Skip to content

Raspberry buttermilk cake

June 30, 2010

Raspberry Buttermilk Cake

Let me tell you a little story.

My in-laws stopped by en route from their Florida home to a visit with old friends in PA.  Now the day before they got here happened to be my mother-in-law’s birthday.  Being the baker that I like to think I am, I pulled up a recipe that I’d been wanting to try and decided to bake her a raspberry buttermilk cake.  We had gone berry picking a few days earlier and I had lovely fresh red and black raspberries in the fridge.

So everything went perfectly.  I even called Jim into the kitchen to talk about how beautiful the batter was.  I really did.  (It really was.)  So the cake comes out and cools, and I transfer it to its cake platter and set it on the counter.  Jim’s mom was tickled and remarked about how pretty it was.  We had some lunch and were just sitting around talking, when I heard a very subtle noise.  The unmistakable sound of a dog’s collar scratching the side of the counter.  Mm-hm.  You see where I’m going with this?

I ran out to the kitchen in time to see the backside of my retreating pup and one side of my perfect cake missing.  It would seem that the pleasant aroma of raspberry buttermilk cake was too hard to resist, and Ruby had decided to do a little taste-testing.

I sheepishly presented the partially ruined cake to everyone and apologized on behalf of my dufus of a dog.  We quickly followed Ruby’s lead though.  I cut off the ruined part of the cake and sliced up the rest and we loved it!  And Ruby was forgiven because she’s only 6 months old and we’re still working on her social graces.

Now I have to know… are you the kind of person who would have tossed the whole thing in the trash?  Lied about what had happened to it?  Or done what we did and had a good laugh, then salvaged what was left and ate it anyway.  It was one of the most delicious cakes I’ve had in a long time, so I’m very glad we didn’t let my ill-mannered pup ruin it for us.

Recipe:  Raspberry Buttermilk Cake

(slightly adapted from Smitten Kitchen)

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 stick unsalted butter, softened

2/3 cup plus 1 1/2 tablespoons sugar, divided

1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon finely grated lemon or orange zest  (I substituted with orange zest.)

1 large egg

1/2 cup well-shaken buttermilk

1 cup fresh raspberries  (I didn’t measure, but it’s quite likely I used more than one cup.)

Preheat oven to 400°F with rack in middle. Butter and flour or spray a 9-inch round cake pan with baking spray like Baker’s Joy.

Whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt and set aside. In a larger bowl, beat butter and 2/3 cup sugar with an electric mixer at medium-high speed until pale and fluffy, about two minutes, then beat in vanilla and zest, if using. Add egg and beat well.

At low speed, mix in flour mixture in three batches, alternating with buttermilk, beginning and ending with flour, and mixing until just combined.Spoon batter into cake pan, smoothing top. Scatter raspberries evenly over top and sprinkle with remaining 1 1/2 tablespoons sugar.

Bake until cake is golden and a wooden pick inserted into center comes out clean, 20 to 25 minutes. Cool in pan 10 minutes, then turn out onto a rack and cool to warm, 10 to 15 minutes more. Invert onto a plate.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2010 12:55 am

    Don’t tell anyone else I said this … but there are a lot of bloggers out there, and especially foodie bloggers, who are doing this because they can’t think of anything else to do … and writing is not their strong suit. Given that environment, it is so refreshing to stop by your little salon and hear words that are as carefully arranged as your recipes and photographs. Good writing is such a rare commodity these days that when one stumbles upon it, it must be slowly savored, appreciated, lingered upon.

    Thanks for handing this desert traveler a cold glass of lemonade.

  2. Bea permalink
    June 30, 2010 12:56 am

    Ya know, we were just home for 2 whole days and did anyone offer to make raspberry buttermilk cake? No! Instead, poor Sam had to buy a pizza to feed the ‘family’. I’m glad to see you eat better at home Sam.

  3. June 30, 2010 2:29 am

    First things first, I think you made the right decision in salvaging what was left of this delicious-looking cake! No harm in cutting off the dog-slobber part and eating the rest, right?!

    Secondly, I think this cake looks delicious! What was the texture like? We’re heading up to my in-laws this weekend and I’m trying to come up with a dessert we can make, and this looks like it would be right up their alley!

  4. June 30, 2010 3:22 am

    This looks like the perfect way to make use of the luscious berries coming into season now. Wish I had a slice myself 8).

  5. June 30, 2010 4:06 am

    Oh, yeah, that would’ve been a good one to laugh about. Glad you got to enjoy it anyway! Those puppies… They’re the best kind of trouble, second only after frisky children!

    That cake looks yummy. A good one for 4th of July!

  6. June 30, 2010 4:08 am

    lol Funny story! I probably would have done the same thing, depending on who I was serving it to. Friends and family that could laugh about it definitely get the dog slobber cake! Taking it to work to share with my coworkers? Hmm.. Tough decision. Do I cut it off and not say a word about it? Or leave it at home to enjoy all on my own? Cause either way, a cake that looks that delicious is going to get eaten.

  7. June 30, 2010 6:31 am

    I would have done the same thing. Why waste a delicious cake when you can just cut off the ruined part? It looks incredible.

  8. Shanna permalink
    June 30, 2010 6:46 am

    Totally would have eaten it!! : ) You handled it perfectly!

  9. oneordinaryday permalink
    June 30, 2010 12:02 pm

    12th Man – Thank you so much for the very kind compliment! You’ve made my whole day.
    So glad you’ve become a regular reader and commenter. And you’re a darn fine writer yourself! : )
    ~ Michelle

  10. oneordinaryday permalink
    June 30, 2010 12:03 pm

    Bea – No comment. Isn’t my love and devotion enough?

    xo

  11. oneordinaryday permalink
    June 30, 2010 12:06 pm

    Stephanie – This cake was so perfectly moist with bits of sweetness from the berries throughout. It would travel really well too, and was so easy to make. Hope you make it and come back to tell me how your in-laws enjoy it. (Hope they don’t have a dog!)
    ~ Michelle

  12. oneordinaryday permalink
    June 30, 2010 12:10 pm

    Xiaolu – I’m wishing we still had some of this around. It was gone way too fast.

    Farmer Gal – You’re right. Perfect for the 4th!

    Danae – Yeah, serving a cake a dog has nibbled from definitely requires family or really close friends!

    Try It… – Thanks for agreeing and for the nice comment!

    Shanna – haha! Thank you!

    ~ Michelle

  13. July 1, 2010 12:08 am

    oh no ~ this exact same thing has happened to me before and I cut off the side with the dog germs…anyone with a large dog has been there !

  14. July 1, 2010 11:30 am

    This looks so incredibly moist. I could go for a piece of that with coffee!

  15. July 1, 2010 5:42 pm

    ha ha! Ruby Otis better be glad she’s still a puppy. But can you blame her? Maybe she was tickled too at how beautiful it was :-P

    I’ve had this cake (with blueberries and strawberries) and it is delicious. Love the black raspberries too- I’d love to get my hands on those. At first I thought they were blackberries. Would be perfect for this weekend.

  16. July 1, 2010 9:23 pm

    i’m sure glad some of the cake was able to be salvaged–it looks amazing! very patriotic, too. :)

  17. July 2, 2010 11:50 am

    I love this cake and have made it many times. It’s just simple and delicious. I love the story about little Ruby! You can’t be mad at a puppy. Or you can’t STAY mad at her, at least. I would have eaten it too, no doubt. A little dog slobber does not scare me!

  18. Pat permalink
    July 2, 2010 10:08 pm

    What a delightful story and what a delightful recipe. Can’t wait to try it. I would not have been so level-headed about the pup but we would not have thrown out the cake.

  19. mamajulie permalink
    July 5, 2010 12:55 am

    I made this for the Fourth with blueberries and served strawberries and sweetened whipped cream on the side for a red-white-and-blue plate. I love the subtle flavors of this. Unlike processed food which hits you over the head with almost too much (and too many) flavor(s), this is good without assaulting your taste buds.

  20. oneordinaryday permalink
    July 9, 2010 7:22 am

    Pat – Please let me know if you make the buttermilk cake. Hopefully, you won’t have any mishaps! : )
    ~ Michelle

  21. oneordinaryday permalink
    July 9, 2010 7:25 am

    Shanna – Thanks! : ) We definitely gave Jim’s mom a good story to share with her friends!!
    ~ Michelle

  22. Sarah permalink
    July 30, 2010 1:22 pm

    I love this cake so much! Thank you for the recipe. My family runs the lunch counter at a local auction and I’ve put this into the dessert rotation, my customers love it!
    I also adapted it the other night and made cupcakes (I’ll have to make them again to get the baking time just right, they turned out fine at 15 minutes but I think 12 or 13 might be better!). I used peaches as the fruit (next time I’ll put more in, I was afraid to overload the cupcake tin) and lime zest instead of lemon. It needed *something* so I made a lime glaze (just lime juice and icing sugar) and it was perfect! I know some people might not go right for limes in their desserts but I love it! I’m sure I’ll make the peach/lime as a full cake sometime soon too.

    Thanks again!

  23. oneordinaryday permalink
    July 30, 2010 7:25 pm

    Sarah – So glad you came back to comment! It’s awesome that the cake is such a hit at your lunch counter. I can totally see why though. It’s so delicious. I’d love to try it with peaches, and will have to do that when it’s peach picking time. Thanks for your lovely comment!
    ~ Michelle

Trackbacks

  1. Happy 4th of July! « Mizz Westview’s Blog
  2. Meet a Blogger Monday – Michelle from One Ordinary Day « made by mike

Leave a Reply

