a special date on the calendar to eat Nutella?

At first glance, this looks like your run-of-the-mill french toast, but when you dig in, you find a perfectly delicious layer of Nutella goodness tucked inside.  Mmm.  This is some seriously good french toast that tastes like a rich bread pudding.  The best part is that you can eat it for breakfast!

{one year ago:  valentine lollipops}
{two years ago:  breakfast bake}

Recipe:  Nutella Stuffed French Toast

(adapted from Ina Garten)

6 large eggs

1 1/2 c. half and half

1 tsp. grated orange zest

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1 Tbsp. honey

1/2 tsp. kosher salt

1 large loaf of stale bread  (such as challah, brioche, or French)

Nutella spread

unsalted butter

vegetable oil

confectioners sugar, syrup, or fruit for topping

Preheat oven to 250 degrees, to keep french toast warm until you’re done cooking.  Slice the bread into thick slices.  Carefully cut a slit into the flat side of each slice to create a pocket.  Spread a generous dollop of Nutella into each of these pockets.

In a large glass baking pan, whisk together eggs, half and half, orange zest, vanilla, honey, and salt.  Soak the bread slices in this mixture for 5 minutes, turning once.

Heat 1 Tbsp. of unsalted butter and 1 Tbsp. of oil in a large saute pan over medium heat.  Add the soaked bread and cook a couple minutes in each side, until nicely browned.  Place finished french toast on a baking sheet in the warmed oven while you continue cooking.  Add more butter and oil to the pan, as needed.  Serve hot with a dusting of confectioners sugar or fruit or syrup.

33 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2011 10:10 am

    I’ve never seen honey as an ingredient in the ‘custard’ before, that sounds so good! I would probably add a couple of slices of strawberries or bananas inside as well. These had me at “chocolate for breakfast.” Yummy!

  2. grandy permalink
    February 10, 2011 10:11 am

    Wow! That looks good!!

  3. February 10, 2011 10:40 am

    Mmmm! My husband loves Nutella! The only thing that would make this better is topping it wtih bananas.

  4. February 10, 2011 12:22 pm

    that is totally sinful! and decadent.

  5. February 10, 2011 12:35 pm

    What a great idea…maybe for valentine’s day breakfast!

  6. February 10, 2011 2:02 pm

    I agree, I don’t need a special date on the calender to eat Nutella either! My hubby is somewhat of an addict so we always have a jar in the pantry…and this is the perfect use for it! :)

  7. February 10, 2011 2:54 pm

    Hmmmm – this looks absolutely glorious!

  8. February 10, 2011 4:05 pm

    And here I’ve been thinking about making French toast this weekend…

  9. February 10, 2011 5:17 pm

    Oh my! I know I am going to drool every time I visit your site. I love Nutella and this looks like the perfect treat! I just got a coupon in the mail for Nutella too…so that means we have to make this soon! :)

  10. February 10, 2011 6:17 pm

    Oh why must you tempt me so, Michelle? I think I might have just moaned aloud in the school library ;p. Seriously, this is the best way to enjoy Nutella I have seen yet.

  11. February 10, 2011 7:04 pm

    oh my heavens. there should really be a Nutella MONTH. at least.

    I love your valentinesy banner too! just looking at it makes me want to bake!!

  12. February 10, 2011 7:21 pm

    That is just plain awesome! Droooool!

  13. February 10, 2011 11:22 pm

    Ooooh now THIS is the breakfast of champions!!

  14. February 11, 2011 2:55 am

    My mother is a serious fan of both French toast and hazelnuts, so this looks like the perfect thing to make her for breakfast on Valentine’s Day!

  15. February 11, 2011 7:54 pm

    ohmygoodness!

  16. February 12, 2011 6:54 pm

    I havent had Nutella in ages! Nice recipe, and I LOVE Ina!

  17. February 13, 2011 10:20 pm

    Yum!!!! I love french toast and nutella, no reason why they wouldn’t me AMAZING together!

  18. February 14, 2011 8:38 am

    My family will love this. Thank you!

  19. February 14, 2011 1:21 pm

    My mouth is watering! This looks SOOO GOOD! Awesome job :D
    Also, I gave you a blog award on my blog :)

  20. February 15, 2011 3:04 pm

    I just finished lunch, but I think I could find room for a piece of this.

  21. February 15, 2011 3:42 pm

    Yum! That looks delectable.

    http://www.seasonedwithyouth.com

  22. February 16, 2011 2:39 pm

    I’m already a huge fan of French toast just as it is, but with nutella in each piece, this looks stellar! I want this for breakfast tomorrow.

  23. February 17, 2011 4:37 pm

    Stuffed French toast is always deleicious…but stuff it with Nutella and it becomes HEAVEN. Amazing, amazing idea!

  24. February 18, 2011 12:07 am

    You’re right, who needs a holiday to eat Nutella. The kids I nanny for like Nutella panini sandwiches. Sometimes I add bananas and honey to it. I’m sure they’de love this too.

  25. February 22, 2011 6:38 am

    Thanks for sharing!!!

Trackbacks

  1. A Mom's Year » My Risky Bookcase
  2. 17 Ways To Eat More Nutella | GossipViews.com
  3. 17 Ways To Eat More Nutella | Bringing the best news to the People
  4. Jeobox – 17 Ways To Eat More Nutella
  5. 15 FAÇONS FOLLES DE MANGER PLUS DE NUTELLA ! | PartageMania
  6. 7 Ways to Eat More Nutella, Number 3 is My Favorite – Social Virals
  7. 17 Ways To Eat More Nutella – UpWall
  8. 7 Ways to Eat More Nutella, Number 3 is My Favorite – trendsviral.com

Leave a comment