Skip to content

Cauliflower patties

August 11, 2011

Cauliflower Patties

Ever heard of cauliflower rice?  When you use the S blade of your food processor to chop up your cauliflower florets, you’ll find that you get little rice-sized grains of cauliflower.  But what to do with them and why take the time to chop your cauliflower this way?  These cheesy patties are definitely a good reason.

The kids liked these patties with no toppings, but Jim and I loved the juicy slices of tomato on top.  The smart blogger who created the recipe calls it “cauliflower pizza,” so you can imagine it with whatever toppings you like.   And I loved the roasted cauliflower flavor from baking it in the oven!  Combine that with lots of cheese and fresh tomatoes?  Yum!

{one year ago:  easy ice cream cake}
{two years ago:  strawberry mint agua fresca}

Recipe:  Cauliflower Patties

(found at Diary of a Modern Matriarch)

2 cup riced cauliflower  (I didn’t measure the cauliflower.  I just riced up one medium cauliflower and used the whole thing.)
1 1/2 to 2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese
2 beaten eggs
1 tsp. crushed garlic
1/2 tsp. Italian herb blend
melted butter to brush on top for more browning, optional   (I didn’t brush mine with butter and the top didn’t get as nicely browned as in her original recipe.)

Line a cookie sheet with foil and spray with non-stick cooking spray.  Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Rice cauliflower with the S blade in your food processor.  Mix riced cauliflower and remaining ingredients in a large bowl until thoroughly combined.  Spread mixture evenly onto foil.  Bake at 400 degrees for 10 minutes, then lower oven temperature to 350 degrees.  Bake an additional 18-20 minutes or until it reaches your desired.  (If you prefer a little more color and crispness than mine, you will have to cook it longer or brush the top with melted butter before cooking.)

Remove from oven and cut into squares.  Serve with sliced tomatoes.

 

16 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2011 9:34 am

    This is awesome! love it. Thanks for sharing, I will be making this very soon. I can even image using broccoli this way…

  2. August 11, 2011 9:45 am

    This is such an interesting way to cook cauliflower that I’m tempted to try it. And I’m *never* tempted to cook cauliflower.

  3. August 11, 2011 9:48 am

    That sounds like an amzingly yummy way to do cauliflower!

  4. August 11, 2011 10:44 am

    Hi Michelle! So glad you stopped by my blog today – I was just thinking about you too – what a coincidence. :) Yum! I have never thought of using cauliflower like this – sounds awesome! I will have to give it a try sometime! Do you think it would work with frozen cauliflower??

  5. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 11, 2011 10:52 am

    Megan – I think the firm texture of raw cauliflower is what gets you that rice-like appearance after it’s been through the food processor. I don’t think frozen cauliflower wouldn’t process the same way, frozen or thawed. If you end up trying it though, I hope you let me know how it worked for you.
    ~ Michelle

  6. August 11, 2011 2:26 pm

    yummm! I’ve never tried riced cauliflower. And these look delicious.

  7. August 13, 2011 4:31 pm

    Oh my gosh, I love this idea–it looks so appetizing!! :)

  8. August 15, 2011 5:29 pm

    This is good, because it IS hard to figure out interesting ways to make cauliflower. Thanks for sharing!

  9. August 16, 2011 4:53 am

    this is completely new to me–how awesome! i can’t believe i’ve not seen it before because it’s such a good idea. frankly, i’m with you. a simple slice of tomato sounds perfect on top. :)

  10. August 16, 2011 3:51 pm

    What a great idea! This sounds like a great alternative to a risotto or potato cake. Very light and fresh — perfect for summer.

  11. August 17, 2011 3:38 pm

    How fun! I love cauliflower, but never thought of chopping it up like that!

  12. Amy permalink
    December 17, 2011 2:53 pm

    Hi!
    This sounds wonderful! We just tried a different recipe that was a fried version today. I’d love to post this one on my blog… could you email me at amy.flatten@gmail.com ? Thanks so much!

    blessings,
    Amy

  13. one ordinary day permalink
    December 18, 2011 7:44 am

    Amy – Could you send me your blog URL? I’d love to check it out.
    ~ Michelle

  14. redjanfan permalink
    February 12, 2012 7:07 pm

    love the look of this, must see if it fits or can be adapted to my “U Weight Loss” eating plan. Someone pinned it, and I’m glad they did!!

  15. May 30, 2012 6:33 pm

    Can I pin this, really like that it’s not fried :)

  16. one ordinary day permalink
    May 30, 2012 6:54 pm

    Rebecca – Absolutely! Happy pinning! :)
    ~ Michelle

Leave a comment