Skip to content

Watermelon lemonade

July 15, 2011

Watermelon Lemonade

We love fruity summer drinks so much that sometimes it’s actually hard to decide which one to make on any given day.  I’ve blogged about our favorites at one time or another, and now we’ve added a new one to that ever-growing list.  Doesn’t watermelon lemonade just sound like a perfect drink to enjoy on a hot summer day?

Ooooo ~ looking back at two of my favorites!
{one year ago:  buttermilk onion rings}
{two years ago:  chocolate chip cookie dough brownies}

Recipe:  Watermelon Lemonade

(from Deb at Smitten Kitchen)

“Makes enough to fill two glasses with ice cubes; we quadrupled it to fill a pitcher.

1/4 cup (2 ounces) fresh-squeezed lemon juice
1/2 cup (4 ounces) fresh watermelon puree, strained through a coarse strainer to remove seeds if necessary
3 tablespoons (1 1/2 ounces) simple syrup*
3/4 cup (6 ounces) cold water

Stir it all together and serve over ice. Garnish it with a thin watermelon or lemon wedge, if you’re feeling fancy.

Spritzy variation: I have never met a beverage I didn’t think would taste better bubbly, thus, if you’re looking for a spritzier version of this, swap one-third (1/4 cup) or more of the water with seltzer or sparkling water.

Boozy variation: This would taste even better with a splash of vodka. I am not one to argue.

* Make your own simple syrup: Simmer one part water with one part sugar (I did a cup of each and ended up with more than I needed for a quadruple batch) until sugar has dissolved. Let cool.”

 

18 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2011 8:52 am

    This looks delicious!
    One thing I wanted to comment on, though, was the simple syrup. You really don’t need to simmer. I took a bartending course a few months ago, and the guy made a good argument – the sugar dissolves anyways. to make it dissolve faster, shake the bottle you put it into, or stir. And not putting it on the burner means you don’t need to watch it until it simmers, and try to prevent it from getting any brown bits or discolouration from the sugar heating. Plus, you don’t have to cool it afterwards, the water is already cold.

  2. July 15, 2011 10:36 am

    I was just thinking…must add vodka!

  3. July 15, 2011 1:35 pm

    I’m going to have to make this in this several times during the coming week – it sounds perfect for a heat wave.

  4. July 16, 2011 8:01 am

    I am going to try this!! Looks wonderful.
    Found you via Be Different, Act Normal.

  5. July 16, 2011 10:12 am

    Also found you via Lorie. You gave me a craving this morning…I will not be happy until this is mine.

  6. July 16, 2011 2:17 pm

    It’s going to be a hot week…so thank you!

  7. July 16, 2011 3:23 pm

    Oh, this looks delicious. I can’t wait to try it!

  8. Evie permalink
    July 16, 2011 7:13 pm

    Oh my gosh, don’t you think Ayden would love it???? =) Did your girlie like it?
    **And yes, we are home!!!**

  9. oneordinaryday permalink
    July 17, 2011 9:33 am

    Taryn – The watermelon lemonade really is tasty on a hot day! Hope you enjoy it as much as we do!
    ~ Michelle

  10. July 17, 2011 1:03 pm

    Sounds refreshing (esp with the vodka) and is so lovely. That color is to die for!

  11. July 17, 2011 4:31 pm

    I love watermelon based drinks of all types — the refreshing tang of lemon works well with the cooling properties of melon. Great summer refreshment!

  12. July 18, 2011 12:33 pm

    That is one gorgeous photo Michelle…. it’s making me thirsty!

  13. July 19, 2011 9:11 pm

    My kiddos really loved this drink. Thanks for sharing!

  14. July 21, 2011 3:31 am

    A friend of mine made this for her baby shower this past weekend and it was refreshing and delicious!

  15. July 25, 2011 12:18 pm

    This and the smoothies sound fantastic! We must get us some watermelon soon to try these out.

  16. May 31, 2013 5:41 pm

    Hi Michelle,

    I wanted to ask your permission to use this recipe/photo on my blog. Please feel free to email me with any questions!

    Thanks!
    Elizabeth

  17. oneordinaryday permalink
    May 31, 2013 5:49 pm

    Thanks, Elizabeth. I checked out Wish Farms and would be happy to have you use my recipe and photo, as long as credit and link is supplied back to this blog.
    ~ Michelle

Trackbacks

  1. Watermelon Lemonade

Leave a comment