Skip to content

No bake peanut butter pie

April 24, 2010

Peanut Butter Pie

This is one of those desserts that you make when you’re in a huge hurry, but don’t want to skimp on flavor.  You get a delicious payoff, but the pie takes only 5 minutes to put together.  Just be sure to top each slice with some whipped cream or have a huge glass of cold milk nearby.  This. Is. Rich!  A small slice is definitely plenty to satisfy even the biggest peanut butter lover.  I love that peanut butter pie has turned out to be one more way to use the chocolate syrup I made the other day!

{one year ago:  carrot pineapple muffins}

Recipe:  Peanut Butter Pie

(found at Tasty Kitchen)

I used lowfat cream cheese and whipped topping and my pie was delish.

1 chocolate graham cracker or cookie pie crust  (homemade or store-bought)

8 oz. cream cheese

1 c. peanut butter

1/2 c. granulated sugar

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

8 oz. frozen whipped topping, thawed

whipped cream, chocolate syrup, and grated chocolate; optional garnishes

With an electric mixer, beat cream cheese and sugar until smooth.  Blend in peanut butter and vanilla.  Fold in whipped topping.  Spoon mixture into prepared pie crust.  Refrigerate for at least 4 hours.  Garnish with whipped cream and chocolate syrup, with a sprinkling of grated chocolate.  Keep refrigerated.

68 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2010 9:26 am

    What a thick & beautiful piece of pie! No bake pies are the best!

  2. April 25, 2010 5:04 am

    Yum! I’ve made a baked peanut butter meringue pie. Now I need to make this one! It looks so good and easy to whip together. And I LOVE peanut butter! Thanks for the recipe!

  3. April 25, 2010 7:16 am

    Yummy, photo Michelle! My Dad would really enjoy it this!
    ~ingrid

  4. April 25, 2010 8:05 am

    This pie looks FANTASTIC!! I want the whole slice and then some!

  5. April 25, 2010 12:34 pm

    I’m one of those weird one who doesn’t like the combination of chocolate and PB but I’ve always wanted to try PB pie- this looks delicious!

  6. Andre@CocoaSensations permalink
    April 25, 2010 1:33 pm

    I always love peanut butter and pie. I’m glad that I’ve found this and have my two favorites in one.
    The photography is really beautiful and it’s really mouthwatering. If you have time, please visit this site : http://www.cocoasensations.com. They have a lot to offer in terms of chocolate.

    Thanks for the post..:D

  7. April 25, 2010 10:44 pm

    CLASSIC. this is a staple at summer barbecues and potlucks and i absolutely love it. it’s rich without being heavy, and oh-so-easy! lovely photo. :)

  8. April 26, 2010 2:49 am

    No such thing as a bad pie.

  9. April 26, 2010 8:12 am

    This is beautiful! I really want some…right now!

  10. April 26, 2010 10:41 am

    Wait…what? This looks ridiculously good. I think I might drop dead after eating it, but it would definitely be worth it.

  11. April 27, 2010 12:09 pm

    I will have to try this one out. My hubby adores pb pie. Thanks!

  12. May 3, 2010 5:19 pm

    Ha, man, I can’t say I’ve got a particularly large sweet tooth, but this looks PHENOMENAL! Definitely something my room mates and I would gorge ourselves on before passing out in a sugar coma on the couch, drool pooling on the floor….

    Well done indeed! And great pics!

  13. hmmm permalink
    June 11, 2010 2:59 am

    So.. “This is one of those desserts that you make when you’re in a huge hurry”
    Then.. “Refrigerate for at least 4 hours.”

    Not really a huge hurry. But tastey anyway.

  14. June 22, 2010 6:50 am

    I haven’t had this pie since I was a kid in PA! Thanks for the reminder!

  15. Wendy permalink
    August 2, 2010 8:36 pm

    I just made this but used crunchy peanut butter for a little extra texture. It was delicious and turned out exactly like the picture. ALMOST too pretty to eat! It was also very easy to make.

  16. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 3, 2010 8:27 am

    Wendy – Thanks for commenting. I agree, the pie turned out great for me too and was devoured in no time. I love when easy recipes turn out so perfectly.
    ~ Michelle

  17. November 28, 2010 8:36 pm

    This is one of my favorite desserts. I’m really looking forward to trying this out!

  18. November 28, 2010 9:54 pm

    That looks so light and fluffy- yum!

  19. December 29, 2010 10:37 am

    peanutbutter and pie, the two best things that I love in the world.

  20. Nancy permalink
    January 8, 2011 4:36 pm

    a quick question regarding this recipe….can I place the pie in the freezer for a few hrs for a frozen version?

  21. oneordinaryday permalink
    January 8, 2011 4:55 pm

    Nancy – That sounds delicious to me! I haven’t tried popping the pie into the freezer, but I’ve certainly frozen all the ingredients in various forms at other times. I think it would be great. I hope if you do freeze it, you come back and let me know how you liked it.
    ~ Michelle

  22. Nancy permalink
    January 8, 2011 8:06 pm

    thanks for the recipe Michelle..frozen version was very tasty indeed!…

  23. January 17, 2011 12:59 pm

    Thank you for this recipe. It was so good! My daughter told me that she’d been planning to have two pieces, but after one decided she couldn’t do it–you weren’t kidding about it being rich. We’ll be making it again.

  24. June 8, 2011 7:51 am

    I made this for our office lunch club and it was a huge hit! I was hoping to link your recipe in my blog this week. Do you mind if I use your picture?

  25. Diane permalink
    November 20, 2011 4:14 pm

    I would like to copy your “Think and thank” picture just for my personal viewing….love the message as much as the picture. The pie also looks wonderful. I will be pinning it for sure!

  26. one ordinary day permalink
    November 20, 2011 5:12 pm

    Diane – I love the “Think and Thank” photo too, but I can’t take credit for it. The photo is from flickr and the talented photographer is Ronald Hackston. You can click on the photo and go straight to his flickr pics to see more wonderful photographs.
    And just so you know, the pie IS delicious! :)
    ~ Michelle

  27. Shan permalink
    November 20, 2011 5:27 pm

    This pie has become a holiday tradition in our house!!

  28. March 19, 2012 12:27 pm

    This reminds me of a pie I made for years. The recipe came from Bon Appetit mag. and I misplaced it many years ago. It was so simple and heavenly…can’t wait to try this one!!!

  29. Laurenda permalink
    April 26, 2012 1:34 pm

    I’ve already made 3 of these pies! My husband LOVES them – and I think they’re OK too ;)

  30. tammy hammons permalink
    May 4, 2012 1:22 am

    FAYE FAYE – LOOKS DELICIOUS – ALL YOU COOK IS YUMMY. WILL DEFINITELY TRY THIS. LOVE TAMMY HAMMONS THANKS

  31. Joan permalink
    June 4, 2012 7:54 am

    I can’t wait to try it, Yummy!

  32. Luz permalink
    June 4, 2012 1:16 pm

    I used lowfat cream cheese and peanut butter, granulated no calorie sweetener, sugar free whipped topping and chocolate syrup.Thank you for this recipe! It was delicious! My husband loved it and I have shared the recipe with family and friends!

  33. Donna permalink
    July 24, 2012 11:56 pm

    Can you use real homemade whipped cream instead of frozen

  34. lynda gouldie permalink
    July 25, 2012 5:03 am

    I live in the U.K and can’t get frozen whipping topping what is it equivilant too??! :)

  35. oneordinaryday permalink
    July 25, 2012 9:06 am

    Lynda – I’m not sure about an equivalent for Cool Whip, but I tried to do some research for you. I found this pastry site – http://tinyurl.com/cr7njds
    Hope it helps!
    ~ Michelle

  36. oneordinaryday permalink
    July 25, 2012 9:08 am

    Donna – I’m not sure if whipped cream would hold up as well in this pie as Cool Whip does. I referred another reader to this pastry site, which shares alternatives to Cool Whip – http://tinyurl.com/cr7njds . I hope whichever you choose works well, because the flavor of this pie is wonderful. It’s one of our favorites, and my son’s birthday request every year. :) Please let me know how your pie turns out.
    ~ Michelle

  37. Larry permalink
    November 20, 2012 7:32 pm

    Can u print

  38. January 5, 2013 9:02 pm

    Just made the pie, and let me just say it is FABULOUS!! Enjoyed every little bite! I’ll def be making this again, major bonus points as to how easy it was to throw together!

  39. February 4, 2013 5:07 am

    This pie is lovely. I live overseas and don’t have an oven, and I’ve made this pie twice, adding oreo cookies and bananas. Thank you!

  40. Susanne permalink
    May 14, 2013 9:39 pm

    This pie was very easy to put together… my boyfriend loves peanut butter, so I chopped up reeses and added them into the mixture! He loves it and a great pie to mmake when it is hot outside!

  41. Sandra permalink
    July 9, 2013 2:32 pm

    I just prepared this pie and it turned out so well. It makes a goos sized pie, too, which I liked. I will be waiting to hear all of the great comments when I serve it to tonight. It was so easy! Thanks for sharing the recipe with us.

  42. Sandra permalink
    July 17, 2013 12:46 pm

    I dont have vanilla extract, Do you need it for this or could you substitute it with something else?

  43. July 19, 2013 9:04 pm

    hi

  44. oneordinaryday permalink
    July 22, 2013 9:22 am

    Sandra, there really is no substitute for vanilla extract, but you won’t see a huge loss in flavor if you skip it.
    ~ Michelle

  45. mindie permalink
    March 1, 2014 7:53 am

    Thanxs for the ricipe. made the pie and must have been a success because i never even got to try it. Everyone devoured it right up. So gonna make it again.

  46. May 31, 2014 2:46 pm

    Thank you! This was DELICIOUS! My family devoured it quickly! :)

  47. Stacey permalink
    December 23, 2014 10:25 pm

    Absolutely AMAZING! I just came up with the idea to make this for a coworkers birthday, and it was simply delicious. I have never really made dessert before, and this came out like I was Rachel Ray. Super easy (did take me a little longer then it says..about 35 minutes) and I added crumbled Reese cups on top (skipped the syrup). TO DIE FOR!!!!!

  48. Victoria Campbell permalink
    March 28, 2015 8:16 am

    This is by far the best dessert ever! Its so easy & delicious & looks very impressive. My family insists I make this every family get together. I always add the whip cream, chocolate syrup & chocolate (i use a bag of baby peanut butter cups crumbled & sometimes add skor bits) all over the top before I refrigerate. That way its more like a delicious cheese cake. But beware……its highly additive lol

  49. Brittani permalink
    April 11, 2015 9:52 pm

    I’ve have made this pie 3 times now for my husband, he loves it! So good and so simple.

  50. Katie Stockwell permalink
    February 9, 2016 4:34 pm

    Omy thank you so much for sharing this Awesome pie with us! 💖 Love Love Love it! We put this in a pretty wine stem glasses and sprinkle Gram cracker crumbs /or crushed peanut’s on top! Instead of a pie crust. How ever a pie or a fancy glass this is our Favorite!!

Trackbacks

  1. Just For Fun Fridays: Links | Things Every College Girl Should Know
  2. A Mom's Year » Knitted Headband
  3. Preparing for Fall with Yummy Deserts
  4. No-Bake Peanut Butter Pie | The Domestic Rebel
  5. Thanksgiving weekend recap and links | A Gai Shan Life
  6. No-bake peanut butter pie drizzled with chocolate and whipped cream | Kondition 24
  7. Deserts | Vegetarian Recipes
  8. Peanut Butter Pie | The Midwest Nashvillian
  9. Friday Fun List: 50 Easy & Delicious No Bake Desserts | Six Sisters' Stuff
  10. 100 Kid-Friendly Easy Recipes to Try | Housekeeping
  11. #MySuper10 - Top 10 Unbaked #Dessert #Recipes - 26 June 2014 - My Super 10 - Daily Top 10 Favourites & Free Books
  12. No Bake Recipes for Summer | Her Heel Flops
  13. Peanut Butter Pie with Sea Salt and Dark Chocolate Ganache | I Say No-Mato
  14. 27 Delectable No Bake Desserts - DIY - All in One!
  15. Peanut Butter Pie with Sea Salt and Dark Chocolate Ganache | I Say Nomato
  16. 27 Delectable No Bake Desserts
  17. 16 No Bake Desserts To Make This Summer - Homemade Recipes
  18. 16 No Bake Desserts To Make This Summer | Homemade Recipes

Leave a comment