Skip to content

Lemon mascarpone parfait

April 8, 2009

Sweet success!

If you’re still with me, this is the one.  Hands down, this is the most delicious recipe I’ve made all week.  Definitely worth the waiting and the zesting and the juicing.  The flavors complement each other so beautifully.  The base is made of lemon white chocolate shortbread cookie crumbs (cookies from Target, but you can use vanilla wafers too), then comes the lightly lemon flavored cream layer, topped with a lemon curd that is definitely lemony but not overpowering to the rest of the dessert.  Honestly, if you like lemon desserts, give this one a try.  I’m thrilled with it.  I finished the parfaits off with some more whipped cream and a piece of white chocolate.  Because I didn’t smooth out the cream layer, some of the curd slid down inside the glass, but I think it looks pretty.  So Spring-like.  So perfect for Easter.  (This recipe would also look gorgeous in a trifle dish with multiple layers of everything.)

Recipe:  Lemon Mascarpone Parfait

(adapted from relish)

Cream Filling:

8 oz. mascarpone cheese

6 oz. cream cheese, softened

1/4 c. granulated sugar

1/4 c. sour cream

2 Tbsp. grated lemon zest, to taste

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1 c. heavy cream, whipped

Lemon Curd:

3 eggs

1/3 c. freshly squeezed lemon juice

3/4 c. granulated sugar

4 Tbsp. unsalted butter, cut into small pieces and room temperature

1 Tbsp. grated lemon zest

Crumbs:

24 lemon white chocolate shortbread cookies (available at Target)

To prepare the curd, whisk eggs, lemon juice, sugar, butter and lemon zest in a stainless steel bowl over a pot of simmering water.  Cook, whisking constantly, for 10 minutes or until thick.  Remove from heat and strain if necessary to remove any lumps.  Lay plastic wrap on the surface of the curd and bring to room temperature.

Whip heavy cream.  (I find it’s quick and easy to do this when I place my mixing bowl in a larger bowl full of ice.)  To prepare the cream filling, beat mascarpone, cream cheese, sugar, sour cream, lemon zest, and vanilla in a large mixing bowl until smooth.  Gently fold in whipped cream.

To prepare the crumbs, place cookies in a food processor and pulse until fine.

Layer the cookie crumbs, cream filling, and lemon curd in parfait glasses or in a trifle dish.  Top with sweetened whipped cream, if desired.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2009 11:02 pm

    Love, love, love the photo! Now that looks beautiful! Make you want to grab a spoon and dig right in!

    I’m guess you and mascarpone cheese are playing nice, now???!! Ha-ha! I remember you guys had some issues.
    ~ingrid

  2. April 8, 2009 11:03 pm

    Ooops! I really should proof read before I hit the publish button as my typing skills lead to a lot of typos! Sorry!

  3. April 9, 2009 10:49 pm

    I love lemon and mascarpone, it looks like this recipe is going to become one of my favorites.

  4. April 10, 2009 1:49 am

    Michelle, I’m taking your word that this is a winner. I bought the mascarpone & some meyer lemons today. What’s the name of those cookies from Target? I have tiny shot glasses I’m thinking of making it in but I would need to pipe everything in…..what do you think? THX!
    ~ingrid

  5. oneordinaryday permalink
    April 10, 2009 10:46 am

    Ingrid – You’ve read my mind. I was wishing I had the tall, thin shot glasses to serve this in too. I think it would look great! Please let me know if you like this!! (And yes, I think this is the one to make me a fan of mascarpone cheese. LOL)

    – Michelle

  6. oneordinaryday permalink
    April 10, 2009 10:47 am

    Lorena – Please come back and let me know if you try it….

    – Shell

  7. April 12, 2009 9:39 am

    That looks so refreshing and delicious!

  8. April 13, 2009 2:32 am

    Made it! The kids LOVED it! I thought it was very good. I did make a few changes but they were minor. Thanks for passing along another great recipe. I’m going to try those molten marshmallow cupcakes.
    ~ingrid

  9. oneordinaryday permalink
    April 13, 2009 11:28 am

    Dimah – Thanks!

    Ingrid – I’m so glad they liked it. My little nephew was really crazy about it too, but it didn’t appeal to the other kids much. Can’t wait to hear how they like the molten cakes…

    – Michelle

  10. Lucy permalink
    February 7, 2017 8:47 pm

    Hi! this recipe sounds delish, but i was wondering how many servings it was? thanks a bunch! 😊

Leave a comment