Skip to content

Oatmeal cookie bars

March 20, 2010

Oatmeal Cookie Bars

I read a lot of blogs, but I’ve never had a recipe catapult me straight into the kitchen.  Never.  Until one day last week, that is.  I was checking in on Ingrid and she had posted oatmeal toffee bars.  Well, the toffee wasn’t really my thing, but I know how Ingrid loves a good bar cookie so I kept reading.  I laughed out loud when I got to the end of her post and saw a nod to me with a suggestion that some sea salt on top of these would be delicious.  I might have started drooling right then.  I can’t quite remember.  I do remember jotting a note off to her saying I was headed to the kitchen and these beauties are the oatmeal cookie bars I made.  Delicious.

I subbed the all-purpose flour for whole wheat, which made the cookie pretty dense but still very chewy.  Next time, I’ll use King Arthur white whole wheat instead to see how much of a difference it would make.  I also skipped the toffee bits and added a bag of cinnamon chips instead, along with a sprinkling of sea salt on top.  Oh my gosh.  These are wonderful!  Just the right amount of chewiness and all the comforting flavors of your favorite oatmeal cookie.  But with that salt on top?  It just knocks ’em out of the park.

My only complaint is actually a visual one.  I don’t like the color of the cinnamon chips!  I know, I’m weird.  {Where do you think my kids get it?}  I wasn’t so bothered by them that it kept me from eating several of these bars, but still.  It just bugged me.

If you’d like to take a peek at Ingrid’s recipe and the original recipe, you can head over to 3 B’s … Baseball, Baking, & Books.

Recipe:  Oatmeal Cookie Bars

(Thank you, Ingrid!)

1/2 c. canola oil

1 c. light brown sugar

1/2 c. granulated sugar

2 large eggs

2 Tbsp. milk

2 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1/2 tsp. kosher salt

3 c. old-fashioned rolled oats

1 3/4 c. whole wheat flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1 bag of cinnamon chips

sea salt to sprinkle on top

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line a 13×9″ pan with foil, so that the ends hang over the long sides of your pan.  (Easier to lift the bars out later.)

In a large bowl, combine oil, sugars, eggs, milk, vanilla, and salt.  Beat on medium speed for 2-3 minutes or until sugars have dissolved.

In another bowl, combine oats, flour, baking soda, and cinnamon chips.  Stir until just combined.  Add to liquid mixture and stir with a wooden spoon until combined.  (The batter is very thick.)  Transfer to prepared pan.  (Ingrid’s tip:  Use dampened fingers to spread dough into the corners of the pan.  Worked like a charm.) Sprinkle sea salt on top.

Bake 15-20 minutes or until golden.  Remove from oven and cool until firm.  Lift bars out using foil “handles” and cut into bars.  Store tightly covered.

30 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2010 7:07 am

    Agreed the sea salt is all the rage these days for a good reason. I add some to all my sweets as well. You can’t go wrong with these bars girl, they look great! Cinnamon or toffee….or chocolate chips, it’s all good :)

  2. March 20, 2010 10:08 am

    Hey! Thanks for the shout out! I’m glad you liked them.

    I’m going to try your suggestion of using white whole wheat flour. I bought some this week to try working into recipes.

    Btw, I love how in your photos you can see the salt sprinkled on top.
    ~ingrid

  3. March 20, 2010 11:43 am

    Well, it looks very good to me. I would eat them all without hesitation haha.

  4. March 20, 2010 12:24 pm

    If I hadn’t had to pick up my son from school on time I had the same thought – of heading to the kitchen to make these bar too! They look wonderful! I just picked up another bag of cinnamon chips and my first bottle of sea salt!!! Can’t wait to try them!

  5. March 20, 2010 4:52 pm

    Yum!
    We love cinnamon chips, but can only seem to find them near my parents’, a good 1800 miles away, so we stock up and hoard them. I may have to sacrifice a bag for these. Our favorite use for them is in pancakes. Yes, they do have a slightly unusual color.

  6. March 21, 2010 5:26 am

    cinnamon chips could be the color of puke and i’d still love ’em. :) great take on these bars, michelle!

  7. March 21, 2010 6:33 am

    I think I would love thee even more with the cinnamon chips. Or how about cappuccino chips. oh yes!

  8. March 21, 2010 10:27 am

    Looks perfect! I’ve never had cinnamon chips, they sound fab. Although I do love toffee so I might just keep ’em old school.

  9. March 23, 2010 11:34 am

    I love chewy cookies! What a great idea to add the sprinkle of sea salt!

  10. March 23, 2010 1:00 pm

    Yeah I think cinnamon chips are nice in this too. Wow that salt is a great idea. You ladies rock!!

  11. March 23, 2010 2:40 pm

    This sounds so delicious! Funny enough, I just watched an Alton Brown episode about sweet and savory combos. The sea salt sounds like it really makes this one a knockout.

  12. oneordinaryday permalink
    March 24, 2010 5:29 am

    Marla – I know sea salt is the “thing” right now, but I’d love it regardless. I’m a sweet/salty fan, for sure.

    Ingrid – Many thanks for this idea!!!!!

    Memoria – I definitely ate more than my fair share. It was hard not justifying eating them for breakfast too. : )

    Gretchen – You are gonna LOVE them!

    Tiffani – I have one bag of cinnamon chips left in the pantry. Now you’ve got me thinking of pancakes. Hmmm.

    Grace – Ewwww! You are so funny!

    Monica – I am so intrigued with cappuccino chips, but I’ve yet to see them anywhere around here. I bet they would be amazing in this bar though.

    Hungry Dog – You loved the salt sprinkled on the root beer cake, so it’s a safe bet you’ll love these too.

    Jennifer – I love salt sprinkled on just about anything!

    Robin – Thanks you, ma’am! ; )

    Xiaolu – Ohh, I love Alton. He’s a genius.

    ~Michelle

  13. mamajulie permalink
    March 24, 2010 9:10 am

    I made these today and they are wonderful. Dense and chewy and full of things that are good for you, but delicious, too. I love bar cookies because they don’t get stale as fast, they are quick to make (just pop them in the pan), and you can do portion control. Thanks, this is a keeper.

  14. March 25, 2010 6:45 am

    I’m a big fan of bar cookies too and these look amazing!

  15. March 29, 2010 4:31 pm

    These look delicious! I would have to try them!

  16. Melody permalink
    September 25, 2011 8:55 pm

    I would love these, does anyone know how to convert these to gluten free? My daughter is on a gluten free diet & mom is having a hard time learning to cook this way?

  17. mbrettgermb permalink
    October 24, 2011 9:28 am

    Hi: I made this recipe twice in the last week… but I tweaked it.

    I added a tsp of cinnamon and then a cup of “caramel bits” from King arthur flour: http://www.kingarthurflour.com/shop/items/caramel-bits-16-oz

    They are really good. A great base for variations.

  18. June 12, 2012 6:30 pm

    Yes, I have noticed a lot of Sea Salt in chocolate lately… but it is so good!

  19. jessie permalink
    September 30, 2012 4:34 pm

    This recipe is amazing! Im learning about cookies and this is my fav.!

  20. Jen permalink
    September 30, 2012 6:55 pm

    Melody use almond flour or rice flour to make them gluten free.

  21. tina permalink
    November 17, 2012 4:07 pm

    Be warned I printed out the recipe to try this weekend and hitting the print key gets you ALL the comments as well. Waste of paper.

  22. Sarah permalink
    July 10, 2013 11:38 am

    I have a secret when baking oatmeal cookies or bars. Use half the amount of vanilla and for the remaining extract amount try rum (extract). Yummy!

  23. tiffany mcdaniel permalink
    February 9, 2014 9:03 pm

    Just made these with caramel bits and it was salted caramel heaven in my mouth! Was out of eggs so I used 1/2 cup applesauce instead and added some flaxseed for good measure and they turned out perfect! Thanks for posting this great recipe!

  24. 1Steve permalink
    February 17, 2014 6:53 am

    I tried these this weekend and really didn’t care for them. They baked up OK. However I love the taste of oatmeal, but found the flavor of the cinnamon chips overwhelmed everything else. All I could taste was the cinnamon chips. I’m thinking of trying this again sometime, using only 1/4 bag of cinnamon chips, and possibly adding some chopped walnuts as well.

  25. Jackie S permalink
    May 21, 2015 3:52 pm

    Is the bar supposed to taste like an oatmeal cookie? Cause I made it today, and it’s not even close. Ok, so I followed this recipe perfectly to a T, everything worked just fine, EXCEPT, for the FLAVOR..It is absolutely FLAVORLESS, as far as dessert goes, this is more like bread than a ‘cookie bar’. I should have suspected, considering the absence of butter. This is so disappointing, because when you’re craving something sweet, and then do all this work to get ‘bread bar’, it’s a real downer. Cookie does not belong in this title, it’s misleading :(

  26. Dianna permalink
    January 20, 2016 6:04 pm

    I tried this with Hershey butterscotch chips and used smoked sea salt on top…disappeared quickly with friends at work :)

  27. Lillylith permalink
    May 8, 2016 7:05 pm

    These are the most delicious oatmeal bars that I have ever made! I have to admit that I used dark chocolate chips and added 1/4 cup of skor bits instead of the cinnamon chips (not my fav flavour.) I kept the baking to the minimum 15 minutes and ended up with delicious, chewy oatmeal bars. Thank you for sharing this amazing recipe!

Trackbacks

  1. Oatmeal cinnamon cookie bars « The Recipe Testers
  2. Happy Halloween! « Afternoon Popcorn Snack
  3. Oatmeal Cookie Bars | House of Carbs

Leave a comment