Skip to content

Ultimate cookies and cream brownies

May 4, 2012

Ultimate Cookies and Cream Brownies

My dear friend, Ingrid, has some recipes up her sleeve that can make you weak in the knees.  These Oreo-frosted-Oreo-brownies are the perfect example of her mad genius, especially if the creamy filling is your favorite part of an Oreo.  I was going to take the quick route and use a boxed mix, but I completely forgot to pick one up once I had those Double Stuf Oreos in my cart.  All logic seemed to have deserted me at the time, so when it came to baking these babies up, I turned to my tried and true ultimate brownie recipe.

Those ultimate brownies are just about the best and most versatile brownies you can find, and they make a whole 9×13″ pan of goodness.  This time, I added a bunch of chopped up Double Stuf Oreos, then topped them with Ingrid’s cookies and cream frosting.  Yum on top of yum!

Recipe:  Cookies and Cream Brownies

One batch of Ultimate Brownies, with chopped up Oreos stirred in just before pouring them into the baking pan.

Ingrid’s Cookies and Cream Frosting:

4 c. powdered sugar
8 Tbsp. butter, room temperature
2-4 Tbsp. heavy cream or milk
approx. 16 Oreos, chopped into tiny pieces

Combine all frosting ingredients (except the Oreos) and mix until light and fluffy.  You may need to add a bit more heavy cream to get a spreadable consistency.  Gently stir in chopped Oreos.  Spread frosting evenly over cooled brownies.  (Optional idea:  top with ganache!)

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2012 2:22 pm

    Did someone say Oreos? WOW!

  2. avrilm2468 permalink
    May 6, 2012 3:50 pm

    I am weak in the knees just looking at these brownies!! YUM. :-)

  3. May 7, 2012 12:57 pm

    I tank ou just discovered my kryptonite!

  4. May 15, 2012 10:52 am

    I did go weak in the knees when I saw this on her site and now yours! Great treat! I miss Ingrid’s blog.

  5. Kantrim921 permalink
    September 9, 2012 9:17 pm

    These were soo good!! Very sweet, but I guess you can expect that with the 4 cups of powdered sugar. Kids (all 6 of them) loved them. Thanks for the great recipe!

Trackbacks

  1. Cookies & Cream Brownies - Macaroni and Cheesecake

Leave a comment