Skip to content

Pistachio salad

July 9, 2012

Pistachio Salad

This is a recipe I got from my Aunt Diane years ago and I don’t make it often enough.  It’s so easy to stir together for a cookout and makes it completely socially acceptable to have a dessert-like treat on the same plate as the rest of your meal.  Just the fact that we call it pistachio salad means you can put a big scoop down right next to your chicken and baked beans and still hit the dessert table later.

This salad is soft shade of green, and would be even prettier with a sprinkling of actual pistachios on top.  But seriously, pistachios are kind of pricey and they just didn’t make the cut.  We enjoyed this at a friend’s Fourth of July get-together and were happy to have a little leftover to enjoy later in the day.  Now that it’s made a reappearance in my kitchen, I have a feeling we’ll be seeing it more often.

Recipe:  Pistachio Salad

(recipe from my Aunt Diane ♥)

1 large can of crushed pineapple, do not drain
1 box of instant pistachio pudding
1 tub of Cool Whip
1 c. mini marshmallows

Empty the pineapple and juice into a bowl and stir in the pudding mix until combined.  Fold in Cool Whip.  Add marshmallows and stir gently.  Refrigerate until ready to serve.

 

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2012 6:29 pm

    One of my favorites, and perfect for my Marshmallow Week! :-) Thanks, as always, for sharing.

  2. July 9, 2012 7:05 pm

    Thanks, looks delicious and I’ve been wanting a recipe with pistacio…

  3. July 9, 2012 10:42 pm

    Great for summer time!

  4. billpeeler permalink
    July 10, 2012 8:33 am

    That makes me think of my family and home – love pistachios!

  5. July 11, 2012 12:26 pm

    i’ve always found this completely baffling, but it’s delicious. seriously, who first decided to throw those ingredients together? :)

Leave a comment